We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Smallish Craft Facility With Some Nice Crafts in the Kentucky Region-Not Great.”

Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Long Branch, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Smallish Craft Facility With Some Nice Crafts in the Kentucky Region-Not Great.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The Kentucky Artisan Center. It's free!! Well it advertises itself as what appears to be a very large center filled with crafts of the region, but it's not large at all. It's about the size of four or five little stores in a mall, with a cafeteria restaurant to get a meal.

I drove 25 minutes from Lexington because I thought this was going to be a huge Artisan Center. I was disappointed. Maybe at other times of the year there are more artisans there, but the crafts I saw were only so so. Nothing particularly great and not enough to spend an afternoon at. Which was what I was hoping for. There are some nice things; cards, jewelry, paintings, quilts, sculptures, toys, soap, packaged foods, but, again, nothing that really impressed me. If you are driving to get somewhere and Berea is on your way, sure stop, have lunch, although don't get it at the Cafeteria at the Artisan Center. Yuck. Go elsewhere. My tuna fish sandwich was the worst I've ever eaten. It tasted sour. I don't know what I expected.

I'm not really going to recommend this place, I think there are better more interesting sights in Kentucky.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank micheletauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    85
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“World class crafts in a superb setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Handcrafted items of all kinds, from glassware to linens, jewelry to fabric art, are thoughtfully displayed in a well-designed and light-filled space. There is absolutely no sense of shopping in a run-of-the-mill "gift shop"; a visit here is more like wandering through a museum full of treasures that are, happily, for sale at very reasonable prices. I have visited several "folk art" centers; this one is head and shoulders above the rest. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
994 reviews
588 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,021 helpful votes
“Interesting array of Creations all in One Place”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wide array of creations (photos, jewelry, books, crafts, sculpture, baskets, plus more) all in one place with an emphasis on local artisans. High quality. Priced fairly. Helpful staff. Interesting objects.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Kentucky Crafts”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kentucky made arts and crafts a beautiful place... Must visit... My 11 year old granddaughter loved it...We will visit again. Something for everyone. Located right off I-75...Easy to find.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Work by some of the most talented artists in the world”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It's almost overwhelming to see so much art under one roof! No matter what interests you, you will find it here: jewelry, pottery, fiber art, food, books, music, toys. I always look forward to stopping here, because I always find gifts for hard-to-buy-for friends and family. Bonuses here: nice restrooms, a cafe for a snack or light lunch and a huge travel information area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susanw452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea also viewed

 

Been to Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing