We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe, unclean, unfriendly and generally extremely disappointing”
Review of Kaleane Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaleane Villas
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We booked our stay at Kaleane Villas through Thailand Retreats as part of a 'holiday of a lifetime' to the south of Thailand. Despite requesting a child-friendly property including a cook (and being assured that this property catered for both these requirements) we had a terrible experience at Kaleane Villas, mainly owing to the unsafe conditions and general rundown condition of the property. After three nights we could bear it no longer and vacated the property.

We observed the following unsafe conditions:
- Open access ways to pool maintenance spaces containing insecure electric fittings (see picture)
- Unprotected garden perimeter with no fence protecting a shear drop to a dirty waterfront below (see picture)
- Unprotected access to lake at front of property (as shown in picture, easily accessible by small child through large hole in balcony)
- Non-isolated electrical fittings all around the property (inside and out)

The following discrepancies appear between what Thailand Retreats' advertise as being available on their website and reality:
- Nearest beach of reasonable quality is 20mins drive, not '0 km' as advertised
- No broadband or satellite TV are available.
- No cook was available despite Thailand Retreats' website stating that a “Full time cook at your disposal…”. Instead, we were provided with a sub-standard breakfast and offered a menu from a local (poor quality) thai restaurant for evening meals

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHOJ_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

We live allover the world, and we promised our parents we would meet up one week per year for a family reunion. This year was at Kaleane, and it was perfect. The staff is great, and did everything to make our stay a fabulous one : breakfast, BBQ diners, local tips, etc... . The kids loved the pool, we enjoyed the local trips to national parks for hiking and snorkeling. We stayed at Suriya, which allowed the 3 familes enough personal space, but also a great common area to lounge, read, talk, eat, drink .. .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

First time to Krabi & had luck finding Kaleane Villas. Perfect location & idylic setting with an amazing view of a bay filled with stunning islands where the jungle comes right down to the sea. Our kids loved the fish filled lotus ponds & private pools. The rooms are spacious, totally private & filled with asian antiques & original art. Service is 5 star & everything is scheduled to suit each guest without policies or rules to spoil the vacation. We plan to return the same time next year.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank spapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our vacation at Kaleane Villas last month. The place was more beautiful than we had imagined and the staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Please pass on to them our gratitude for making our stay so special.

We hope that we have the opportunity to return for another wonderful
vacation.

With warmest regards and many thanks for all of your kindassistance throughout this process,

Ann Hartman
Ewa Beach, Hawaii

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jungBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Good place to say if you're looking for a comfortable house for you and your family/friends.
We went there for 4 days, just to stay in a quiet nice place with swimming pool and all facilities, but the staff can arrange activities and transportation for you, there's many options you just have to ask. Same for the food, the breakfast is included in the price, but you can ask more to the staff (sea food barbecue, dishes, ...Etc...)
Very nice experience, a bit expensive in high season though.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank worldtravellers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Laurent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank 225pys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Thong hotels
3.2 mi away
Pooltara Resort Krabi
Pooltara Resort Krabi
#2 of 5 in Khao Thong
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bananas Bungalows
Bananas Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Khao Thong
156 reviews
2 mi away
Thalane Palm Paradise Resort
Thalane Palm Paradise Resort
#4 of 4 in Khao Thong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khaothong Terrace Resort
Khaothong Terrace Resort
#3 of 5 in Khao Thong
26 reviews
0 mi away
Thalane Home Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Aka-Nak Resort
Aka-Nak Resort
#3 of 4 in Khao Thong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleane Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleane Villas

Address: 202 Moo 2, Khao Thong, Krabi Town 80000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Khao Thong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Khao Thong
Price Range: $113 - $1,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaleane Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded amidst tropical gardens on the pristine shores of the Andaman Sea, these stunning villas, all feature panoramic views over Phang-Nga Bay famed for its cristal blue waters and idillic sunsets. Perfect for couples, friends or entire families, each villa features its own private pool with spacious Thai style living-room and separate dining area. The interior fit-out is tastefully decorated for tropical living with an array of Asian art and authentic antiques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Kaleane Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing