We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burlington's Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Burlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I just spent one night a Burlington's Willis Graves B&B. We were at the end of a long road trip and just needed a place to stay over for one night. Nancy the innkeeper greeted us before we even got to the door with such a friendly grace. She showed us around and made us feel at home. The room was comfortable and roomy. The shower is marvelous and mattress was wonderful after our long day. I had a breakfast casserole the next morning and my husband had the pancakes both were so tasty and filling that we didn't eat again until mid afternoon

Room Tip: the willis graves suite is wonderful and has a private entrance so it almost seems like you are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Willis Graves B&B is an ultimate bed and breakfast experience. Everything about this property is first class. Immaculate, comfortable, beautiful with great breakfast and friendly accommodating hosts. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B previously and were interested to see what it would be like. It was outstanding. The service was excellent. Any time that we walked into the house someone was there within seconds.

We stayed in the Rouse Retreat in the log cabin and were extremely happy with the accommodations. The pictures really don't do it justice. The bed was very comfortable and the steam shower and jacuzzi tub were features I could only wish to have in my own home. I enjoy rustic settings and it delivered without sacrificing luxury and modern amenities. The cabin was like a vault - so quiet and serene. I do not need to say much on cleanliness - the room and grounds were spotless. Even as someone who is uncomfortable with every hotel I stay in, I was able to relax and enjoy.

It really was a truly relaxing experience. Breakfast was excellent. I personally recommend the Creme Brulee French Toast. It was to die for! They prepared meals on our schedule (within a reasonable time frame) and we were not expected to wake up at a specific time to make a pre-set seating.

If I had to nitpick, it would be that the WiFi was acting up. We were provided an ethernet cable immediately, which solved this issue for us completely. Having wireless internet was not absolutely critical for us, but I could see it being a minor annoyance for a business traveler. I do not think this was an issue for the main house - just our upstairs retreat area.

It is very close to Cincinnati (about 15 minutes) and the surrounding town is very quiet and quaint. We went to the Tousey House down the street our first night and really enjoyed our meal. We are definitely hooked on the B&B experience, but don't think we could find another that would beat the incredible stay we had at Willis Graves!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came in late on our way to Michigan after a crazy day on I-75. Nancy immediately made us feel right at home. She called the Tousey House Tavern to secure a reservation at the restaurant for us as it was closing in 15 minutes. Then she freely moved our room to a bottom floor suite that was open. We came back from an unbelievable meal at the tavern to an unbelievably comfortable night's stay. The bed was firm and plush the amenities were 5 star all the way. The huge spa tub made the stress of the road disappear. We relaxed and watched one of the many movies in their great library. Breakfast was above and beyond. We have stayed at many a B&B but this one is hard to beat for sure. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: stay longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auxano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I just spent the weekend at Burlington's Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast for our anniversary. We stayed in the William Rouse Log Cabin Suite and had a wonderful time.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the Innkeeper, Nancy. She was very friendly and made you feel welcomed from the moment we stepped in the door. Nancy quickly showed us to cabin suite and gave us a brief tour explaining how everything worked...the Jacuzzi tub, steam shower, televisions, mini fridge, microwave, etc.

The log cabin we stayed in amazing. It had that old rustic feel about it but with the modern amenities. The cabin was filled with antiques...from the furniture to the wall hangings. It had a certain charm about it that we loved. The suite also had stairs that led to a lower level sitting area where you could watch a movie on the new flat screen TV from the comfortable sofa and chairs. The Inn has quite a selection of DVD's to choose from if your in the mood to watch a movie.

Breakfast was offered from 8 am to 10 am each morning. We showed up for breakfast each morning around 8 am. Nancy cheerfully greeted us each morning. The dining room was wonderful. It too was full of so many antiques that adorned the walls and mantle.

The items offered for breakfast looked to good....Creme Brulee French Toast, Gingerbread Pancakes, Breakfast Pie, etc. Some tough breakfast choices. My wife had the french toast one morning and the gingerbread pancakes the next. I tried the breakfast pie both mornings...a different variation each day...along with a side of sausage. The breakfast was yummy! Breakfast never tasted so good. Did I mention that the breakfast is started off with fresh fruit with homemade granola.

We absolutely love this place and highly recommend it. You won't regret it. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

When you visit a bed and breakfast for the first time, you never know what to expect regardless of how many reviews you've read. Our experience at the Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast was beyond all expectations. We truly didn't want to leave. The hosts, Nancy and Bob, clearly love being innkeepers and it is evident in every detail. We stayed in the Graves suite on the first floor with its private entrance. Bob gave us an informative "briefing" of the inn before we entered our room so we felt immediately at home. Both he and Nancy have wonderful, warm personalities which made our stay very enjoyable. The room was perfectly furnished with everything you could possibly need. There were elegant little touches throughout that you rarely see, even in five star hotels: high quality bath products, exquisite robes of the highest quality, beautiful bedding with pillows so heavenly that we have now purchased four of them! Both nights there were freshly home-baked cookies on a beautiful plate in our bedroom. At night, there was a glass pitcher of fresh water. No plastic bottles water here!! You find no plastic cups or paper napkins anywhere. Even the bathroom glasses were first rate. The whirlpool tub and the steam shower were the best we've ever experienced anywhere. Every part of the inn is immaculately clean. Although the inn has been in operation for awhile, the place is so fresh and wonderful, you feel as if you're the first guests! The breakfast was exquisite. The menu is varied to meet all breakfast tastes. The French toast is unreal. The breakfast pie was incredible. And it's all served on Spode Collection dinnerware! We chose to eat on the porch which was one of our favorite places at the inn. It offers a relaxed setting with a gorgeous view of fields, flowers and cattails. Every one of our needs was anticipated and met without us asking. Even though we had never met Bob and Nancy before, we felt an instant friendship that is rare. Without being intrusive, they engaged guests easily and genuinely. Before leaving, we made reservations for September and this will be the first time we've ever returned to a B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadhods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast Inn for 6 nights in early May, 2012. We were attending a convention in Cincinnati (about 18 miles away). There are two Inn buildings, an 1830's vintage brick country house and a separate 19th century log cabin, on about 2 acres of nicely kept lawns and flower gardens. The owners live in a separate wing added onto the side of the brick house. There is a large covered porch at the rear of the house which looks out over the back gardens and is equally accessible by guests in the house and the log cabin. Both buildings have been restored in a way that retains all the historical interest of the originals while adding first class bath, kitchen and dining room facilities, and the finest bedding, sheets, and towels. We stayed in the Mr. and Mrs. Graves Suite, consisting of a large sitting room with gas fireplace and full air conditioning, a cozy four-poster bedroom, and a bathroom with tub and steam/water shower. There was a separate entrance through the house's original front door and a 10' x 15' patio in front of the door with benches where we could read and relax at the end of the day. We had initially been concerned about the commute into Cincinnati and back (at 7 AM and 5 PM), but, while there is some heavy traffic, we were usually able to make it in 30-45 minutes in the morning and 30 minutes in the evening. The entire house is tastefully decorated with the owners' collections of early 19th c. furniture, paintings, mirrors, and clocks. And the breakfasts offered juice, coffee, homemade granola with fresh berries, and a choice of the best French Toast I have ever had, eggs, or pancakes, with sides of bacon, sausage or ham. Breakfast normally begins at 8 AM, with coffee available in the kitchen at 6:30 AM. But on five of our mornings, we had to leave shortly after 7 AM in order to get to the first sessions of the convention, and Nancy Swartzel, our hostess, insisted on providing whatever we wanted for breakfast an hour earlier than usual. We chose oatmeal with berries, and, like all the rest of the food, it was perfectly prepared and gave us a hot breakfart to start our long days. Every night, when we returned to the room, there was a plate of chocolate chip cookies on the bed, and a small refrigerator in the breafast room provided sodas and water whenever we wanted. After long days at a crowded convention, we found the Willis Graves B & B a quiet evening refuge where we could relax in the gardens, read in the rooms, and enjoy complete privacy. The Swartzels are that rare B & B host couple who are friendly and interesting to talk with when you see them but do not intrude on their guests' desire for quiet and privacy. We have stayed in many B & B's in the US and abroad, and the Willis Graves Inn is by far the best we have encountered.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADGrantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burlington's Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington's Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 5825 N Jefferson St, Burlington, KY 41005-9772
Location: United States > Kentucky > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range: $140 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burlington's Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience sophisticated charm at this award-winning inn on the edge of a small town twenty minutes from Cincinnati. Attention to detail and luxurious touches include whirlpool baths, steam showers, plush robes and towels, fireplaces, triple sheeting with fine linens, down comforters, fresh baked cookies, and complimentary beverages. Guests may also enjoy in-room massage, wireless Internet, cable TV with DVD player, and our comprehensive movie collection. A full gourmet breakfast is served daily at individual tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Burlington's Willis Graves Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing