We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berea
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were traveling home from Tybee Island GA and stopped in Berea Ky for the night. We saw the motel sign from the road and decided to stop and check availability and rates. The AARP rate was very reasonable and the lobby looked very clean. The room was clean and larger than we expected. The lady at the front desk was very nice and told us where we could find several restaurants that were close. Will stay at this motel again if traveling that way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

i paid for a supposedly "upgraded suite". When I walked in the room it was very musty, and smelled of smoke.

When I complained to front desk, they sort of half acknowledged and then gave me another room. Another hotel employee told me the next day that this room is where the staff go to smoke on break or after work.

So they put me in a different room which was not particularly clean. The bed cover and blanket were both stained with bodily fluids, carpet was dingy, about what I would expect from a $35 a night room, but I dont like paying 90 or so for poor quality. I travel for a living and usually stay at Hilton brands - hampton or Homewood. I am a choice member but I dont stay with your company very often. Now you know why. This property was a very poor representation of the brand.

Room Tip: go Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blissboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Fortunately, we still offer designated smoking rooms for guests who request them. We only have a few smoking rooms per room type, of which stay occupied on a regular basis.

It is always our pleasure to accommodate guests’ needs what ever the situation or circumstance. We would have welcomed the opportunity to inspect your room & bedding and address your concerns upon discovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a last-minute reservation due to a mix-up on a business trip; they were able to accommodate six of us and we were grateful. The rooms were clean and neat, and the hotel was very quiet although almost sold out. Desk staff were not the friendliest group but I have had worse. The drink machine was out of order upon our arrival and still out of order two days later. No place within walking distance to get a cold soda. Breakfast fare was average and a little stale but lots of good fruit available. Hotel exterior under renovation and a little disconcerting to have people directly out your room window working on the exterior.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us to the level that we usually expect!!

The renovation construction is, fortunately, a temporary happening and will be much to the benefit of guests staying with us in the future. In regards to other guest concerns, we always welcome any comments and requests so we can accommodate you on the spot. We're always ready to do whatever we can to make your stay more pleasant!

I do hope you'll visit us again to see that any problems you experienced are certainly not the norm!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three days to attend a local college graduation. The room was large and very clean. Beds were super comfortable. The hotel staff members were very pleasant and helpful. Location of the hotel is easily accessible to restaurants and shopping. Would highly recommend this hotel for a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am having to use a cane for mobility. They made sure that I was on the first floor and near a door that was accessible. Thank you, Staff. The rooms were large and comfortable. There is a pool and breakfast, though I didn't partake so I can't say how good either was, though they looked good. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYTravelingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The rooms may not have been non smoking for that long as their is still the hint of cigarette smoke about the whole hotel. The room was large and so was the bathroom, all very clean. The bed was comfortable with clean linen. Breakfast was adequate and the hotel is right next to i75, but could not hear any traffic noise.

As an aside, does this place have something to do with the USSR.?
1 Lavrentiy Pavlovich Beria was henchman under Stalin and went on to become head of the KGB.
2 Didn't Nikita Khrushchev threaten the USA in the early 1960's saying "We will Berea" ? Sorry, couldn't resist that one!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zappafan5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hahaha!! Enjoyable read!! I regret to inform you that, this time, the customer is NOT right. I had to google my own town and wikipedia has informed me that we are actually named by our local college's founder after a town in the Bible. Good guess though!

I do want to apologize for the smokey smell. That's not pleasant and it is certainly not the norm. We do have a few smoking rooms on the third floor so I'm thinking someone may have taken a walk around the building after having a cigarette? There are actually plans in the works to jump on the bandwagon and become a smoke-free environment within the next year so I don't anticipate this being a problem for much longer.

So very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with your accommodations! We look forward to a future visit from such a learned guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Based on prior reviews we were worried. But they had vacancies so we took a suite for our dog & us. Spacious, clean tho not fancy. Had all we needed particularly a comfy bed. Wide variety of breakfast choices, very pleasant staff. Berea is a beautiful old town, close by.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Madisonfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We work hard to maintain very clean facilities and I'm pleased you all and your travel companion were able to reap the benefit.

Berea really is a very nice town. If you haven't done so before I hope you'll take advantage of some of our local flavor. We've got a plethora of shops of the antique, craft, and art variety.

The Artisan Center is a popular place to visit. It's got very interesting and lovely local art set up gallery style - though it is a shop as well. It's even got a cafeteria that serves breakfast and lunch.

If you're interested in history then head to the Berea College visitors center and have a tour. Our college has an especially unique background. We even have some shops that combine local art with the college in that students hand-make a lot of the inventory!

We do look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Berea
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
565 reviews
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berea

Address: 219 Paint Lick Rd, Berea, KY 40403-8078 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range: $114 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh and modern hotel with an excellent staff. We will meet the needs of business travelers, families, and everyone in between! We are located in Berea, Ky., the home of Berea College. The college and town both have a rich history and there are plenty of ways to entertain yourself in this beautiful town. There are antique and craft shops aplenty and tours of the campus are available as well. We're about 15 minutes from Eastern Kentucky University to the north and Renfro Valley Entertainment Center to the south which features live country music shows. Our desk clerks are available 24 hours a day everyday and can help you out with anything you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Berea
Comfort Inn Berea
Berea Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing