We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had one of the full rooms. The bed was so comfortable, the staff was outstanding and the overall feel of this hotel was just what I expected. It had a historical but updated feel, a lot of KY charm, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to continue to excel in meeting each guest's every need!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    156
    46
    18
    6
See reviews for
92
283
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milford, MI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way from Detroit to Florida. This is a welcome change from the usual chain hotel. Nicely preserved old place. Very courteous staff. We also ate in the restaurant, and that was good, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHMilford_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so happy that you took the time to give us a review! We hope that your stay will be longer next time you come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the crown moldings to the bolster pillows and in-room Keurig, our stay was so comfortable. It was a passing through sort of stay, but, as I told the manager, they will see us again. Our bathroom was large with a jetted tub/shower combo and a beautiful pedestal sink. The hotel is very green and shower products are provided in dispensers instead of all of those little bottles. Even the sitting area chairs were comfortable! There was a nice-sized closet and although it was closed when we went to bed it was open in the morning. Evidence of a ghost? In a place that old, I can certainly see how there could have been!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review us!! We hope you have a chance to stay longer next time you visit. We appreciate all of our guest who stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Boone Tavern in late January on our way to Florida. We wanted something different from the run of the mill hotels along the Highway 75 corridor. This is a lovely refurbished hotel that has a lot of charm and character. The staff were very friendly and accommodating when we checked in. Our room was small but comfortable and we had a nice view of the square.

Our later arrival time limited our ability to explore the town, so we settled on dinner in the Boone Tavern restaurant. Our meals were excellent, lots of wonderful flavors and texture. I would compare this restaurant to some of the finer restaurants in places like Charleston, SC and Savannah.

We had breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant and were served by Chadwick, a graduate of Berea college, who was a very well trained server and a delightful young man.

The only regret we have is our schedule did not allow us to access the craft stores Berea is known for. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christou_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We went last week to the Boone Tavern Hotel which was a beautiful hotel the staff was extremely nice and helpful when we got to our room I called down and asked where suite was thou a very nice room it was very small the desk manager send the young to show me the presidential suite thou alittle larger with small sitting area we stayed in our orginal room because I wanted the recliner chair that was in my orginal room had a very small tv with limited tv channels but my friend and came to sleep and the chair and bed so comfortable the TV watchef us more than we it we had a wonderfull Bathroom a towel warmer big tub and shower we ate at the resturant which was expensive and good but our waitress on pm's and young man at breakfast where very nice and helpful as was all the staff I ordered the porkchop and my friend the lamb I did not care for the grits my waitress got me some wonderful mash potatoes and my friend & I after having wonderful chocolate cake waddle out of the resturant back to our room the service was very good as was the whole staff had a nice little candy store damn the bad luck because we brought alot We truly enjoyed our visit nice college campus and town and some day hope to get back but need my suite the hotel was beautiful and very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to check out Berea's art shops and the Boone Tavern, we had heard that it had a few ghost sitings too. The hotel is very clean, food is really good and the staff is polite. The shops around the hotel are nice and we loved the Candy shop around the corner.

Our room was huge with jacuzzi tub, towel warmer and tv. I didn't get to take a bath since we were only there one night.

Breakfast and Dinner were awesome, I had the pancakes with crumbled back for breakfast and the verde chicken for dinner. The chocolate cake was awesome, we shared a piece and couldn't finish it.

Old Berea had a ton of shops a short drive away and the ones that were open had cool things to purchase. Unfortunately January seems to be their "off season" as many shops were closed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

No doubt this should be a stop on your list of places to visit. The food was great, but a bit pricey. The fudge shoppe is the best i have ever had! The staff are very professional but also students of Berea college. Which i really think is great teaching tool

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanG9097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
534 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Property: Boone Tavern Hotel
Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing