We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inside and out.”
Review of Pinnacle View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinnacle View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Berea B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inside and out.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was the best place I have ever stayed while traveling. Very personalized experience. Our room was very cozy and beautiful. The bed provided the best sleep I have ever had away from home.Top of the line sheets and mattress. Words cannot express how much I Love this place. Mr.Bates and Gina made us feel so welcome and were very personable. Loved views inside as well as outside. Mr. Bates has a beautiful array of art he has collected over time and the home is amazing. I could sit on that porch all day! I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    12
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This B&B is a great getaway place. Ira is an amazing man who is in his "sweet spot" as the innkeeper. They have made to order breakfasts, you pick the time. They go out of their way to accomodate us as we are Vegans. The Inn sits in the knobs with beautiful views of the mountains. And of course the town of Berea is just a few minutes away.

  • Liked — Ira, the innkeeper
  • Disliked — mattress wasn't the best
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

On Saturday August 9, 2013, I spent one night at the Pinnacle View Inn with a friend. I will start with what I normally end with – I would stay there again. The trip was just a one night getaway.

I had never stayed at a B&B but my friend encouraged me to try something new so like most men I agreed to keep her happy. I went to the Trip Advisor website and decided on Pinnacle View Inn based on the reviews.

I was not disappointed. We had a great time. The place was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a huge tub that my friend took full advantage. The shower was very large and had two shower heads. There were plenty of towels and they were very soft. The counter space in the bathroom is a little tight. I would have been nice to have a hook for the towel at the shower and a small table to place my shaving kit. The shower and tub are about ten feet apart.

The Inn was very quiet because it is about two miles off the main road and in a very rural area. I would strongly recommend arriving before dark. We didn’t get to the Inn until almost midnight and struggled to find the roads. The GPS was spot on but the roads are narrow and dark.

There was a TV in the room with Dish TV. There were plenty of candles in the bathroom that did get some use. We could have used some more outlets to plug in all the cell phones and iPads. A power strip would have been nice near the nightstand next to the bed. When I travel I use my cell phone as an alarm clock so I need to be able to plug it in and have it next to the bed.

Breakfast was great. When we arrived at the Inn the owner gave us a quick overview about what he was offering for breakfast. I thought the list was extensive and provide plenty of choice. Since we were the only people staying at the Inn we were able to pick the time for breakfast. We selected 10:30 a.m. We ended up getting up earlier and while we waited for breakfast we sat on the front porch enjoying the morning. The owner brought us coffee and some breakfast bread with jam. It was very tasty.

The common areas were also nice. The owner is a very nice man that went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable.

Our original plan was to arrive at the Inn at 4:00 p.m. but because of a variety of issues we did not arrive until midnight. I stayed in touch with the owner via email and phone to keep him updated of our arrival time because it changed about four times. He was always very flexible and was waiting on the front porch when we finally arrived. At one point the owner even called my cell phone to make sure I was not having any trouble finding the place which I was because the roads were so dark.

If you are going to arrive late eat dinner first because there is nothing around the Inn. Berea and Richmond are at least 6 or 7 miles away.

The Inn is about 7 miles from Berea. It is a very quick drive.

We left the Inn between 12:30 and 1:00 p.m. Sunday morning.

Our entire experience was very good and I would recommend the Pinnacle View Inn.

Room Tip: Arrive before dark and if you arrive late eat dinner in Berea or Richmond before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife & I spent two nights here in July in conjunction with a concert at Renfro Valley and the celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary. Although past experience has shown me that reviews on Tripadvisor are quite "on the mark", I was amazed at how many outstanding reviews Pinnacle View Inn has received. After our two nights there I understand why! There is really nothing I can add that has not already been said, so I am just adding my name to the list of outstanding reviews. I had to try really, really hard to find anything at all that could be improved upon and there is one thing, but it probably only applies to us, not other folks. We never "travel light", so spacing the chairs out a little on that great front porch would make it a little easier for us "heavy travelers" to get to the front door with two suitcases, our own pillows (allergies), and my wife's sleep machine. We have stayed at many B&B's all over the U.S. over the past ten years and Pinnacle View surpasses all of them by a mile! (Plus, I grew up on narrow 2-lane dirt, gravel, and hardtop roads in VA, and, frankly, I loved driving on the roads getting to/from Pinnacle Inn)!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennoc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having traveled in 49 states and accomodations in all of them, it is with great pleasure that I met Ira at the Inn. A history lesson in a relaxed environment was thoroughly enjoyed. I believe anyone would be impressed with your host, chef and innkeeper. Do not think you are lost getting there it is worth the view. GPS was working fine and ride was well worth it. I would travel many miles out of my way to enjoy the breakfast again and wish I had more days to spend with the menu. Greatest fruit cup ever!! Thanks again. Henry Forester, Dover, De.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Ky
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I spent two enjoyable days at the Pinnacle View Inn. The house is very interesting and the room was quite comfortable, especially the bed. The high points were having what you wanted for breakfast and having breakfast when you wanted it. My wife is avoiding gluten and Ira did a great job of accommodating that with good tasting gluten-free options. We spent several delightful hours each day on the front porch which has a serenity all its own. Just sitting in the rockers and looking at the view from the front porch really topped off our days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you want a perfect breakfast where you give input on exactly what you eat this is the place! Accommodations are good. Breakfast was great with perfect omeletes the first day and perfect homemade bisquits and sausage gravy the second day. Would stay again for the food!!!

Room Tip: Ask for special bedding if you need to be feather free. Off the beaten path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
5.3 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
533 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Berea
9 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle View Inn

Property: Pinnacle View Inn
Address: 491 Log Cabin Rd, Berea, KY 40403-9628
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a romantic bed and breakfast with a breath-taking panoramic view, offering the finest of accommodations. Our contemporary Inn overlooks the Red Lick Valley and is nestled in the knob country surrounding Berea, Kentucky. The Inn features a large south facing front porch with a beautiful vista of East Pinnacle and Pilot Knob, a scene familiar to all Berea College alumni who have hiked the Pinnacles. Our location combines the small-town charm of Berea - the folk art capital of Kentucky - with ready accessibility to outdoor activities and the mountains, and the convenience of a short drive to downtown Lexington and the horse country of the Bluegrass. Spectacular views and intimate accommodations at the Pinnacle View Inn await you. Enjoy personal attention and exceptional hospitality in this extraordinary environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pinnacle View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing