We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“large room and clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berea
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“large room and clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff at check in were efficient and friendly. We were surprised at how much room there was in our room and the bathroom. There was an upholstered chair, large flat screen tv, microwave, and refrigerator in our king-size bed room. A decent breakfast was provided in the morning ( cereal, fruit, rolls, oatmeal, waffles).

Room Tip: We were on the side by the highway, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear HoosierNancy,
I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel! Our staff members are very dedicated to their jobs here and work very hard to make sure each guest is comfortable and satisfied with their stay. Our rooms are indeed large and are very spacious. When I travel, I look for clean and spacious rooms as well as a friendly staff to greet me and take care of me and my family. I truly believe that our hotel has these characteristics and much more to offer. Our complimentary breakfast is a plus also with many of our guests. We offer a variety of food choices that pleases all ages. Next time you visit Berea, you should visit some of the local craft stores and artist workshops. It is such a treat to see artists at work in their shops and seeing beautiful Kentucky-made crafts. The local restaurants are also a plus, not to mention the breathtaking scenery. Thank you so much again for your compliments about our hotel and we look forward to accommodating your lodging needs again should you come back to visit Berea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    61
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
63
56
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were traveling through the area and stopped for 1 night. It was clean and in a safe location right off I-75. The staff was friendly and helpful. We went into town and ate at the Historic Boone Tavern Restaurant. It was casual eligance dining. The best thing was the service by the local Berea College students that work 15 hours a week to off set their college tuition. Driving around the college and the small town was interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy30263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Jimmy30263,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here at our hotel! Many of our guests love the fact that our hotel is right off of Interstate 75, which makes it very easy to spot. Our staff here at the hotel are very dedicated to their jobs and committed to bringing a 100 percent satisfaction guarantee to all our guests that come through Berea. I am glad you were able to eat at Boone Tavern, one of our local restaurants. They have a wonderful selection of food choices and it can be also a romantic restaurant as well. When I travel, I love to try different local restaurants instead of sticking with a chain restaurant. Next time you come to Berea, be sure to visit some of the craft shops near the college as well as visit the Kentucky Artisan Center. All of the crafts are made by Kentucky artists; some even live in Berea. Thank you again for your excellent comments about our hotel and we look forward to accommodating your lodging needs again in the future if your travel plans bring you back to Berea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 4 or 5 times now and have always had a positive experience. It is neat, clean and spacious. It is very convenient to the college and the staff is always friendly. There is always plenty of breakfast choices available but it is a bit blah like most hotel breakfasts. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Wendy J,
Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our hotel! Our staff members are committed to making sure every guest is satisfied with their guest experience from the time they clock in to the time they clock out. I am happy you found our rooms neat, clean, and spacious! As a traveler myself, I am always looking for a room with lots of space and that is super clean as well as having that fresh clean smell when you first walk into a room. Our hotel always tries to provide a variety of breakfast items that pleases our guests. We appreciate your business and compliments. We look forward seeing you again soon when your travels bring you back to our beautiful town of Berea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater,Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice clean place to stay,king suites are huge and very nice! whirlpool tubs could be a little larger,hard time fitting it it.Staff very friendly.Dry Town,so if you are looking for a bar or restaurant with alcohol close by ,look elsewhere.

Room Tip: King Suites are huge.Had 13 family members stop by to visit and had plenty of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear BlackCatLady,
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel! Our staff always strives to bring good, quality service to our guests. The king suites are very spacious where you have extra room...its one of the qualities I like about a hotel room. The whirlpool most generally fits up to two people comfortably. When it comes to Berea being a dry town, you can bring your own drinks to the hotel to enjoy in your room. If you are coming from the North, Richmond would be a great stopping point or if your coming from the south, London would be a good stopping point. Even though Berea is a dry town, the town is filled with so many beautiful places to see and attractions that can not be missed. Plus the wonderful local restaurants are a plus! Again than you for rating our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again if your travel plans bring you back to Berea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed one night and were pleased with our stay. Our room had 2 queen beds with a sofa in a sitting area. The room was clean and had easy access from I-75 which is a plus. we didn't get a chance to try the breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

A friend & I just returned from an overnight in Berea, KY. The Comfort Inn was conveniently located right off I-75 & easy to access. The accommodations were very nice - we had a fairly large room with 2 queen sized beds & also a small sofa & work desk & chair. The room & bathroom were clean, & although our room was right across from the elevator, it was very quiet. Breakfast was included in our room rate, & it was a typical hotel breakfast. I liked that hard boiled eggs & fresh apples, oranges & bananas were available (for those of us on low-carb, gluten free diets).
My friend is a swimmer & she used the indoor pool twice over our stay. Both times (in the evening around 9 p.m. & in the morning around 7:30 a.m.) the pool was not crowded & she had plenty of room to swim laps. Everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel was very friendly, from the front desk staff to the maids. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here just one night on our way to Gatlinburg, TN. I was very impressed with the overall room size and the fact that our regular room had a mini-fridge (which was helpful in keeping our food cold that we brought from home for vacation.) The location is also great being that it is just off the exit.
The breakfast in the morning was better than your average hot hotel breakfast; complete with bagels, toast, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, grits, oatmeal, omelets, sausage, and make your own waffles.

Room Tip: Our room faced the highway so there was a little more noise than some people would want but I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEW5245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 9 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
12.9 mi away
National Heritage Inn and Suites
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 13 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berea

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berea
Address: 219 Paint Lick Road, Berea, KY 40403 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites. Same location; same owners; same amazing service! The entire facility has been renovated, from the floor to the ceiling, inside and out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Berea
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Berea
Berea Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing