We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Honeymoon”
Review of Le Passe-Temps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Passe-Temps
Ranked #1 of 4 Khao Thong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Le Passe Temps is a real find; unique, stylish, comortable and friendly, and in a beautiful setting.

Olivier and Kiet have built a wondeful resort which they have clearly put their hearts and souls into. The result is a secluded haven ideal for relaxed fun, with as much privacy as you could wish for. Going by the hut we stayed in (Choco), the rooms are tastefully and comfotably adorned, with a nice bathroom suite. Don't expect state of the art plasma TV or wi-fi; the aim is to retreat from the reminders of the outside world; that said if you do fancy watching a DVD there is a laptop style DVD player you can borrow free of charge as well as a generous library of movies and books to choose from.

The staff are very friendly and approachable; Jay is the onsite manager and is apparently always happy to help. We stayed on our honeymoon and Jay really went all out with the flourishes and romantic touches that made our stay so happy.

The service from all the staff was always delivered with a beaming smile and is not at all intrusive. In fact our only suggestion for Le Passe Temps would be that at times it can be hard to find a drink or an impulisve snack during the day. It is always avaialble but sometimes takes a bit of tracking down and perseverance. This is only a minor comment and feel I should mention it to make sure my review is coming across genuine and balanced! :-)

Olivier and Kiet clearly care a great deal about their guests and have fantastic local knowledge and good connections with the local community. We particularly enjoyed the guided market visit by Oliviere followed by cooking class - recommended!

The French take on Thai cuisine is perfect and it was also refreshing to have the evening meal prepared without having to choose from a menu. I can see how this might put some off, but it all adds to the experience. The meals are always special, fresh and of course in the perferct setting. There is a menu to choose from at lunhctimes and the breakfasts are certainly very good too.

Don't expect fine white sands and bathing waters at the beach - (the swimming pool is PERFECT though!). The beach is beautiful and picturesque. It is also very clean and plenty good enough for a more than pleasant saunter and paddle.

All in all a special place to stay that we will always remember fondly, thank you all for your kindness and smiles.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

Been there as a family, and loved the place : excellent service, friendly staff, great cocktails, fantastic sunsets and beautiful teck bungalows with air-co and western comfort. (French) owner makes sure every need is taken care of before it's expressed. Couples with children might want a less quiet place, as most guests are couples (including quite a large proportion of gays) without children. Car or scooter needed if you want tourist activities. Don't expect crystal-clear postcard-styled sea water, as the beach is a bit rocky and muddy, but bathing is possible and the sunset view is incredible. Limited choice of Thai or basic western lunch, good and plentyful Thai evening single menu.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

FANTASTIC holidays ! We stayed at Le Passe-Temps a few days, but that was too short. It was an unforgettable experience, not being in a hotel, but really like if it were at a friend's house, or even better, "at home". Here, the French concept of "Maison d'Hotes" was truly memorable. It allowed us to meet and talk with the other guests very easily. The food was great (next time we'll take lessons with the cook !), the staff super friendly and always smiling, the setting was amazing - with details in every corners of the garden . Try not to miss sunsets on the terrace (with a cocktail prepared by the owners) and the massages (especially after a day of trekking !). We'll come back, for sure !

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misiu36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I waited to post my comments because I was so disappointed in and emotional about my experience at this hotel that I didn't want to be too unfair with my assessment.

I planned a trip to this hotel with my significant other and our aunt. I was really looking forward to an amazing experience becuase I had read all the great reviews on the hotel. The stay turned out to be a disaster. the food was terrible not only in taste, options and cost, but my boyfriend got really sick ( the only time on our 2 week trip) and had to be seen by a doctor and had to take medicine for the rest of our time in Thailand. I also started to get sick as did others staying at the hotel ( I knew this becuase we asked to borrow our neighbors medicine). The manager ended up firing the cook from what the manager stated. The pretty rooms are too small and did not come equipped the toiletries you would expect for the price you pay to stay there. The room staff took their time to clean our rooms, which was really annoying when you are waiting for clean or dry towel. The staff did not speak any english, except for the manager and the owners. Most people who were staying at the hotel spoke french.

Olivier and Keit were not around when we stayed, which may have contributed to the terrible service and food- when the boss was away the employees didn't work. before our arrival to the hotel I had discussed with Olivier via email scheduling some daily romantic activities such as dinner on a deserted island and snorkeling and such. Needless to say the new manager knew nothing of the sort, so this never happended. This was also so disappointing.

breakfast- expect a croisant or sliced bread, coffee or tea and chopped up fresh fruit that will stay out until you wake up to eat it (not good in Thailand with all the bugs). we had planned to stay several nights at this hotel, and couldn't imagine eating this minimal breakfast every morning. They need to add some protien and some variations in what is offered.
dinner- every person staying at the hotel smoked (except us), the dinner was out side next to the beach but we could barely breath with all the cigarettes going, the family style portions were very small, everyone at our table left hungry

beach- really prickly sand, not clean, lots of biting ants, looks pretty

location and hotel entrance- beautiful art, away from everything so be prepared to feel secluded (we actaully liked the idea of this until we arrived and found out the food, rooms, and service were not good)

We ended up checking out and found another hotel for the same price that was amazing in comparison as far as amenties, location, staff, food and beach.

I emailed Olivier afterward to let him know how we were so disappointed with our stay and he only refunded the cost of the food. I would have preferred he also refund us for the night we didn't stay there, since the rooms were not being taken care of at decent hour and overall we were miserable with our stay.

I wonder how it would have been if Olivier and Kiet had been there. We may have had wonderful time, but now we will never know.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bigdreams2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

After travelling for five weeks throughout Southeast Asia, I was in need of a mellow and quiet place to unwind. On the advice of a friend, I booked four nights at Le Passe Temps and loved it so much I stayed eight nights (and didn't want to leave even then). It's the kind of place you can just hang out at, cool off in the pool, walk along the beach, or curl up on a hammock and read a book. Or you can partake in nearby adventures such as kiyacking through mangrove forests or climbing to remote temples. There are only a small number of rooms there which makes getting to know everyone really easy. Each night, cocktails are served in the main lodge and everyone shares their adventures of the day. There is a friendly communal atmosphere and it's fun to get to know people from all around the world. Olivier, the owner, was continuously gracious, genuinely helpful, and both professional and personal at the same time. I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott_in_california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Olivier, Kiet and all the staff made our honeymoon memorable indeed. Privacy, tranquility and stunning scenery along with delicious food and charming hosts all combine to make Le Passe-Temps something very special. The one day we visited Ao Nang (which was terribly commercialised and 'tourist-ridden') made us really appreciate the location of this wonderful little resort. Although away from the tourist centre, we were easily able to organise a huge range of exciting activities and trips through their reliable taxi service and easy booking systems. Snorkelling coral reefs, elephant trekking, kayaking, bird-watching, national parks, temples, all accessible and great fun – and afterwards, a pleasure to return 'home' to a little slice of paradise. We'd love to come back, and we would recommend this gorgeous place to anybody interested in something away from the usual hubbub.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinaryOrbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We waited three months to write this review, to make sure that we were not dreaming! We spent one marvellous week at this little heaven on earth. We really enjoyed this location and Kiet's and Olivier's great hospitality. They (and their whole team) work so hard to keep the property in perfect condition. The garden is beautiful, the guest houses are clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated.
Our first morning we were greeted with fresh fruits, fresh orange juice... we knew instantly that we were at the right place. A calm place where we could relax and enjoy the breathtaking sceneries without being disturbed. Falling asleep to the sound of crickets, after a nice swim in the swimming pool and waking up to the sound of the birds, what a delight!
During our stay we took part at two excursions. At first, we went kayaking to a mangrove wood, that was fantastic, so adventurous and so funny! We saw monkeys, one of them jumped on our kayak and tried to steal our precious bottle of water (so smart!). The "little thief" and I almost started a fight, you should have seen us (David and Goliath)! It was so determined to leave the boat with our bottle of water, and so were I to keep it. Fortunately, my boyfriend came to my rescue... ouf! Another day, we went snorking and had a stop on a deserted beach where we had our lunch.... What more could anyone ask out of life!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank edku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Thong
4.4 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
417 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
4.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.5 mi away
The Nature Home Krabi
The Nature Home Krabi
#2 of 4 in Khao Thong
3 reviews
7 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Passe-Temps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Passe-Temps

Address: 73, Moo 3 Soi Sao. Krabi 2025 | Thalane, Khao Thong, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Khao Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Khao Thong
Price Range: $75 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Passe-Temps 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2003 on a little elevation overlooking the beach and the karsts of Phang Nga Bay, the Passe-Temps with it 8 traditional and comfortable rooms, its mature garden and stunning views is quite simply unique in the province. It offers everything one expects from a good range hotel, and still it feels very much like a family house. Where else will you see the guests moving the table of the restaurant to continue their aperitive talking and dine together ? The staff is caring without being obsequious, the cook is great, and the owners, having been living here for 18 years are always available to help organize your day and make your stay unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Le Passe-Temps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing