We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Mellow Mushroom”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #5 of 300 Restaurants in Bowling Green
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An OK Mellow Mushroom”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Every year we go on a road trip to the South and we always hit at least one Mellow Mushroom. This one was... okay. The pizza was the same yummerific pizza I fell in love with 4 years ago but this location was smaller than all the others, the atmosphere, while good, was not as upbeat and energetic as the others I've been to. But, it was still good. Don't listen to the grumps giving it a bad score - just try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IckyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan A, Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate your feedback! If you're ever in the area again, do come back and visit us! We have exciting events and specials going on every week, like Team Trivia night and live jazz music. You can visit our Facebook page for more information. facebook.com/MellowMushroomBG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    79
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
962 reviews
848 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Agreement HERE”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This widely established restaurant OBVIOUSLY does something right. We had many tell us that they have the best PIZZA in town. (BG is known to have more restaurants, per capita, than anywhere else in American city, save San Francisco.) We've been met with long wait times, in the past, so tonight with a single digit temp, we got in. I believe they have other fine foods, but we hungered for a good pizza. It was as good as any other, but twice the price. $25 for a one person pizza speaks to the cost of the atmosphere. The decor is very nice. The service was OK, but what do you expect from a downtown college town eatery. As seniors, we felt a bit out of place. It was a good pizza, but no better than the newest Italian restaurant in town with 1/2 the price. I doubt we'll venture down here, unless friends insist. "Try it, you may like it."

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JpDrumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've eaten at other locations, but this was our first meal at the Bowling Green, KY location. I had the "House Special" (I'm such a healthy eater) and my wife had the "Megga Veggie" (she IS the healthy eater). Both pizzas were cooked to perfection and I'm crazy about their crust. The server really knew his product line and was attentive but not smothering. We'll do this one again (even though they are a wee bit pricey......

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expensive "boutique" pizzas that are practically tasteless”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The ambience is great, fun, but the pizzas (I've been several times) look good but lack flavor. It's as if most of the restaurants in BGKY decided to go bland so as not to upset local palates. And, the pizzas are expensive to boot. Go only on nights when they have free live music or other entertainment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJISK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Best pizza in BG and fun atmosphere. Yes it loud and lively with live local music on most nights. Great bar and excellent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing