We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great property, great location. Skip the brunch and go next door to Main Street Cafe. Managing a buffet is not easy - it takes attention to detail - which escaped the crew on this Sunday. Beautiful property. My review only relates to the restaurant. The lobby is beautiful and the location could not be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Franci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We apologize for the Sunday Brunch not being up to par. People usually rave about the food and the omelet station. Please know that this is not the norm! We do appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 574 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited Berea in April and really enjoyed the town.We weren't able to stay at the Boone Tavern then because it was full. I booked our visit about 6 weeks ago to make sure we could try the Boone Tavern. What a disappointment! The room was clean, but tiny. The bed was a double and not really comfortable. But my real complaint was that the entire hotel lost power about midnight. I have sleep apnea and use a CPAP machine to sleep. Obviously, with no power I couldn't sleep. The power came on about 1:15am, but I couldn't get to sleep until much later. I understand that the power outage probably wasn't the hotel's fault, but no one at the desk even asked how our stay was. We were going to eat breakfast at the hotel, but I decided not to spend any more money with them. We will stay at the Quality Inn next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

First we would like to say thank you for your review. We appreciate all the reviews that we get. Please accept our heartfelt apology for your recent stay. We were not in control of the power outage but we are in control of how we handle it. We apologize for the unfriendly service. Thank you for making us aware of your experience. Our mission is to provide guests with an experience that goes above and beyond. Our training program called Total Guest Experience is designed to train and encourage students and new staff to provide guests with an outstanding welcome that Historic Boone Tavern is known for. All management will review your comments and share them with our students and staff members. We feel confident your next experience will include the warm welcome that guests customarily receive from students and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed and ate there prior to their renov and even slightly 'dated', it was a totally unique treat! At the time, college hospitality students served guests as in-training staff throughout. The dining room offered regional dishes like spoonbread (basically puddinglike cornbread) and chocolate chess pie. Jackets required, but not to worry - the tavern has spares! ;). Gift shop features unique crafts made by mtn folk. I should imagine it is heavenly all decked out during Holiday season! Get a special deal and this easily accessible off I-75 quaint spot will keep drawing you back. We live in FL and hated to leave Berea behind.... P.S. Plenty of gorgeous fall colors and spring blooming trees and not too far from Lexington's horse country and some of Ky's best mtn parks' lodges to the east.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you have loved us enough to come back again and again!! It is beautiful here in Berea during the Holidays. We hope that means you will be joining us for the holidays!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Be sure to visit Boone Tavern for one of their mystery dinner evenings with Bluegrass Mystery Theater. They do this 3-4 times a year. For one price (around $40) you get dinner and a murder mystery play performance. The food is always delicious and you have to figure out "whodunit?"
The plays are always entertaining. Don't recommend this for small or younger children. A nice evening out. Dinner and play last about 2 hours. Need reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your informative review. We have one coming up in December hope you can make it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Boone Tavern and Hotel is a classy place to stay with beautiful handcrafted furniture and comfortable elegance. While a little more expensive than the "chains", it has character and charm all its own. You'll love the story and the setting. You'll love the shops filled with hand crafted goods all around the block. You'll love the scenic walks that criss-cross the college campus just across the street. And be sure to see old town Berea and the shops there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for a great review. We strive to warmly welcome all of our guests that stay with us. From the Berea College student workers to upper upper management, our staff's goal is to make every guest feel like a VIP!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love this place. Close to conference facilities. Once the find parking, most everything is in easy walking distance. The food is wonderful. I had two pieces of salmon last night that were perfectly cooked and tasty.

The service is top notch. These students who work at the front desk greet you with a smile all the time and when they ask you how you are doing, they care.

This is my 2nd visit and I have enjoyed the stay... Thoroughly!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veritas1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We look forward to you all coming to Boone Tavern every year. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope to continue to excel in meeting each guest's every need!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in Berea after spending a day in the Cumberland Falls area. we chose Boone Tavern based on reviews and price comparison. Boone Tavern is a great value and has an awesome story. The food is expensive in the hotel dining room, but worth the splurge. honestly, it was one of the best dinners I've had at a hotel in a long time. the rating of a four instead of a five stems from the experience we had in the dinning room with the waitress. I will say, though that hotel management did adjust our dining bill to our satisfaction and we would go back. Overall a rating of five. a great historical inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. I will share your review with management so they can go over it with their staff. Please join us soon we would love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
57 reviews
11.5 mi away
Best Western Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $84 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing