We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average for what its worth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brooks
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Average for what its worth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I booked online for travel plans and everything went smooth the first week. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was good, until the second week. They cleaned the room lightly when they did. (I was a housekeeper for several years, I know what should be done and what shouldn't be done for customers.) The office informed me the housekeepers need to service the rooms at least every three days. The second week, I left the room and they were cleaning the room RIGHT NEXT TO ME. I made eye contact with the lady and said good morning when I left my room. I went on my merry way, and when I came back my room was not cleaned, bed not made. Fine. This actually happened once the first week I was there too, and it wasn't the afternoon yet. It was around 10am. A few days later I was sleeping and housekeeping unlocked the door. I said I didn't need anything. They shut the door, and unlocked the door again and tried to force the door open. That made my stay kind of freaky and disappointing. Other weird things that happened, during my first week, a few days in the front desk called my room and said they were sorry I was unhappy with my room and wanted to know if I still wanted to move to a new room. I never made a complaint about my room. If I was going to complain about my room, the only thing I would say is I wouldn't recommend staying here during the winter. The gap under the door makes the cool outdoor air seep into your room, and the heater didn't get past cold. I ran it for at least an hour and a half. Overall average experience. It didn't suck until a few days before I left, but that was reflected in the tip. Good place to stay on a tight budget. 24 hour subway, waffle house and taco bell within walking distance. It served its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was planning to turn in my Choice credit card and never use any of their hotels again. But there was a trucker convention in town and nobody else had a room. I was very pleasantly surprised.

The room was clean and clean smelling. The beds were the quality of more expensive chains. There was a little peeling paint above the tub but you expect some issues in sub $100/night room.

The staff was competent and friendly. The breakfast area is small but if you search a little you will find what you need.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for an overnight stopover.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guammax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'm not easily impressed and don't normally post reviews but in this case I felt it was due. I stayed for five days (25 OCT-30OCT2013). I like most was initially taken by the negative reviews but there was a convention in town and rooms were very tough to come by so I had to take a chance. I arrived at the hotel and things were good... counter staff were friendly, check in was quick... to the room. I was preparing for a the marginal but that's not what I found. The room was nice! Easily on or above par with any Econo Lodge I've stayed in the nation. Yeah, the pool was not open but it was late October and I wasn't looking to use the pool any way.
I'm not sure if the owner have changed or if the managers have changed but I saw no need to not stay at this hotel. I will stay here the next time I'm in the Louisville area! It's close enough to downtown but far enough to get a great deal on a room... fit my needs. And BTW, it was about full as I left... The convention crowd had packed the place. Not to mention, all accounting was accurate.
They also accept pets at a cheaper rate than anyone else I could find in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Room was ok I guess. Cobwebs, very old comforters, stains on carpet are a few complaints. This hotel is not for a family experience. It is basically a truck stop hotel. For $89 the room is way over priced. Looks like they jacked up prices to the national FFA convention kids. Be warned they have a no exception, 30 day cancellation policy also. Picture on website is "off" too. Roof is wrong color. It is tricky to find also when you get off interstate.

I called with my concerns due to poor ratings, they blame people only post complaints. Not true with me...I post good and bad, and a majority of mine are good. If I would have had my family with me, or staying more than one night I would have been Unhappy, but in this case, I was alone and only needed a place to sleep.

One good thing was, conviently located to places to get dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid them all unless you need just a place to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmergidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooks hotels

Fall River, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I should have heeded the warnings I came across when reading reviews before booking this hotel. However, we stayed here five years ago and it was a decent place to stay. But not this time around! The trouble started when we arrived at the hotel. We found out the pool was closed because it needed to be fixed (keep in mind it's July!). I told the front desk agent that one of the reasons we booked the hotel was because of the pool. Instead of apologies, we were told that the pictures of the pool were taken down from the website. This must have been done after we booked the hotel because the pictures were still up when we booked. Unfortunately, we had to stay here for six nights because we would lose $400-$500. Things were worse once we got to the room. First of all, the bed looked like a five year old made it! The towels were stained and displayed sloppily! There appeared to be a cigarette burn in the tub of a non-smoking room. The staff was also incompetent. One "kid" closed breakfast early in order to text or play games on his phone. Another staff member couldn't make a simple pot of coffee! I would never stay here again, and I hope this review will prevent someone from making the same mistake we made.

Room Tip: Try another hotel! If you are from out of town like I was, maybe try booking the room for one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in mid-February. Stayed in a room with King bed & pull out couch. Very clean room, recent paint/remodel. Unit had a fridge, small desk w/office chair. Ate breakfast all three mornings, biscuits & gravy, donuts, cereal, & fruit. Wireless internet was fast. Check in/out was very helpful and friendly. Nothing fancy, close to interstate (easy access, but not scenic). I would definitely stay here again. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGJFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip home from Florida. Easy access from I-65, CLEAN and comfortable room (#124), friendly and accomodating staff. We left early the next morning before official breakfast hours, yet the staff gratiously served us coffee and rolls upon our departure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooks
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville I-65 @ Brooks Rd.
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Brooks
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Louisville South I 65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sheperdsville - Louisville South
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
#3 of 9 in Shepherdsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65
Address: 1901 East Blue Lick Road, I-65 at Exit 121, Brooks, KY 40109 (Formerly Econo Lodge & Suites Brooks)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Brooks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brooks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-65 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Brooks
Brooks Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing