We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing relaxing experience”
Review of Bananas Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bananas Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The best resort I have visited in Thailand, far from the turistic noise and very close to the sea, mangroves, islands, national parks, caves, secret beaches. The atmosphere is very chill out, the owner makes you feel like home and the chefs in the kitchen cook delicios food. Lots of beautiful people whom I met there became close friends. It's like a big family living in a havenly home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank vladsavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    36
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
69
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's a very interesting spot. far away from town. Its quiet. basic bungalows is clean(better ones available). owner is nice. Food and drinks are decent. it's close to the pier which is a great place for kayaking. The wifi doesn't work when we were there, all guest and owner had to share one PC. All the book on the shelf is in German. Local village sings pray from 5 am on loud speaker every few hours until 8 pm. Good place to stay to get away from touristy places. For a few night. its a good spot to relax. wish it had a beach :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We came here, planning to spend a quick night after visiting the islands a bit closer to the airport. Were I to do it again, I would have skipped the islands and spent all the time here!

To be clear, this place IS the location -- it is quite far from other places, so if you are in this area you are at Bananas. Something to keep in mind, though its a benefit too.

We were warmly greeted by a taxi driver with a sign for us when we arrived at the bus station in Krabi. When we were arrived, we were given an introduction from the owner who told us there was a kayak trip leaving in 5 minutes (which I highly recommend doing!) so we quickly put our stuff down, changed into bathing suits, and left.

When we got back, we ordered lunch from their well stocked and well priced menu (and all food and drink is self-reported in a book on the honor system!) which was delicious. After lazing in hammocks by the shore, we joined the communal dinner which was also delicious and vegetarian (the owner is vegetarian, so there is always something veggie friendly). Also, all the travelers are very friendly and we got to hear about all sorts of adventures both good and bad while sipping on cheap beer.

The next day, we booked a boat tour around the islands, which ended up being just the two of us on the boat and we could direct the day however we wanted! We came back and ate another great meal (couldn't pass up more of the great food!) before leaving for the airport.

I highly recommend you make the Bananas a part of your Thailand journey, and go on all of the activities that they offer! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We (couple in our 20s) visited Ollie's secluded paradise on a stopover to Krabi for two nights..

Good
- The location is beautiful. You're in the middle of nowhere, sharing the great outdoors with chickens, bats, monkeys, frogs and crabs! And after a week in Bangkok and Phuket, all you'd want to do is lie in a hammock and listen to the wind blow through the trees. Mmmmmm.
- We had a bamboo bungalow, it has the absolute basics, but nicely maintained!
- The communal area is a great idea, you can help yourself to drinks or snacks and there's an honesty book where you write what you've taken, and Ollie adds it up at the end of the stay. Also, his staff cook a wonderful meal every night and everybody sits down together and gets to know each other, such a great idea!

Bad
- The beach isn't actually a beach, it's more of a mudflat/wetland, so don't expect to build any sandcastles.
- Very little to actually do, unless you want to spend money, which leads me to....
- Bring cash! Lots of it, there's no ATMs, and paying for the food, on top of hiring scooters, bikes and organising trips quickly adds up.
- DO NOT trust the taxi drivers who claim they know "exactly" where this place is - trust me, they don't. Make sure you book a taxi through Ollie.

It's a great place for a two night stopover, just make sure you hire a scooter and go exploring!

Room Tip: We had a bamboo bungalow, which had a fan rather than A/C. Get a stone hut if you want full blown ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Bananas at the end of March. It was a great base to go out and explore all of the local attractions and temples. The bungalows are great and have everything that you need, we stayed in a bamboo one with no air con and were fine. When the tide comes in the evening swim was an unexpected bonus! The food is fantastic, and the idea of sitting together every evening is great, especially if you are travelling alone as it is a great way to strike up conversations. I highly recommend this place if you want to get away from the big resorts as it couldn't be further from them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoraScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Banana bungalows is a great spot to relax for a few days. Beautiful spot with great swimming (when the tide is in.) Please don't miss swimming after dark when you can see the bio-luminescent plankton- one of the coolest things I've ever done!! The food is good and Olli, the owner is very nice and helpful. Bananas is pretty secluded so be prepared to hang close- but there are lots of activities to do. We took a great kayaking trip one day. The bungalow with shared bathroom was cool- definitely a rustic bungalow with tons of ants. Overall, a great place to relax, do some fun activities and to not miss the plankton!

Room Tip: I don't think sea view rooms would be worth the extra money because there's not much of a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have never been so sad to leave somewhere in my life. Staying in a bamboo bungalow at Bananas was the highlight of our 16 day trip. Location is wonderfully away from all the tourist madness but yet only a 35 minute motorbike ride to Ao Nang. Plenty of local activities to keep you busy for several days, Olli rents motorbikes right on site, meals were excellent, prices were very fair and beer was cold. We met great people, had great conversation late into the nights and swam in the bioluminescent plankton. Swimming at high tide was great right off the pier and low tide gave a great chance to walk and explore the sand flats. Olli's provided great company with his relaxed personality and great sense of humor. Beautiful sunsets! Been gone for over 2 weeks and there hasn't been a day I haven't thought about this place.

If your looking for a social environment away from the crazy tourists, this is a must stay. We will be back!

Best to have Olli arrange your transportation from airport or get advise from him in advance for bus details.

Room Tip: Seaview Bamboo bungalow with bathroom was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMASKOREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Thong
4.8 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#27 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
11.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.0 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananas Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananas Bungalows

Property: Bananas Bungalows
Address: 54 Moo 2, Ban Tha Lane, Khao Thong, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Khao Thong
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Khao Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bananas Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing