We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Bowling Green
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a stopover”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Holiday inns are a good hotel for a stopover when you need a bed. Room was clean, king bed comfortable, amenities good, wifi included. They do not include breakfast like other hotels in their bracket. Staff friendly. Hotel a little out of the way from an assortment of restaurants although they have their own. We did not eat there but the restaurant smelled good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    98
    60
    17
    15
See reviews for
90
43
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel staff was great! The room, top floor, overlooking the golf course was large and bright. Some aspects of the hotel are a little older, hence the 4 rating. Jamie, the bartender was very good. WOuld stay here again without a hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! The view of the golf course is beautiful, especially as spring draws near. We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Bowling Green.

Best Regards ~ Brian ~ GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Kid friendly, great location. Not a modern contempory stylish hotel, but nice open atrium. Loved the full view floor to ceiling windows in our suite. The hot- tub removal was a disappointment, apparently due to a city ADA related ordinance. Pool area was not heated sufficiently, drafty due to unsealed exterior doors. Overall, we enjoyed and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenaKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We travel to Bowling Green frequently to visit our family and for business trips for my husband. It is absolutely the best place to stay for either business or pleasure. Its great location is convenient for business in town or at Western Kentucky University and also for surrounding area attractions, dining, and shopping. While there are many hotels to choose from, we have found that this hotel is the very best. We have stayed at other good hotels in the area, but none can match the outstanding accommodations and exceptional service by the entire hotel staff. I would like to especially commend the front desk manager, Mr. Demerious Smith, for his always friendly and exceptonal service that he provides for my family. From the pool, workout room, and exceptional dining room staff and great food to the business center, this hotel has it all. The entire hotel is very clean and pretty. We love the flat screen tv's and enjoy the large and welcoming lobby too. If you are looking for a great place to stay with great accommodations and a very helpful and friendly staff, this Holiday Inn with affordable prices is the best!, There is something for everyone at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking golf course.. Pretty view in spring and summer. Also, if you are traveli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUV2GoKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed recently and very much enjoyed my stay. Check in wonderful, with the kindest clerk, she was informative telling me about the restaurant's prime rib, which she could recommend. Did try it and enjoyed it. Had a room on the top floor and the view was pretty overlooking the golf course. Also liked the indoor pool. Housekeeping was super! Room was very clean. Would return again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went over to Bowling Green to escape the quiet solitude of rural South Central Kentucky hoping to relax in a nice room (more quiet solitude in a bigger town) and watch the big college football game. That was my main purpose of the trip. My hopes were high as I entered the lobby and observed the large atrium and lobby. My king room was very spacious and had a new HD TV. Everything was great... until I tried to actually watch TV. No signal and the system was down for the stay. OK, I can live with that. I would go workout in the fitness center and then take a nice hot soak in the jacuzzi. OOPS, the jacuzzi was empty, so I had to settle for a hot shower. The game was on in the bar thankfully, but it was still pretty cold down there. So, I sat uncomfortably with my coat on until half time and then went to bed. The room was comfotable and the bed cozy. The breakfast buffet was top notch with cooked to order omelets and eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blade5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear blade5658,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pros:
-location
-nearby restaurants and shops
-large facility
-fitness room
-large rooms, nicely decorated
-pillow choices that HI has

Cons:
-shows its age in wear
-my shower didn't drain
-don't think they cared
-noisy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowling Green hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bowling Green
Hilton Garden Inn Bowling Green
#5 of 35 in Bowling Green
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bowling Green
Hyatt Place Bowling Green
#2 of 35 in Bowling Green
536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Bowling Green
Best Western Bowling Green
#4 of 35 in Bowling Green
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bowling Green
4.1 mi away
The Hotel SYNC
The Hotel SYNC
#1 of 35 in Bowling Green
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Bowling Green Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Property: Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Address: 1021 Wilkinson Trce, Bowling Green, KY 42103-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Bowling Green, Kentucky is awaiting for you at the Holiday Inn University Plaza. This unique atrium style high rise hotel is surrounded by the links of CrossWinds Golf and adjacent to the Sloan Convention Center. Fabulous restaurants and shops are within a few short blocks. Bowling Greens unique attractions such as the National Corvette Museum, Beech Bend Amusement Park and Raceway, Ag Expo and Western Kentucky University are all within eight miles. Our convenient location is midway between Interstate 65 exit 22 and historic downtown Bowling Green. Nashville International Airport is just over an hour's drive from the hotel's front door. The interior garden atrium of the Holiday Inn University Plaza offers security and comfort to guests who find their room entry visible from the lobby and the public areas of the hotel. All the guest rooms and suites are extra large, tastefully decorated, and equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, and 40 cable television channels. For your relaxation, we invite you to take a dip in our indoor pool and whirlpool or get a work-out in our health club which features cardio machines and free weights. The Hartland Café offers a quiet atmosphere to meet with friends and business associates as you enjoy an abundant country breakfast buffet. The Atrium Lounge is open seven days a week at 4:30 and specializes in Kentucky small batch bourbons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Holiday Inn Bowling Green
Bowling Green Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing