We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Hill and Top of the Line”
Review of Pinnacle View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinnacle View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Berea B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top of the Hill and Top of the Line”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Pinnacle View and couldn't have been more pleased. Here's what makes this place so great: 1. a spectacular view of the pinnacle peaks surrounding Berea; 2. terrific country breakfasts, which can be ordered from the menu or made to order from your own preferences (we asked for grits and sausage gravy [instead of red-eye] to accompany the eggs & biscuits and were obliged in spades); 3. layout of the Inn was grandiose, with its high ceiling (renaissance palace-like) and interior open space--most likely the most beautiful home in Berea; 4. comfy bed and firm mattress; 5. a chance to chat with Ira Bates, the innkeeper and owner, who is knowledgeable beyond measure of Berea (he went to Berea College) and surrounding area (ask him for directions to Anglin Falls), and who knows the history of Kentucky backwards and forwards (be prepared to swap tales or Ira is sure to outtalk y'all).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank palmiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    12
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We are another couple who had never experienced a bed and breackfast. From all my calls to the inn to request information, to checkout, we experienced nothing but the best treatment we've have ever had while traveling. The inn is clean, open, friendly, accomodating, comfortable, contemporaty, and country all at once. The personalized treatment of guests is a breath of fresh air. The breakfast is cooked exactly to order and is more than plentiful. Enough can't be said about Dr Bates, a true gentleman. We hope to return and spend more time in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful B and B outside of Berea, KY is a great place to rest and recharge your inner batteries. Surpassed only by the incredible made to order breakfast, the rooms are roomy and well appointed. The inn keeper will inspire you with his tales of travel and experiences.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TN_PaulNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was our first stay in a B&B and i must say we just loved it.Our room was spacious and well maintained, spacious bath room , clean n tidy.What we liked the most was the location of this B&B. Good for an early morning walk specially with those 2 cute little dogs. They were so friendly and though i'm scared of dogs but these 2 were so sweet n friendly and they followed us like body guards. Loved the scenery around and the fresh air and the view of the mountains, its just breath taking...its nice to have a break from ur normal busy lifestyle. And the food was awesome and yummy.:-) Ira was so nice and friendly and we had good conversations during our brunch time..we just stayed for a day and seriously we miss this place.I recommend for people who wanna take a break from everything and stay here with the beautiful nature around it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReniBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

spent a lovely night at the Pinnacle View Inn! Fall colors were still showing, the innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was awesome--held me till past dinner!! The rooms (we had 2--fam of 4 traveling together) were lovely and comfortable. Very charming! Enjoyed sharing brk with another couple & the innkeeper! Looking forward to another visit!!

Room Tip: all 4 rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickibradfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a get away near our home in Berea and settled on Pinnacle View Inn. We were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by Ira and shown around the common areas and our room. There was a little mix up on the room, but he figured that out quickly and had everything taken care before we realized what had happened.

Breakfast the next morning was very filling and made to order. It was very interesting talking while he sat in a rocker nearing the dining room table, ready to take care of our needs and sharing a wealth of information.

Our room was comfortable, great bed and down comforter, spacious and plenty of room in the bathroom. The only draw back for us was the plug in air freshener, but we just unplugged it and plugged in back in before leaving. I am overly sensitive to that sort of thing.

We sat on the front porch enjoying the sunsets, stars & company of another couple that was there for both nights as well. I highly recommend the Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed two nights while visiting Berea in Sept. Always read reviews before booking to get a feel for any establishment where we may be staying. We have stayed at B&B's in different parts of the world and can say this one is amoung the top . The house is amazing with great accommodations and a beautiful view from the front porch. Great for relaxing in the morning before breakfast and at night with the moonlight. Ira ,the owner, is a good conversationlist and well versed on many subjects. Ira and Gina made fantastic breakfasts usually enough to last most of the day and you pick the time and menu. Can highly recommend staying here in the country a short drive from Berea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkb952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
5.3 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
528 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
506 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Berea
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle View Inn

Property: Pinnacle View Inn
Address: 491 Log Cabin Rd, Berea, KY 40403-9628
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a romantic bed and breakfast with a breath-taking panoramic view, offering the finest of accommodations. Our contemporary Inn overlooks the Red Lick Valley and is nestled in the knob country surrounding Berea, Kentucky. The Inn features a large south facing front porch with a beautiful vista of East Pinnacle and Pilot Knob, a scene familiar to all Berea College alumni who have hiked the Pinnacles. Our location combines the small-town charm of Berea - the folk art capital of Kentucky - with ready accessibility to outdoor activities and the mountains, and the convenience of a short drive to downtown Lexington and the horse country of the Bluegrass. Spectacular views and intimate accommodations at the Pinnacle View Inn await you. Enjoy personal attention and exceptional hospitality in this extraordinary environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pinnacle View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing