We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and left on day 3 rested and pleased with our stay and experience while at the hotel and in Berea. The hotel is very majestic and the staff for the most part were extremely hospitable. We ate in the hotel restaurant; 2 breakfasts and one evening meal. All 3 meals were delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraTony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay here at Boone Tavern. You must come back in the winter it is beautiful!! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    141
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
81
264
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were very happy with the accommodations! From real glasses in the room to very friendly staff this was a great experience. Old world charm with modern touches. We had a travelzoo certificate which saved us quite a bit on the room and dinner

Room Tip: Look for specials that include a dinner voucher.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a leed certified hotel. Just completed a huge renovation.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clang_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have a lot of specials going on right now! Our travelzoo is still up and going for another week if you would like to get another voucher!!! We appreciate your business!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room was stuffy and smelled of chemical off gassing from the new carpet. The air conditioning system only circulates air when it's running so you have to keep setting the temperature colder and colder to keep air flow. The original windows opened, but during the $11 million renovation, they made them inoperable on the "inside" of the building. On the street side the windows do open, but then you get street noise, including the incessant, rhythmic beeping of the nearby stop light. The water flow in the bathroom (both sink and shower) is weak, and to get the water hot enough you have to turn the shower to the hottest possible setting. The beds are too soft for our taste. The staff is lovely and did their best to solve the air circulation problem, but the fault lies in the system itself. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always trying to improve our guest stay. We apologize for the problems you had with your air circulation in your room. We are very happy that the staff accommodating and helpful. We hope that you reconsider and stay with us in the future. I will check on the air circulation problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great property, great location. Skip the brunch and go next door to Main Street Cafe. Managing a buffet is not easy - it takes attention to detail - which escaped the crew on this Sunday. Beautiful property. My review only relates to the restaurant. The lobby is beautiful and the location could not be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We apologize for the Sunday Brunch not being up to par. People usually rave about the food and the omelet station. Please know that this is not the norm! We do appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
274 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited Berea in April and really enjoyed the town.We weren't able to stay at the Boone Tavern then because it was full. I booked our visit about 6 weeks ago to make sure we could try the Boone Tavern. What a disappointment! The room was clean, but tiny. The bed was a double and not really comfortable. But my real complaint was that the entire hotel lost power about midnight. I have sleep apnea and use a CPAP machine to sleep. Obviously, with no power I couldn't sleep. The power came on about 1:15am, but I couldn't get to sleep until much later. I understand that the power outage probably wasn't the hotel's fault, but no one at the desk even asked how our stay was. We were going to eat breakfast at the hotel, but I decided not to spend any more money with them. We will stay at the Quality Inn next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
First we would like to say thank you for your review. We appreciate all the reviews that we get. Please accept our heartfelt apology for your recent stay. We were not in control of the power outage but we are in control of how we handle it. We apologize for the unfriendly service. Thank you for making us aware of your experience. Our mission is to provide guests with an experience that goes above and beyond. Our training program called Total Guest Experience is designed to train and encourage students and new staff to provide guests with an outstanding welcome that Historic Boone Tavern is known for. All management will review your comments and share them with our students and staff members. We feel confident your next experience will include the warm welcome that guests customarily receive from students and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed and ate there prior to their renov and even slightly 'dated', it was a totally unique treat! At the time, college hospitality students served guests as in-training staff throughout. The dining room offered regional dishes like spoonbread (basically puddinglike cornbread) and chocolate chess pie. Jackets required, but not to worry - the tavern has spares! ;). Gift shop features unique crafts made by mtn folk. I should imagine it is heavenly all decked out during Holiday season! Get a special deal and this easily accessible off I-75 quaint spot will keep drawing you back. We live in FL and hated to leave Berea behind.... P.S. Plenty of gorgeous fall colors and spring blooming trees and not too far from Lexington's horse country and some of Ky's best mtn parks' lodges to the east.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you have loved us enough to come back again and again!! It is beautiful here in Berea during the Holidays. We hope that means you will be joining us for the holidays!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Be sure to visit Boone Tavern for one of their mystery dinner evenings with Bluegrass Mystery Theater. They do this 3-4 times a year. For one price (around $40) you get dinner and a murder mystery play performance. The food is always delicious and you have to figure out "whodunit?"
The plays are always entertaining. Don't recommend this for small or younger children. A nice evening out. Dinner and play last about 2 hours. Need reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your informative review. We have one coming up in December hope you can make it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
National Heritage Inn and Suites
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 13 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Property: Boone Tavern Hotel
Address: 100 Main St. N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing