We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whitesburg, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Be sure to visit Boone Tavern for one of their mystery dinner evenings with Bluegrass Mystery Theater. They do this 3-4 times a year. For one price (around $40) you get dinner and a murder mystery play performance. The food is always delicious and you have to figure out "whodunit?"
The plays are always entertaining. Don't recommend this for small or younger children. A nice evening out. Dinner and play last about 2 hours. Need reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your informative review. We have one coming up in December hope you can make it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    156
    46
    18
    6
See reviews for
92
283
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Boone Tavern and Hotel is a classy place to stay with beautiful handcrafted furniture and comfortable elegance. While a little more expensive than the "chains", it has character and charm all its own. You'll love the story and the setting. You'll love the shops filled with hand crafted goods all around the block. You'll love the scenic walks that criss-cross the college campus just across the street. And be sure to see old town Berea and the shops there!

Green Features: I think it is great they have adopted environmentally friendly practices. We all need to do that!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We strive to warmly welcome all of our guests that stay with us. From the Berea College student workers to upper upper management, our staff's goal is to make every guest feel like a VIP!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love this place. Close to conference facilities. Once the find parking, most everything is in easy walking distance. The food is wonderful. I had two pieces of salmon last night that were perfectly cooked and tasty.

The service is top notch. These students who work at the front desk greet you with a smile all the time and when they ask you how you are doing, they care.

This is my 2nd visit and I have enjoyed the stay... Thoroughly!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veritas1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We look forward to you all coming to Boone Tavern every year. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope to continue to excel in meeting each guest's every need!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in Berea after spending a day in the Cumberland Falls area. we chose Boone Tavern based on reviews and price comparison. Boone Tavern is a great value and has an awesome story. The food is expensive in the hotel dining room, but worth the splurge. honestly, it was one of the best dinners I've had at a hotel in a long time. the rating of a four instead of a five stems from the experience we had in the dinning room with the waitress. I will say, though that hotel management did adjust our dining bill to our satisfaction and we would go back. Overall a rating of five. a great historical inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. I will share your review with management so they can go over it with their staff. Please join us soon we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, OH
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at the Boone. We were on a college visit for Berea college and this hotel is within walking distance of everything! Quaint front porch with rocking chair that we enjoyed eating an ice cream on. Absolutely beautiful decorations. Within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Choose an even number room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Loved your review. The pictures you took were outstanding. If you are thinking about getting away in the winter months it is beautiful here!!! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenino, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place has it all and in addition you are helping the Berea College students learn the hospitality industry. The recent renovation was done to national environmental standards. The lights, fans and air conditioning worked fine. Sheets and towels were clean and the room was tidy. Note: the bedroom furniture is all student made and beautiful. The food at two breakfasts and our one dinner was excellent and served with a smile. What more could you want? Stay Here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelsWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! Did you get a student led tour of the campus? They are a lot of fun. Next time you visit you will want to do that. Hope you all come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was built in 1909 and is near Berea College. The hotel has been well kept. I don't know how many stars it has but should have at least 5 stars. Chris at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. They have a great dining room with superb food. Don't miss this landmark the next time you might've heading to the Lexington, KY area.

Room Tip: No liquor in Berea so bring your own. Great local artists.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are green all the way. All bathroom soaps, shampoos, conditioners are of green quality. Completely non-smoking.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate the review! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
534 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Property: Boone Tavern Hotel
Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing