We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my favorite cave--but, different”

Lost River Cave and Valley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lost River Cave & Valley is home to the only underground boat tour in the state of Kentucky. In addition to the boat tour, Lost River offers over two miles of nature trails and a unique butterfly habitat. Lost River Cave is one of the largest nature parks in the South Central Kentucky region.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not my favorite cave--but, different”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went during a Fall Break week and got a super discount, so, I can't complain about the price. This is the shortest cave tour I have ever had--but, also the only river cave I have seen. Bring your own flashlight or head lamp if you want to try to get some photos--the only lighting comes from your guide's flashlight and my photos didn't turn out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon95GCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostrivercavevalley, General Manager at Lost River Cave and Valley, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you taking to write a review for the tour at Lost River Cave. I especially appreciate your comments about lighting for photography. We have also experienced the issue with our own photo's. Do caves eat light for lunch? I beginning to think they do.
Rho Lansden, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    274
    60
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you like caves, and you like boats, do this!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The entire family loved this...It was a little shaky getting into the boat, but they make sure that everything is safe and they help you on... Remember to pay attention to your guide, and put your head down when you are told to (head trauma could really ruin a vacation!)...It was a short trip, but it was reasonably priced, and it was something that the kids will always remember... We would do this again, in fact, we will be looking for other opportunities like this from now on wherever we go. :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostrivercavevalley, General Manager at Lost River Cave and Valley, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your memories with other families. You are right, it does pay to duck your head...we laughing call that the 'adventure' part of the tour. LOL. Hopefully you will try out a few other caves on your travels, I hear that Ohio Caverns is really cool.
Rho Lansden, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We enjoyed this boat ride in the cave. It is interesting, not very long trip, but worth doing. The guide was very informative and helpful with infomation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostrivercavevalley, General Manager at Lost River Cave and Valley, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Lost River Cave. Our guides do work hard to present a good picture of the history and geology of Kentucky's Cave Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Short but Nice”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been living in Bowling Green for some time and had yet to visit Lost River. Some friends were visiting from my home state and we decided since the tickets were half price, it would be a nice way to spend the afternoon. Our tour started exactly at 3:00, our guide was very friendly and was very knowledgable about the cave valley. Getting into the boat was a little bit scary for me since I'm clumsy as an ox! The entrance into the cave on the boat is very low but it doesn't last but maybe 20 seconds. The cave was nice and cool, the guide gave us all kinds of information ranging from the geological history to the legends surrounding the cave. No one on our tour was late and we were told by the front desk where we purchased our tickets to be at least 10 minutes early. As we were exiting from our tour, there were several people running toward the cave complaining the 3:30 tour left without them though when I looked at my watch, it was 3:45. Just make sure you are at least 10-15 minutes early if you are worried and make sure you are in the right place. I'm not sure what happened in the previous reveiwers' posts but we did not have an issue. My only complaint is the tour was rather short especially if you are paying full price. I would have liked to spend more time exploring the cave/surronding valley. Overall, we had a nice time. I would recommend if you haven't done it yet, it's a nice little afternoon activity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_AJMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostrivercavevalley, General Manager at Lost River Cave and Valley, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your visit with other families. I hope this day will always be a special memory for you and your grandson.
Rho Lansden, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour or two.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a great way to spend the day with friends. Relaxing boat ride and good commentary from the tour guide. The trails were well marked and fun for the kids to run around to view the various Halloween exhibits. The gift shop also had some really nice items without the HUGE price tag of most gift shops. We went during fall break were tickets were half price which made it even better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostrivercavevalley, General Manager at Lost River Cave and Valley, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your visit with other families. I hope that your day spent here will always be a happy memory for you and the kids. Isn't it amazing how happy kids are with something as simple to do as run down a wooded trail. Reminds me of when I was a kid too.
Happy Travels,
Rho Lansden
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost River Cave and Valley also viewed

 

Been to Lost River Cave and Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing