We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Hotel”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Boone Tavern and Hotel in Berea,KY. The food as expected was fantastic. The server was attentive and brought extra when I said I loved the food. The dining room is elegant and makes you feel truly special.
The bedroom was just what you should expect from a historic hotel. The beds were firm and the linen clean and new. The room was decorated to represent the turn of the century making the experience authentic. The open rooms on the first floor were well appointed and warm and cosy. Brought my own flask as several counties in Kentucky are dry. No problem, just be aware.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentuckywoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful, informative review! We are pleased to serve Chef-created gourmet dishes with KY Proud ingredients. Also, late in 2011 we introduced brand new upgraded linen and towels! Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Boone Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 547 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our 4th time here and we still enjoy it. Charming rooms, very friendly service and unique atmosphere. May need some new mattresses as I kept rolling to the center of the bed. I know the Inn is historical so I'm not going to worry that I have to crawl under the desk to plug in the computer or that there is a lack of shelf space in the bathroom. It also would have been nice to have enough regular coffee for the two of us, instead of just one packet but again, this was minor. The furniture in our room was beautiful, made of cherry. Our queen room was larger than many and was very clean. A nice change from the chain hotels. The Inn is beautiful, newly renovated and was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BooneTavernHotel, Director of Sales Assistant at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are so pleased to hear you have loved us enough to come back again and again! This is our goal! Next time you stay, please feel free to call down to the front desk and we will be happy to deliver extra coffee right to your door! We are also glad you enjoyed the Berea College student-made furniture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel is over a 100 years old. The hotel is owned and managed by the local college. The students work there as part of their tutition. The students don't pay to attend the college. They know how to treat guests, it was a great service experience. I ate breafast and dinner at the hotel for 4 days, the food was excellent. The rooms are a small, this hotel was built before room space was important. They spent a few million dollars to renovate the hotel a couple years ago. One of the best hotel experiences I've had in a while.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I recently spent three nights at the Boone Tavern Hotel while attending a training on the campus of Berea College. At first I was a little disappointed to get a room that overlooked the roof of the Tavern's restaurant below, but I soon learned that this worked in my favor as the traffic noises from the rooms facing the highway made for a noisier experience for others in my workshop. The Hotel is all certified green. For that reason, the water took a while to warm up in the shower. I was beginning to think I'd have to take a cold one because I'd already been letting it warm for several minutes, but it finally warmed after about six minutes running. That was my only problem, if you'd even call that a problem. The student staff was excellent, the food in the hotel was good, and the facility was clean and pleasant. I'm a Berea College graduate and a former employee of the hotel's restaurant through the student labor program the campus has. It was quite nice to be able to return to my alma mater and see it from the customer's perspective.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep well, the backside of the hotel is preferable to the front.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acaronScienceHill_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a National Historic Hotel in the small college town of Berea. The rooms are pretty standard with comfortable beds along with a television. The hotel was recently updated; however, there seems to be a slight odor throughout the floors. It may have been carpet cleaner; however, it can aggravate allergies. The staff are friendly and helpful. The town is home to arts and crafts stores with some items made in Berea. Great place for a short trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Located on the southern edge of the "bluegrass" region, this hotel began life as a guest house for visitors to Berea College. It recently celebrated its 100th year in business. Students at Berea provide much of the staff for the hotel and the dining room. The rooms are very clean; the beds comfortable. Furnishings are elegantly sparse. Rooms range in size. Ours was small but not cramped. Students have made much of the furniture. It is sturdy (and as you will find in the various shops, expensive). As another reviewer put it well, "customer service" has real meaning. The hotel manager (who for reasons irrelevant to the review met us at the door when we arrived), the front desk staff, the student bellhop, and the cleaning personnel were friendly, informative, and helpful. We had a couple of small problems in the room. Within 5 minutes of calling the front desk, two very friendly and helpful people arrived and dealt with the issues. What a difference from a recent experience in an upscale chain where the technician who came 45 minutes after the call told us that he had no idea about how to fix the problem. An added plus is the restaurant (see separate review). We think it well worth the few extra dollars to stay here, rather than in one of the multitude of motels close by. It also ranks as one of the best places to have lunch or dinner between Cincinnati and Atlanta (and has maintained that reputation for over 60 years). Having driven this route many, many, many times over the years, I can say that with great confidence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

It was a beautiful hotel. It's a darling city.
The restaurant at the hotel was average and there is no alcohol in the city of Berea.

Room Tip: Ask to be on third floor, king room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
43 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing