We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinnacle View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinnacle View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Berea B&B and Inns
Berea, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Bottom line: STAY AWAY!

My partner and I booked this Inn for the night before and the night of our wedding. When we arrived late on Friday we found that the bed in the room was seriously uncomfortable, akin to sleeping on the ground. We ended up going home in tears in the middle of the night in order to be able to get some rest!

We returned in the morning and told the owner that we would stay for breakfast that day, but we wouldn't be returning that evening, and would call to resolve the issue the next week. Breakfast had been scheduled for 10am. We were seated in a dining room and made to WAIT FOR OVER AN HOUR for the food to be ready.

During that time we were in full view of the kitchen, and we saw a woman we hadn't seen before walk into the room in a pajama shirt, holding a cigarette, and without washing her hands she started working on our food. The proprietor began to argue with her in hushed tones, telling her she was sick and shouldn't be cooking. We were made to witness them fighting for at least 15 minutes. At one point he leaned in close to her and whispered loud enough for us to hear "It's my birthday, just do what I want for once! NO RESISTANCE! NO RESISTANCE!" deeply uncomfortable, we excused ourselves to wait outside.

When I called to resolve the issue, I was told that we had caused the problem by not being "B&B people," and that they did not owe us anything. I asked repeatedly for a refund for the unused night, detailing all the issues we had, and was verbally abused and yelled at by Ira. When I told him that I was receiving terrible service, and had while we were at the Inn as well, he agreed! And STILL REFUSED TO REFUND OUR MONEY! When I said I'd be posting our experience on review sites he offered us $100 in exchange for our silence! When I refused, he asked me to have my MOM CALL AND TALK TO HIM! I am almost 30 years old. Deeply offended, I hung up the phone. Everything about this was totally unprofessional and awful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bnj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    11
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plain City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed there last weekend (06/02/2012).. Fine accomodations, breakfast was more than we expected and the company of the owner was great. Will stay again..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pinnacle View Inn on May 26. The inn is situated on top of a lovely hill overlooking the bucolic farms and meadows on the outskirts of Berea. We were both impressed with the attention to detail that the proprietor, Dr. Ira Bates, gave to every aspect of our stay. We especially enjoyed playing with the seven outdoor cats (not allowed indoors). These are the friendliest, most affectionate cats we had ever met, and they really made our stay as enjoyable as any stay we've ever had in a bed and breakfast. Food was outstanding, and the green accommodations were five-star quality. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent the nights of 18 and 19 May 2012 with Ira Bates the consummate proprietor of this fascinating B&B. Our room at the Pinnacle exceeded our expectations and the bathroom was spectacular. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable. The Pinnacle is a work of love with virtually every feature designed by Ira personally. Breakfasts were delicious and as sophisticated as a guest chose. One of the most enjoyable aspects of our Pinnacle stay was conversation with Ira an accomplished raconteur and local historian. After returning from dinner each evening a different and intriguing dessert was prepared by Ira to top off our day. I learned in town that these evening desserts are a signature feature of the Pinnacle.

Room Tip: Any room is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronwmsbarnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our first trip to a bed and breakfast and boy does Ira set the standards high for any other B&B I may ever stay at. From the first moment we walked through the door we were consumed in the peaceful environment that is Pinnacle View. From the 4 star breakfasts, outstanding evening desserts, clean,cozy rooms and the outstanding views; we could not have found someplace better than Pinnacle View to enjoy our two days in Berea. Since we had never been to Berea Ira was wonderful in pointing us in the right direction when we wanted to eat or visit some of the local potters, his hospitality is next to none. It was a much needed getaway and we could not have asked for anything else other than just a few more days of sitting on the front porch taking in the beauty that surrounded us. We definitely will be back to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

On a return trip from Tennessee to Michigan, I spent one night at this airy, light-filled, spacious B&B. It is a delight, from the responsible approach to green building to the heavenly beds. The views are long and peaceful, the host, Ira, is welcoming and engaging, and the food is outstanding. There is ample space to relax both inside and out. Gardens, nearby woods, and bird feeders add to the ambiance. I was more than pleased, and I look forward to sharing this treasure with my husband on our next trip south.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After making a 10+ hour drive north, we needed a place to relax and experience on our way home. We found The Pinnacle View Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are pristine and had everything you could wish for. Ira (the owner) was the best host we've ever had. He was very knowledgeable and accommodating. He asks what your interests are and always had good recommendations. He also goes out of his way to ensure that you have the perfect breakfast. I loved the tour of the house. It was great to see how well he planned the house to limit the energy consumption.
Bottom Line: We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
5.3 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
509 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
479 reviews
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle View Inn

Property: Pinnacle View Inn
Address: 491 Log Cabin Rd, Berea, KY 40403-9628
Location: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a romantic bed and breakfast with a breath-taking panoramic view, offering the finest of accommodations. Our contemporary Inn overlooks the Red Lick Valley and is nestled in the knob country surrounding Berea, Kentucky. The Inn features a large south facing front porch with a beautiful vista of East Pinnacle and Pilot Knob, a scene familiar to all Berea College alumni who have hiked the Pinnacles. Our location combines the small-town charm of Berea - the folk art capital of Kentucky - with ready accessibility to outdoor activities and the mountains, and the convenience of a short drive to downtown Lexington and the horse country of the Bluegrass. Spectacular views and intimate accommodations at the Pinnacle View Inn await you. Enjoy personal attention and exceptional hospitality in this extraordinary environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Pinnacle View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing