We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classical Class Act”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our exchange student graduated last year from HS and want to put us up at the Boone Tavern as a gift while we were visiting him at Berea College. What a treat. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless the decor is befitting this old hotel in the hills of Kentucky. Across from the college and with and excellent restaurant on site the location is perfect. The staff (mostly students) are polite, cheerful and professional in every way. The room we had was a bit small but with all you would need and a very large bathroom, all spotless and decorated in every way to compliment the history that this great hotel holds. You can't go wrong here and the price for a night at an inn listed "Historic Hotels of America".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Auxano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Boone Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hubby and I stayed at the Boone Tavern Hotel for 2 nights in August, 2012. Upon entering the hotel, we were warmly greeted by the doorman, Mr. Fred, who answered the few questions we had about the property. Check-in was fast and uncomplicated. The lobby and the public rooms are lovely and elegantly understated with upholstered couches, chairs and a grand piano. This hotel is 100 years old and has had an extensive 11 million dollar renovation recently. Our room was beautifully done with furniture handmade by the students at Berea College, fine linens and woven pieces on the king-size bed. A keurig coffee maker is in each room, along with bottled water, a flat screen tv and other top-of-the-line amenities. Bathroom was tastefully done with eco-friendly packaging on the soaps, shampoo and conditioner. This hotel is the only Leeds certified hotel in Kentucky. Above all, it was CLEAN!! The grounds and porches of this lovely hotel are filled with flowers and plantings, making it a joy to just sit on the porch and rock or walk the property. A wonderful weekend trip that we hope to make again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IndianaLynn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your fabulous review! Next time you come back you should get the grand tour of the hotel by our beloved Mr. Fred. He is great and is filled with knowledge of the hotel. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here, and we were so looking forward to the visit, but we were very disappointed. The room was clean, but seemed more like a dorm room than a hotel. There was only one tiny bar of soap, none for the shower. Dinner was very over priced, and not that many choices on the menu. The bread that was served, was almost bitter, and there wasn't any other bread to be offered. The staff almost seemed like robots, the students were cordial enough, but seemed like they had been given a script to read from when they talked. Why would this place be called "tavern" when it is a dry city? Makes no sense. Would not ever go here again. However, I will give it a one star for cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary_M1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thanks for giving us your feedback so that we can address your issues;
The room was a full and we do have larger rooms available including queen, king, doubles and suites. The amenity package including the soap are part of our program to reduce waste and protect the environment and we are happy to provide additional complimentary supplies, when requested. The bread is called spoonbread and is a historical recipe that we have been serving for over 75 years. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy it. Our students are not given a script but we do take pride in our history and that of Berea College. All of the net proceeds from the operation of the hotel go to the College’s general funds for the benefit of the students tuition and expenses.
The Tavern name is derived historical times when a tavern was a place for rest and lodging and later a tavern included the serving of wine or ale.
Our goal is offer genuine hospitality to our guests and to insure that their stay is an enjoyable one. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity of serving you. We truly value you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our daughter's wedding reception was held at Boone Tavern Sat. July 28, 2012. We are from Cincinnati and we booked with Boone in 2011. We had approx 140 guests. Donna & Ashley were a pleasure to work with & very accommodating! Everything was just as beautiful as we expected it would be! We love the beauty, charm and history Boone Tavern offers! Everyone was wonderful to work with, the reception food was delicious as usual (and hot when served) and the dining room was beautiful! We brought the decorations and they did it ALL! A lot of our guests stayed @ the hotel and loved it! Guest rooms are beautiful & the bed was comfy! And of course we love Fred the Doorman! This was definitely a 5 STAR experience in every category! Thank you Boone & Staff for making this a special time for Alexis and Todd!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, just depends on how much room or how many beds you need.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiJoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We had a great time hosting your daughters wedding. You all made it easy for us by being so kind and gracious! We hope you all will come back and visit us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you're traveling in south central Kentucky and are looking for a place to stay,you can do no better than Boone Tavern Hotel in Berea, KY. This classic hotel has been completely renovated and is a real showplace. Some of the rooms are somewhat small but quite comfortable. The hotel staff consists of students from the local Berea College. Without exception, everyone on staff was always solicitous of our every need. About 1 hour after we checked in, someone called to see if we needed anything....nice touch. The bed was great and the room was very quiet even with a thunderstorm that night.
For a great stay at one of the historic hotels of America, Boone Tavern is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor rear are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We are glad to hear that you like our renovations. We couldn't be more proud of the job that was done to make our hotel the first LEED Gold Certified Green Hotel in Kentucky. If you get a chance check out our website for great fall deals. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The staff here is outstanding. Check in very friendly, the doorman talks up a storm and very cordial, the housekeeping staff we ran into in the halls friendly, and the restaurant staff was top notched. The "green" rooms are well supplied. TV is a little small, no big deal. My only complaint is the carpet in the room was well stained and the decorative "log" pillow on the bed was just dirty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments and following up on housekeeping. We value your opinion and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Staying at the Boone Tavern Inn is a step back in time with all the modern conveniences. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The dining roon has wonderful food, dinner a little pricey, but worth it. Spoonbread is a must try and is complimentary. Berea is a sleepy little village with a liberal arts college, artsie shopping and a laid back attitude. We spent two evenings on the porch surrounded by beautiful flowers in white rocking chairs taking in the cool breeze. Wonderful stay - hope to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEAVO9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your fabulous review. The college keeps our flowers looking brilliant all year round. We can't wait to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
43 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing