We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No apologies for poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Montana Grille

Montana Grille
Ranked #2 of 286 Restaurants in Bowling Green
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No apologies for poor service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I ate at Montana Grille while in Bowling Green for the weekend at the end of March. The service was good at first. Then after 20 minutes I had to ask where our food was. When we got our food my sister ordered prime rib medium rare. It came back medium well. She sent it back and after 20 minutes she still had no food....we were almost finished with our meal. I again had to ask where her food was. The manager came over and instead of apologizing for the mistake and then the long wait he gave a lame excuse as to why it took so long. After dinner I ordered cheesecake to take back to the room. 15 minutes for a piece of cheesecake! I again had to ask where the food was. Finally, I had to DEMAND our check because the waitress was too busy two tables over flirting with the busboy. Not once were we offered something off our bill or even told they were sorry. The food quality was ok...not near worth the high price. But I will never go back due to the poor service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    137
    68
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oracle Bob's experience at the Montana Grill in Bowling Green Kentucky”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

While on a three-week business stay in Bowling Green Kentucky I had dinner several times at this restaurant. The architecture really did look like many of the buildings I've seen in Montana, While the place was very busy the service level was extremely high, The staff was very attentive and had a high degree of attention to detail. The pulled pork barbecued sandwich was enough to feed two people and The coleslaw was the best I've ever had. In addition they had Newcastle Brown ale which is my favorite on tap. If you're ever in Bowling Green make sure you stop by you definitely will not regret it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oracle-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Must on every visit to Bowling Green.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We always make a point of stopping here every time we visit Bowling Green. Great steaks, good service, nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jabuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Time Here--Will Return”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at 3pm on a Saturday and was seated right away. If you end up net to the spit, it is warmer there than the rest of the restaurant. Our server, or so we thought, brought us the warm "cornbread with a kick" which contained corn and jalapenos with a dollop of butter on top. It was a perfect blend of spicy and sweet. She also brought our drinks.

Then our server came and took our orders. We had the Bourbon Steak and Rotisserie Chicken. I opted for the regular, bacon-wrapped filet. My husband said the Bourbon Steak lacked a real taste. It needed a sweetness or spiciness to it. He said it needed another another swipe of sauce once cooked because it was like it cooked off during the process. It sounded better in the restaurant menu. Although the steak itself was juicy. The chicken had a spice rubbed exterior and was very moist and juicy--not dry at all. We both had the garlic mashed potatoes which was a huge portion with a dollop of butter on top and were quite delicious.

Dessert menu is absolutely nothing to write home about. Lacks interest. The server told us there was three desserts: cheesecake with strawberries or chocolate, Key Lime Pie, or a Heath Bar/Ice Cream dish. Cheesecake came with steaming hot strawberries (sort of strange...but tasted ok) although the cheesecake itself was decent. Husband said the Key Lime Pie was not very good. I would suggest this restaurant find a specialized dessert, kitchen created, focusing on the rustic feel this place has.

Overall, we were happy with the food and will return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalskdajfslkdflj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“just not N i c e!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was awful and the food took forever and the server never ask if we needed anything and our glasses were empty for way too long, i finally go some from the car

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Grille also viewed

 
Bowling Green, KY
 

Been to Montana Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing