We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buckhorn Lake State Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This place is just amazing for a getaway. The view from the hotel rooms are just mind blowing. When you go on the balcony you can enjoy the beautiful scene out there. The combination of the lake and the trees is very spectacular. You can do various things at this adoring place. You can swim in the lake or the pool, go boating, play mini golf and much more. I will definitely spend weekends with my future beloved in this amazing resort.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nasser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Buckhorn Lake State Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

The view of the lake from the lodge is incredible! Each individual room has a porch and wall sized window dedicated to viewing this magnificent scenery. There are also countless of adventure activities to partake in from swimming in the lake, to boating, to mini golf, to hiking trails, to swimming in the clear and cool refreshing pool. Not to mention there is a beach on the lake within walking distance of the lodge where you can spend hours playing in the sand, swimming in the water, or even laying out. I received nothing but extremely and welcoming service as all of the staff was very personable and accommodating to our group of 15.

Along with great lodging the resort restaurant is also top notch! I had chicken tenders "grilled to perfection" and I must say they were some of the best I had. The only thing to be warned is there is barely, if any cell phone reception. I had no cell phone service during my time here but I was perfectly okay with that as this destination provided a fun secluded getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fabulous place!
Beautiful view from the room down the lake and the greenery around. I like swimming but had not swam before in a lake. I got the chance to swim for the first time in Buckhorn lake. It was real fun:)
At first I was afraid of snakes in water but when my friends jumped into water I could not resist watching them and dived into the lake. We had stopped in the middle of the lake after riding our boat from the lake-shore. We ate dinner at Buckhorn hotel. There menu was rich and the dinner was delicious too. I ordered chicken wrap and indeed liked it. The waiters are friendly and there is a fancy conference room inside the hotel.
The only setback of the place is that that most cell-phone operators do not work here. Only Appalachian Wireless works in certain locations.
Overall, it is a wonderful to visit and spend sometimes.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Murtaza_Sharifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

There is free WiFi but no cell phone service whatsoever. So if you like being secluded out in the middle of the mountains then this is a decent place to stay. The view is very beautiful, even in your room you get a gorgeous view of the swimming pool and lake surrounded by majestic mountainous terrain. The breakfast is average but the dinner they serve is pretty good. Also the rooms still look like the 1970's as well as the bedspreads. Plus the resort is very hard to find since it is tucked away in the Appalachian Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Don't forget about the State Park Lodging. This hotel offers a breathtaking view. The food is good and the service is above and beyond. The rooms are large and some have balconys and almost all ovelook the pool and the mountains beyond. It is a lovely, relaxing place to stay and sets you right in the heart of Appalachia. They also have putt putt, boating and swimming in the lake and the outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyDayKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed at over seven of the Kentucky State Parks in the last three years in the summer and fall months. These venues are fabulous assets to Central and Eastern KY. The Buckhorn staff from the Park Ranger down to the food and cleaning staff are friendly, positive family oriented service minded people. As more visitors find the lodge the breakfast menu will expand. I recommend the cat fish at night and the club for lunch.

Stayed: January 2012
2  Thank Hackbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

So far, I am thoroughly enjoying my stay at this hotel: nice, clean rooms with a touch of old and colorful comforters; very friendly and helpful staff, always ready to assist you and answer any questions you have; nice selection and quality of food at the restaurant downstairs. But nothing can compare to the breathtaking view from any of the windows of the resort. It is worth getting up early and standing on your balcony to witness a sunrise over the lake. Swimming in the lake itself is another story: The water is warm and pleasant, sandy beach is perfect for sand castles and sun-bathing and buoy in the middle are great to just hold on to and rest. Gradual slope makes it perfect for children too! You can always move to the pool if you enjoy the smooth and clear water of a man-made swimming reservoir better.
Overall, this place is great for family getaways or fun time with friends or even as a couple retreat destination: it can be fun or serene, secluded or energetic, depending on your needs.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Hazard
12.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Hazard
39 reviews
21.4 mi away
Manchester Heritage Inn
Manchester Heritage Inn
#1 of 1 in Manchester
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
American Elite Inn Hazard
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Lake State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Lake State Resort

Address: 4441 KY Highway 1833, Buckhorn, KY 41721
Location: United States > Kentucky > Buckhorn
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buckhorn Lake State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckhorn Lake State Resort is surrounded by rolling, tree-covered hills, the lodge overlooks the beautiful 1,200-acre lake. The lodge has 36 rooms offering full amenities as well as two 2-bedroom cottages and two 3-bedroom cottages. Cottage check out by 10:00am, local time.Open year-round. Rooms are available by late afternoon. Lodge room check-out by 11:00am, local time. A limited number of lodge rooms will be available for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Buckhorn Lake State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Lake State Hotel Buckhorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing