We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good service”

Boone Tavern Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Boone Tavern Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 100 Main Street N.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Would have been a great meal with wine! I had a chef special mussel and shrimp stew which was excellent. The spoon bread served as a house speciality is an acquired taste!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barangabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    175
    78
    28
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining room, okay food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the breakfast was just okay. Our coffee and hot tea weren't hot, but we did receive improved beverages upon request. Our server, a local student, was very nice and sweet, but perhaps a bit new at the job.

Despite the light crowd, it took quite a while for us to be served, which was a challenge with our young, active kids. I'd probably give the restaurant another try, perhaps it was just an off-morning.

Very pleasant surroundings, but it's hushed atmosphere is not the best choice for young families.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChessCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent food selection and service. We returned for breakfast and then dessert for lunch the next day. We look forward to next time. Student wait staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about the school and the town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy45322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,326 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 583 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, wonderful ambience, excellent value”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I’m giving this place high praise, but with some reluctance. The historic Boone Tavern’s Bowling Dining Room (aka “Boone Tavern Restaurant”) is one of those really special restaurants that you don’t want to see publicized too loudly and widely lest it become too popular, with resultant crowding and price increases. The ambience of the place is terrific, the service is great and the food is delicious. My wife and I are willing to pay a bit extra for a meal here because we highly value these benefits and hold the historic quality and genteel character of the place in very high regard.

Eligibility to dine here is not restricted to Boone Tavern overnight guests, so anyone who has the time and inclination can drive a few miles off I-75 to the Berea College campus. Don’t be in a hurry; you’ll want to linger and enjoy this restaurant, the hotel itself, and if you have the time, the Berea College campus. Reservations are needed if you want to dine at the busiest times, but we didn’t need one when we stopped for lunch on a recent Thursday. Our server, Rachel, was wonderfully attentive and friendly. So was the young man who brought us two helpings of the establishment’s signature spoon bread to enjoy (yum!) while we waited for our tuna melt and pulled pork sandwiches. I paid $22.93 plus tax and tip for this memorable repast, and count that excellent value. We’ll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had been looking very forward to our meal at Boone Tavern. We were very disappointed. The restaurant was not busy. We were seated by the hostess relatively promptly. We however did not see our server until we had been seated for about 10 minutes. The salads were very good. The spoon bread was outstanding, as always. The rest of the brunch was just not good. Nothing had any taste to it, no seasoning. If you had your eyes closed you would not have been able to tell the difference between the omelet, gravy and mashed potatoes. Seriously, absolutely no flavor. The fried chicken had no flavor. It was a very disappointing meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank durham9185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone Tavern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boone Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing