We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed in quite a number of Country Inn & Suites properties and this one was not on par with many of the others. The front staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby was nice appointed. However we were disappointed by the decor in the rooms, pretty dated - but they were clean. The internet service was very slow and inconsistent. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast service, with limited selections and the breakfast attendant was not very good about keeping items replenished and keeping the dining area clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear BadgerRetirees, I am glad you found our hotel very clean and our front desk staff friendly and helpful. Our rooms are a little dated but we are in the process of updating them, in fact we have already updated the majority of our suites. I am also very sad to hear of the upsetting breakfast service that was supplied by the attendant. This is not the normal for our hotel. I wish to apologize for the discomforts you experienced. I hope you come back and see for yourself that the problem you witnessed is gone. Good Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel on our way home from Florida. We had booked it two days before and good thing we did because when we arrived around 9pm that Saturday night, there was no vacancy! We really just needed a bed to sleep in and love Country Inn and Suites. This hotel did not disappoint us. The front staff was welcoming and friendly. Our room was clean and our bed was VERY comfortable. We will stop here again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shesajewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Kati J, I am very pleased to hear your stay with us was wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We got lucky and were able to book a last minute one-bedroom suite here. We had checked into a hotel right next to I-75 and were dreading the noise that night. We were eating at the Smokehouse and looking at the Country Inn sitting *waaaaay* far back from the Interstate. We got lucky and were able to switch.

The Country Inn is very pretty. Lobby is distinctive with a country feel. Great staff! Fun to talk to and did everything they could for us. The bedroom in our suite was huge! And you did not hear the Interstate at all! But the entry room was small, and across from the pop machine and ice machine which was *loud*. It was a friday night and we heard a small herd of children playing/laughing/thumping around until after midnight. We ended up putting the sofa bed mattress in the bedroom with da boy sleeping on it. With the front door closed, and the bedroom door closed it was nice and quiet.

Comfortable bed, quiet room (after some improvising), good shower, hot water, fridge. We don't need much more for a one night stay. Breakfast is nothing special.

Be aware tho, it's a dry county. You're not going to have beer/wine/booze with dinner in the area or find a carryout to bring anything back. Also some rooms are smoking allowed (surprised us!) if you want a non-smoking room better specify it!

Recommended. Try it.

Room Tip: Get top floor, definately away from ice machines. Probably away from elevators. Specify non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UsuallyNotGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear UsuallyNotGrumpy, I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a convenient roadside hotel for those traveling on I75. It has the usual features provided by Country Inn and Suites: fairly large, clean rooms, a decent breakfast including some hot items, additional amenities such as a swimming pool. The rates are competitive and Carlson Hotels (the parent company) frequently offers specials on their website which reduce the rates by 25% or more. When these specials are available the participating Country Inns are real values for those able to make reservations well in advance. There are, however, a couple of cautions with this particular property. One is that it is located in a dry county (Kentucky has these) so if you would like a beer or wine with you dinner, you will find it preferable to continue down the road to the next town located in a county that does not have such restrictions. The other issues: 1) The thick inner lining on the curtains in my room had been cut away making it impossible to block out the strong lights from the parking lot. The person at the desk very kindly changed my room. However, the TV in the new room did not work. The desk person mentioned that problems with the TVs were common and I did not ask to change rooms again. In addition, the WiFi internet service throughout the hotel was down. Evidently this also was a frequent issue. They said that an IT specialist had been called, but obviously this did not fix the problem that all the guest experienced that night. So the conclusion is that this is an ok place to stay, but beforehand it would be worth checking to make sure that the TVs and internet are working and that the curtains in your room are functional.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor and away from the elevator and ice machine (for quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMS48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear AMS48301, I am very sorry to hear that you had a problem with our Internet and TVs. Technical difficulties can and do happen and often take time to remedy. I am happy to report that we have both fixed at this time. We wish you the best and hope to see you again in your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel 3x when travelling between Ontario and Florida. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are large with chesterfield and frig. Quiet and clean. Breakfast was great offered lots of variety. Easy access to I-75. CrackerBarrel is located one exit south. Internet is available and I had no problems getting online. I will stay here every time I make the drive to Florida.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ackack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Ackack, I am very pleased you enjoy your stays at our property! We hope to see you on your next trip to Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were so pleased with our arrival at the Country Inn & Suites in Berea, KY. After being in the car for 12 hours with two children, I walked in to check in and the person on duty greeted me with a warm smile and already had our keys ready and all of our paperwork printed. It took less than one minute to complete the check in process. She also helped us find a place to get dinner, which was fabulous! Our room was VERY clean. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Next time, I would request a room that is not near the stairway, as we could hear the door to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After an ice storm covered the area the day of our arrival, we were unable to drive up hillside driveway, so when I called the front desk, they directed us to the back street access road, which had been salted. Then Missy helped my husband spread rock salt so our tires has enough traction to maneuver in the parking lot, which was also coated in ice. The girls could not even drive home since their roads were also ice covered. With the bad weather there were not many guests, so we had the hotel almost to ourselves.

We only stayed the weekend, but the beds were comfortable and this hotel is conveniently located to access both the KY Artisan Center and Old Town.

The breakfast is just OK .... not served on china which is disappointing. Styrofoam is sooo unhealthy, especially if used in a microwave. The food offered was fresh and appealing though.

Room Tip: 3 floors with elevator... no room noise as is located far enough off the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
21 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.3 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
12 mi away
Red Roof Inn Richmond, KY
Red Roof Inn Richmond, KY
#6 of 14 in Richmond
338 reviews
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 14 in Richmond
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea

Address: 330 Walnut Creek Drive, Berea, KY 40403 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Berea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $60 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Exit 77 off on I-75, Red Roof Inn & Suites - Berea offers a wide range of rooms for both leisure and corporate travelers that include flat screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. You will enjoy coffee and tea in the lobby as well as a complimentary hot breakfast offered daily from 6am–9am. Relax in our indoor heated pool open daily 6am – midnight . All hotel guestrooms offer a variety of amenities including hairdryers, and in-room coffee. We also offer deluxe 2-room suites containing a separate living area that includes a sofa-bed, microwave and mini-refrigerator. Roll away beds and cribs are available by request. Our pet-friendly property allows one well-behaved family pet per room. Many restaurants as well as local attractions are just a short drive from the hotel including the Kentucky Artisan Center, Berea College, The Old Town Fudge Factory, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond Centre Mall, and the Hummel Planetarium, as well as several industrial parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Berea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Berea
Country Inn & Suites Berea Hotel Berea
Country Inn Berea
Berea Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing