We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berea
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Okay place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Saw a coupon in the hotel discount book and decided to give this place a try. Ended up not needing the coupon, the rate the girl gave me when I walked in was the same as the coupon. Nice girl at check in, although she didn't tell me about the breakfast or hours of it. Room was nice. Pool water was cold and I was really disappointed they did not have a hot tub! Guy in front of me checking in had to ask for pool towels. 2 hours later we were going in the pool and the towel bin was still empty.
Breakfast was just okay. Whatever waffle mix they use for their machine is nasty! Both the blueberry and the regular flavors. None of us liked it! Really wish these hotels would consider using REAL silverware for breakfast. Kind of hard cutting things when the fork and knife are bending. ;)
Slept good, room was clean although for the bathtubs, housekeeping needs to go a little higher in the shower and clean the hairs off the walls. Gross. Other than that, it is an okay place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruznthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    61
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
63
56
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a very confortable quiet stay. The property is about what you would expect from a Comfort Inn. Clean, comfortanle, quiet and a mundane breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times while visiting Berea College. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The location is quiet and the rooms are clean. I have sent a detailed review to hotel management. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Berea, KY. Thank you Kala!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Academics17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business, I was there for 5 nights. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The hotel has an indoor pool and a gym, quite a few Choice properties have work out rooms with a treadmill and bike this one even had a weight lifting machine. overall experience was good, comfortable bed and quite air conditioner work in a hotels favor for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Florida. The motel was very nice. Breakfast was excellent, both hot and cold foods. There is an indoor pool and the staff were very friendly. The Cracker Barrel on the opposite side of the 1-75 seemed the only decent choice for supper. This motel is in a dry county so if you are counting on cracking open a cold one, you had better purchase something on the way as it is a 15 minute drive down the highway to the nearest outlet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

First off, unless a hotel advertises themself as "5 star" I never rate that high. That said, I wanted to rate this hotel higher than 3 but somehow cannot. Maybe it was because I didn't sleep well - but others in my party did. This was the second Comfort Inn chain hotel we stayed in on this trip, and I had a similar experience with both. We had two rooms, and the heat/air conditioner in my room was loud. I am sensitive to night noise, so would have preferred a quieter unit. Plus, the placement of the air unit right under the window blew the curtains up, and we had to mess with them a bit to stay closed. The bed wasn't necessarily uncomfortable, but not new. Whatever they use to clean the room with had a very strong smell, to both my husband and I. Clean is good but not if you can't stand the lingering scent. We had a pet, and the hotel maintains a special area just for pets, which was one of the nice pluses. The interior corridors did not prove much of an issue with transferring baggage or taking our pet in and out, but don't forget your key! There is an indoor pool, which looked very inviting but we didn't use, but saw others enjoying. The breakfast was very nice, with egg products, sausage and make-yourself waffles. Overall, the staff was very nice - the lady maintaining the breakfast buffet VERY nice (we tipped her!), quietly going about her job but making sure everything was constantly clean. The location is right off I-75, but road noise wasn't too much of a problem (although, I could see that with heavy traffic it might be a little more noticable). Again, I wanted to like this hotel better, but we paid more than we usually might have preferred, so I guess I expected a little more.

Room Tip: The indoor pool is on the first floor, which could be good or bad for you. With pets, we always req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTwoCent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Traveler Tip: We offer 10% discounts for AAA/CAA, AARP, Senior Citizens, and Choice Privileges members. We offer a discount rate for active/retired military and government workers (with valid id). Also, when checking in ask if the “Manager’s Special” is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The room was dirty. The walls appear to have a mud or poop smear. The edges of the carpet and tile in the bathroom are dirty in a wall that comes from long term neglect. There was considerable mold around the soap dishes in the shower. The room smelled and the walls were so thin you could hear the next room. The bathroom light had a ballast that was so loud I couldn't leave it on for the children. In the morning the cigarette smoke smell was overwhelming from other rooms.
It was not worth $80. Stay some where else.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisamotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BereaComfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berea, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We take pride in offering our guest with a clean and comfortable stay.
Our customer's opinion is important and customer feed back helps us improve the quality of our service.

I attempted to confirm this traveler’s stay at the Berea Comfort Inn & Suites and have the opportunity to further discuss the details of their stay.

Currently, I have not received a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 9 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
12.9 mi away
National Heritage Inn and Suites
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 13 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berea

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berea
Address: 219 Paint Lick Road, Berea, KY 40403 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites. Same location; same owners; same amazing service! The entire facility has been renovated, from the floor to the ceiling, inside and out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Berea
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Berea
Berea Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing