We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this one up!”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

With all if it's charm - it's like a trip back in time. It's not a Hilton or Marriott, but it is an older hotel that has been very nicely renovated and kept up very well. If you want a hotel that's rich in history - this is the place for you! Be sure to have breakfast, lunch, or dinner in the restaurant. You will not regret it. Check out the hotel's website. The pictures and descriptions are completely accurate. Don't pass this one up!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsavvypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Boone Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The regular rooms are very small and beds are hard . Stayed in two of them 2 years ago
The two executive suites are ok
Executive suite 208 is about the size of a comfort inn suite room or slightly smaller
Loved the executive suite room 320 . Spacious with sitting area . Both are priced the same.
There are only two executive suites. Both have whirlpool and showers
For the price, stay in 320 rather than 208
Hotel is beautiful but it is old, so there are some problems that you would expect to encounter
Ran into a wasps nest problem but they came up and took care of it immediately
Nice staff
I plan to return if I can get room 320 again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank northstar2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed two hotels associated with colleges where all students work their way through as in Berea College. The other is College of the Ozarks near Branson MO. The only reason this one doesn't rate a 5 on rooms is that they are on the smallish size. Both hotels their restaurants and their surrounds are very worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel, which is now completely green for those environmentally conscious history buffs! The dining room is wonderful, everyone must try the spoon bread. The staff is always helpful and accommodating. The only reason this did not get a 5 star on this trip was that the room was a little musty smelling and never did go away, even after running the air conditioner for a while. Rooms are clean and comfortable as always and the town folks are just fabulous. Berea truly is a special place, not only in Kentucky, but in the United States. And when visiting Berea, there really is no better place to stay than the Boone Tavern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room one the outside, either facing the street or facing the rear parking lot, otherwise t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Three friends and I had a girls' weekend in Berea at the Boone Tavern. The hotel has been beautifully restored - lovely decor, comfortable beds, great bathrooms - while still retaining its historic genteel beauty. We enjoyed the "parlors" for playing games, and the wide verandas filled with flowers for rocking and talking. The paintings on the walls and the beautiful furniture add the extra touches that make the hotel itself a destination. The personnel were also very helpful and friendly. Then you add the wonderful restaurant, and it was a perfect weekend away.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise by the street, so try to get a room toward the back
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We actually have a girlfriend getaway package on our website you may want to take advantage of next time you visit. We love that you appreciate the pure beauty that Historic Boone Tavern has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel, decorated in historical period, friendly and helpful staff, hotel is run by Berea College students....they do a fantastic job! Hotel was clean, rooms were spacious and our bed was very comfortable. We ate at breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious. We even got told a few ghost stories. This hotel lived up to its historical reputation.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank kcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I hope you enjoyed talking with out students. They love answering questions so ask away. We hope that you will make Boone Tavern a home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had high hopes for the hotel based on the reviews and the write up about it elsewhere. However the room had issues...with the the fan making such a racket during the night that we had a very poor nights sleep. On the plus side, the management did provide us a discount on our bill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCHaering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I'm so sorry that you had trouble with your fan. I am happy to report that we have fixed the fan in 215 and would love for you to come back and have a different experience here at the Tavern. We are like a big house and sometimes things go wrong but we appreciate when people let us know so we can fix them quickly and ensure every guest has a wonderful stay. Thank you for your review we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
43 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing