We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bananas Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
$64
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$82
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$76
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$421
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poonsiri Resort River Hill(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
$63
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elements Krabi Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$98
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
105
37
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
37
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecret beachbioluminescent planktoncommunal dinnermosquito netkrabi townthe ownerstone bungalowwe loved our stayall you can eatrelaxed atmospherearrange transportationdorm roomlow tidehighly recommend this placeother gueststhe kitchen staffair con
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 160 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Olli's bungalow's. If you are looking for a high quality - low key experience - this is the place for you. Olli has a number of activities lined up (boat trips, kayaking, scooter rentals, etc) and can organize just about anything for you. His on site kitchen will prepare delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between for you. It's a very relaxed atmosphere, perfect to unwind. Things are basic but very functional and I am amazed what you can build from bamboo. The bungalow's are great and you sleep in the middle of nature (that includes frogs, no A/C, spider, etc ... but I thought this was great). Don't miss swimming at night in the bioluminescent plankton!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here after a working trip to Bangkok and what a change of pace! It's so calm and everyone was friendly and you can experience true relaxation here.
Ollis team make beautiful dinners every night, so you don't have to worry about going to Krabi itself and if you are travelling alone, you dont have the uncomfortable prospect of dinner alone.
Stayed in the bamboo bungalow with ensuite, both rooms were clean, cool and comfortable (though I did have to share with a couple of frogs).
Not over-run by drunken backpackers or anything like that. Perfect if you are burnt-out from partying, here the only thing likely to wake you up is the call to prayer or a monkey.

Room Tip: Bamboo bungalows with a seaview are the quietest rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

- idyllic bungalow resort with nice guests
- different rooms (with/without AC, with/without private bathroom)
- many germans
- nice veranda as meeting point for the guests and for dinner
- resort is located next to the mouth of a river, you can swim at high tide or walk through the mud falt at low tide. There is a very idyllic wooden pier with fantastic hammocks.
- no pool
- kayaks, bikes and scooters for rent
- rooms could be more clean
- A mosque is quite near, you hear the prayers (they use loudspeakers) five times a day, the first time at 5 a.m.
- owner is very helpful, only sometimes reacts a little strange
- The kayak tour is fantastic!! you paddle between rocks and mangroves; with guide (400 Baht) and also without guide possible
- nice full day boat tour to Ko Hong possible, we didn't do this, but another people recommended it very much (it is probably cheaper to bargain the price directly with the company than booking by the hotel, the people paid 2500 Baht for one boat)
- we tried to go to the "secret beach" that the owner recommends, but we returned after 2 hours of hiking with scratched legs from scrambling through the bushes without finding the beach. Another couple also did not find it. (Comment of the owner: "If people are too stupid to find the beach, I can't help!")
- The food is very good, sometimes it is a-la-carte, sometimes there is one organized dinner for all guests. Prices are about 60-120 Baht.
- There's no ATM nearby and you have to pay cash (either Baht or Euro)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

First, you can't beat the price for the Krabi area. For the ACTUAL peace and quiet you get here, that it'self is worth it. Plus the view is incredible. I spent a lot of time in hammocks in Thailand and this place hands down as the best one. Ollie, the owner, is incredible resourceful/genuine and can help you arrange anything from transportation to tours. The only negative I would had to say is that there isn't much around it, but then again if you want to get away from it all, that's why you're there. Taxis or motorbikes are easy enough to come by and great for exploring the area so it's not that bad. Just don't expect to have a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. The good news is that the food at this place is some of the best I've had in Thailand and I am a food snob. Particularly an Asian food snob. The prices aren't bad considering the quality and convenience of it all. I would highly recommend the curry noodle dish (I think it was 60 or 80 baht?). We celebrated new years here and it was fantastic. If you're looking for pretty photos of the place and the surrounding area, you can see them on my blog: http://sandytlam.com/travel/bananas-ban-tha-lane/

Room Tip: Definitely go for the bamboo bungalows. You won't need the AC at night and there are fans.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spend a great week with our two seven year old girls at Ollis Bungalows. It is a very nice place and a perfect starting point for trips to the islands of Phang Na Bay and into the mangroves. Olli is a great host and does all he can to make sure you have a great time. Just ask him for an organized tour which is great, because you are with a very small group and thus can decide on where to go and how long to stay when going from island to island by boat. Last but not least, the food is fantastic - it was among the very best we had on our trip to Thailand. Also the overall atmosphere of this place is very familiar and gives you a unique feeling of beeing far away and still feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svemn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews