We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating. Service desk taking personal calls and not interested.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bowling Green
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Arrived late around 10pm so certainly not busy. The hotel appears older and in need of updating. The service desk attendant, Nicole was on a personal call and continued the call while I stood there waiting and waiting. After she finished her conversation" to check someone in" she proceeded to give me a room that either belonged to someone or more likely had not been cleaned. Now it was 10 pm and they had not turned their rooms over. Had to trek back down to desk for another room. The bathroom are pretty tired and gross Dirty tile and tub makes you want to wear shower shoes. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulfcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Gulfcoaster - Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback and will use your comments to improve the service quality. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and sincerely hope you will consider returning to our hotel on your next visit to Bowling Green.

A little later this year we are planning a significant renovation! We are very excited about the new changes and believe you will be as well. If I can be of any service, please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Best Regards ~ Brian, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a very short stay here. We stayed in a double, the beds were fine. The room was spacious, quiet and clean. The hotel breakfast buffet was basic with an omelet station, fruit bar and typical hot breakfast fare. We ate here more for convenience, but weren't disappointed. There is a small bar where we watched a ball game and a business center as well. There were several groups staying in the hotel, but it never felt crowded or noisy. There is a small indoor pool, that is rather popular with the young adults. The atrium adds to the spacious feel of the hotel.

It is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, reliable, no bad surprises, good value. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stay in Bowling Green pretty often because my wife has family nearby. We use the discount websites that don't let you see the hotel name and about two/thirds of the time we end up with this hotel. It is a big hotel meant for conferences so they are not often full. It is clean and the service is good. My only complaints are the mattress felt a little worn (felt the springs a little bit and they kind of tilted to the middle) and the showers are noisy. These details don't really bother me at the discounted price we pay but they might concern me a little bit more if I paid full price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pushpin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our room was very nice and clean. The pool was clean and kept well stocked with towels. The inside of this hotel was very pretty and the night staff that checked me in was friendly as can be. I was disappointed there was not a spa in the pool area. And I don't like they have 2 bottles of $3 water they want to sell you in the room, I hate when hotels do that, and trying to explain to my little kids why they could not drink that water was not easy Overall we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SweetW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Our 6th floor room with two double beds was spacious with a work desk and roll-away chair, free Wi-Fi, and side chair with ottoman.

The bathroom was clean with large, snow-white hand and bath towels.

There was a bedside radio and a telephone plus a second phone on the work desk.

A choice of pillows covered the bed's duvet.

We thought this Holiday Inn was a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my second time at this property and the staff is great and the hotel is very nice. The restaurant staff is very friendly as well. Y The rooms are great and the water fall in the lobby is very nice and creates a nice calming affect

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! The beds are comfortable with down pillows. The indoor pool was great with the kids watching a storm while swimming! The rooms are spacious and spotless. Breakfast is amazing! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowling Green hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bowling Green
Hyatt Place Bowling Green
#2 of 35 in Bowling Green
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bowling Green
Hilton Garden Inn Bowling Green
#5 of 35 in Bowling Green
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Bowling Green Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bowling Green
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bowling Green
2.7 mi away
Best Western Bowling Green
Best Western Bowling Green
#4 of 35 in Bowling Green
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Address: 1021 Wilkinson Trce, Bowling Green, KY 42103-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bowling Green
Price Range: $88 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Bowling Green, Kentucky is awaiting for you at the Holiday Inn University Plaza. This unique atrium style high rise hotel is surrounded by the links of CrossWinds Golf and adjacent to the Sloan Convention Center. Fabulous restaurants and shops are within a few short blocks. Bowling Greens unique attractions such as the National Corvette Museum, Beech Bend Amusement Park and Raceway, Ag Expo and Western Kentucky University are all within eight miles. Our convenient location is midway between Interstate 65 exit 22 and historic downtown Bowling Green. Nashville International Airport is just over an hour's drive from the hotel's front door. The interior garden atrium of the Holiday Inn University Plaza offers security and comfort to guests who find their room entry visible from the lobby and the public areas of the hotel. All the guest rooms and suites are extra large, tastefully decorated, and equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, and 40 cable television channels. For your relaxation, we invite you to take a dip in our indoor pool and whirlpool or get a work-out in our health club which features cardio machines and free weights. The Hartland Café offers a quiet atmosphere to meet with friends and business associates as you enjoy an abundant country breakfast buffet. The Atrium Lounge is open seven days a week at 4:30 and specializes in Kentucky small batch bourbons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Holiday Inn Bowling Green
Bowling Green Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing