We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's a good place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Bowling Green
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a good place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stay in Bowling Green pretty often because my wife has family nearby. We use the discount websites that don't let you see the hotel name and about two/thirds of the time we end up with this hotel. It is a big hotel meant for conferences so they are not often full. It is clean and the service is good. My only complaints are the mattress felt a little worn (felt the springs a little bit and they kind of tilted to the middle) and the showers are noisy. These details don't really bother me at the discounted price we pay but they might concern me a little bit more if I paid full price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushpin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    91
    51
    15
    12
See reviews for
80
41
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our room was very nice and clean. The pool was clean and kept well stocked with towels. The inside of this hotel was very pretty and the night staff that checked me in was friendly as can be. I was disappointed there was not a spa in the pool area. And I don't like they have 2 bottles of $3 water they want to sell you in the room, I hate when hotels do that, and trying to explain to my little kids why they could not drink that water was not easy Overall we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SweetW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Our 6th floor room with two double beds was spacious with a work desk and roll-away chair, free Wi-Fi, and side chair with ottoman.

The bathroom was clean with large, snow-white hand and bath towels.

There was a bedside radio and a telephone plus a second phone on the work desk.

A choice of pillows covered the bed's duvet.

We thought this Holiday Inn was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
163 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my second time at this property and the staff is great and the hotel is very nice. The restaurant staff is very friendly as well. Y The rooms are great and the water fall in the lobby is very nice and creates a nice calming affect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! The beds are comfortable with down pillows. The indoor pool was great with the kids watching a storm while swimming! The rooms are spacious and spotless. Breakfast is amazing! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Let me start this off by saying I stayed at this hotel approx. one year ago. Last year when I went to take a shower I found dirty linen in the bath tub. This year booked this hotel for two nights as I was attending some meetings in town at the convention center. I went to take a shower and found the past guests dirty hairy soap still in the shower, makes me wonder how clean the shower actual was. I went ahead and shower, went to the front desk and told them about the issue, they agreed that was nasty and would make a note for housekeeping to take care of it. Later that same day I went back to my room after housekeeping had beeen in, what did I find but the same soap with the nasty hairs on it still in my shower. I went to the front desk and complained they said it would be taken care of, I went out for supper and was gone for a few hours. When I came back the dirty hairy soap was gone, but who knows if they cleaned the tub properyly or not.

Next day I was running a little behind and decided to just make some coffee in my room using the in room coffee maker, this was a mistake as I looked at the coffee pot I found old coffee stains and a pubic hair!! That was enough for me, I will not stay at this location again, if I have to be in Bowling Green again I will stay somewhere else.

I have attached a couple of pictures.

I should say the front desk staff was very nice and seemed to care, the housekeeping staff on the other hand needs to find another line of work or have some intensive training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris40181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Chris C -
Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience. We have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper and we will share the content of your review with our Housekeeping staff and utilize this as a training tool. You can rest assured that this was firmly addressed and won't happen again. That is not the standard of cleanliness we have for our hotel and we find it unacceptable. We believe this was an isolated occurrence and apologize to you for any inconvenience. It is our goal for every guest to have a great experience and we are embarrassed that we didn't accomplish that with you.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to the next time you are in Bowling Green. Should you grant us that opportunity, you can contact me directly, and I will personally make sure you're taken care of. Feel free to contact me at the hotel.
Best Regards ~ Brian ~ GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions. The indoor pool keeps the kids happy and the the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and their are some many restaurants nearby so dining is easy. Just one thing to know, breakfast is not free, so if that is important, this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Elevators are alittle slow, so if you are going to be in and out a lot, get a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernJewelryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowling Green hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bowling Green
Hilton Garden Inn Bowling Green
#4 of 33 in Bowling Green
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Hotel SYNC
The Hotel SYNC
#1 of 33 in Bowling Green
5.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bowling Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn Bowling Green
Drury Inn Bowling Green
#2 of 33 in Bowling Green
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bowling Green
Hyatt Place Bowling Green
#11 of 33 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Bowling Green Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Property: Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Address: 1021 Wilkinson Trce, Bowling Green, KY 42103-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Bowling Green, Kentucky is awaiting for you at the Holiday Inn University Plaza. This unique atrium style high rise hotel is surrounded by the links of CrossWinds Golf and adjacent to the Sloan Convention Center. Fabulous restaurants and shops are within a few short blocks. Bowling Greens unique attractions such as the National Corvette Museum, Beech Bend Amusement Park and Raceway, Ag Expo and Western Kentucky University are all within eight miles. Our convenient location is midway between Interstate 65 exit 22 and historic downtown Bowling Green. Nashville International Airport is just over an hour's drive from the hotel's front door. The interior garden atrium of the Holiday Inn University Plaza offers security and comfort to guests who find their room entry visible from the lobby and the public areas of the hotel. All the guest rooms and suites are extra large, tastefully decorated, and equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, and 40 cable television channels. For your relaxation, we invite you to take a dip in our indoor pool and whirlpool or get a work-out in our health club which features cardio machines and free weights. The Hartland Café offers a quiet atmosphere to meet with friends and business associates as you enjoy an abundant country breakfast buffet. The Atrium Lounge is open seven days a week at 4:30 and specializes in Kentucky small batch bourbons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Holiday Inn Bowling Green
Bowling Green Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing