We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed!”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have read so many good reviews on this place, we were unpleasantly surprised! This was a girls night away, there were three of us, we were visiting the shops, etc.in Berea and thought this would be a convenient place to lay our head and get some good hospitality. Quite frankly only a few people seemed happy to see us. There was a middle age, maybe slightly older doorman, whose name escapes me who was so nice and greeted us like we expected to be greeted at this famous historical hotel. It went downhill from there. The front desk staff seemed to be annoyed that were were tearing them away from the computer, not sure if they were working or playing, but who cares. In the middle of check in, it seemed more important than anything else that I understand that there was no smoking in the room, even after I made it clear we were non smokers. My freind spilled some of her iced tea on the floor and the clerk leaned over the counter and looked at it and made NO offer to help us clean it up. I asked for a paper towel or a call to the housekeeping staff and he still did nothing. I stepped into the restroom and got some paper towels myself to help her clean it up! By the way, the next day at check out, there were different staff but the same treatment!
Let's talk about the room...just average. now mind you we had the 89 dollar discounted room and we were only looking for a place to lay our head for the night so no big deal. But since I'm doing a review i want to point out that it was merely average, but VERY clean with comfortable beds.
By the way, the second person who was friendly to us was a housekeeping employee in the hall. Okay so TWO freindly people in the whole place. Are you kidding me?
The Boone Tavern Restaurant has regional acclaim for being a wonderful place to dine. The food was decent, although several mistakes were made in our order. The service was just plain UNfriendly. We ate dinner then had brunch the next morning, so this is not just a one employee thing. Grant it, these are mostly Berea College students working here, and let's face it, most of us are not all that good with our social skills and our serving attitude at that age, but the managers need to sit this group of youngins down and tell them who is buttering their bread here!
Love Berea and love the craftspeople, well worth your trip, but in my opinion, skip the Boone Tavern. If you are hungry the Acres Of Land Winery is just north on I-75 and they are very happy to see you and have great food!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELYNN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Please accept our heartfelt apology for the unfriendly service you received! Thank you for making us aware of your experience. Our mission is to provide guests with an experience that goes above and beyond. Our training program called Total Guest Experience is designed to train and encourage students and new staff to provide guests with an outstanding welcome that Historic Boone Tavern is known for. All management will review your comments and share them with our students and staff members.

The bellman who greeted you, Mr. Fred, is always enthusiastic and a great way to get a tour and learn some of the history of Boone Tavern! We are pleased to hear Housekeeping also reflected our core values of welcoming and interacting with guests.

Boone Tavern is perfect for a girl’s night out with its fine dining and location in the heart of the shops and galleries of Berea. We would like to invite you to give us another try on your next visit to Berea. We feel confident your next experience will include the warm welcome that guests customarily receive from students and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 574 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I spent two night at the Boone Tavern Hotel in March. We had not stayed her in a long time. The hotel was very well restored. The beautiful blues and yellows in the lobby were perfect. Our room was a King and it was very comfortable and quiet. There are many places in the hotel to just sit and read. The porches are lovely. There are several restaurants and craft shops within walking distance.
We will certainly go back again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the lovely renovation and made use of the many restful seating areas. We can't wait to have you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Boone Tavern & Hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Accommodations are clean and cozy. This was a wonderful place to stay on our way further south.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. From the greeting to our check out everything and everyone was a pleasure. The room was as nice as any hotel....clean and comfortable. I would recommend this as a place to stay whenever in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back facing the parking lot. No road noise. Very quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbycity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for a great review! We strive to warmly welcome all of our guests that stay with us. From the Berea College student workers to upper management, our staff's goal is to make every guest a VIP guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here. Everyone working in the hotel and restaurant were very friendly, courteous and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohio45107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you so much for recommending us! We're glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope to continue to excel in meeting each guest's every need!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Boone Tavern and Hotel in Berea,KY. The food as expected was fantastic. The server was attentive and brought extra when I said I loved the food. The dining room is elegant and makes you feel truly special.
The bedroom was just what you should expect from a historic hotel. The beds were firm and the linen clean and new. The room was decorated to represent the turn of the century making the experience authentic. The open rooms on the first floor were well appointed and warm and cosy. Brought my own flask as several counties in Kentucky are dry. No problem, just be aware.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentuckywoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful, informative review! We are pleased to serve Chef-created gourmet dishes with KY Proud ingredients. Also, late in 2011 we introduced brand new upgraded linen and towels! Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our 4th time here and we still enjoy it. Charming rooms, very friendly service and unique atmosphere. May need some new mattresses as I kept rolling to the center of the bed. I know the Inn is historical so I'm not going to worry that I have to crawl under the desk to plug in the computer or that there is a lack of shelf space in the bathroom. It also would have been nice to have enough regular coffee for the two of us, instead of just one packet but again, this was minor. The furniture in our room was beautiful, made of cherry. Our queen room was larger than many and was very clean. A nice change from the chain hotels. The Inn is beautiful, newly renovated and was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are so pleased to hear you have loved us enough to come back again and again! This is our goal! Next time you stay, please feel free to call down to the front desk and we will be happy to deliver extra coffee right to your door! We are also glad you enjoyed the Berea College student-made furniture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
11.5 mi away
Best Western Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $85 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing