We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season-not so good”
Review of Big Bear Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Benton
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed at Big bear in early Oct in 2008 and 2009. I rented their bass fishing boat in 2008, which was in ill repair when it left the dock and proceeded to strand us out on the lake by 1PM, but they still wanted the full days rental fee for it. Although the rooms we stayed in were clean and modern, they were so understaffed that our request of moving to a smaller, lower price room which was vacant later in the week last year was denied because "they had no cleaning staff to get it ready for new clients"- we left. Maybe in season they are better staffed and their boats are better cared for, but BEWARE a late-year visit!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank ChicagoJohn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

Our family stayed at Big Bear Resort this August and it has all the amendities of home. We rented a Tree Top condo , which was lovely and very clean. All the staff are very friendly and courteous . My grandson left his favorite hat and they were kind enough to mail it to us . Talk about going the extra mile for good service. My family would highly recommend Big Bear Resort to anyone looking for a nice time on Kentucky Lake .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicol_1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Had a 3 bedroom townhouse, was not overly fance but had everything we needed. Needed some repair and paint, not to mention an exterminator for all the bugs. Oh and a few light bulbs since half of them were burned out. Other than that rooms were large and had plenty of room. No wifi!!! Beach was nice for swimming. Rented a ski boat while we were there. Nice boat but staff was not very knowledgable about the operations of the boat or even about the lake. Staff just seemed like they would rather be somewhere else, and were not very accommodating. I won't rent a boat there again guaranteed. The quite time from 11pm - 7am yeah right... The people in the cabin next to us partied time the early morning hours. Overall we had a good time, but a lot of little things, mostly customer service made the trip stressful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbleichr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

just spent a week there with the family. it was almost like there main focus was the resort part with the condos and cottage rentals. the campgroud was on the back burner. the sites could use a little tlc. the staff was very pleasant and tried to help us out in any way, butt the campsites needed a little cleaning up. and the rock pads for the campers (those that actually had them and not just grass) needed to be leveled out a little. lots of big bumpy spots. lots of piles of junk lying around also. also needs to be mowed and weeded alot.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The employees and owners are very rude. They do not have hospitality like their brochure says. We rented a boat and took it out for the whole day. When we got it onto the water we opened up the canopy and realized it was taped and it was broken in some spots so once we started going fast it would unhook itself and flap in the wind, almost hitting us. Also, there were holes in the seats and screws underneath, one of us got our hand cut open. We also rented a tube and knee board. When we went back to return the boat we thought we'd be nice and tell them what we found out was wrong with the boat. They tried blaming us for tearing up the boat and were not going to return our $250 deposit fee to us. And the knee board was wore out and the rubber was coming up. It was like that when we got it. You could tell someone had tore it up before because it had been glued with two different types of glue before. So they tried blaming us for that too, and were not going to return our $50 deposit fee for that. We talked to the owners the next day and they were rude, they didn't want to return our money. But after we told them that their boat had torn open one of our passengers hands then they gladly gave us our money. They will do anything to try to take your money! Also, we went out to eat on our 2nd nights stay and when we came back at 9:30 at night our keys to our townhouse wouldn't work, we were locked out of our house! We called the emergency number and they gave us new keys. We went back to our townhouse to try our new keys and they would not work again! Finally they had to come and let us in using their own keys. It was a great inconvience especially at that time at night. Next time we want to go to Kentucky Lake we are definitely going to The Moors or Turtle Bay. We stopped by The Moors on our way out and their marina is 3 times the size of Big Bear's. And there is a resturant and big gift store. We definitely recommend not going to Big Bear! Place is nice but service sucks! (And that'll ruin your evening fast!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KarlieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Big Bear Resort was beautiful! Definately an Oasis. My family took our terminally ill father and we enjoyed our stay there. The staff was absolutely nice and respectful. Very knowledgable to our needs. I felt as if I lived there. There are many things to see and go to enjoy yourselves. I reccomend the Kentucky Shores for the teenagers. Actually even the adults! My husband and I plan to return someday for our own little getaway! It was absolutely WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My dad and I with a friend booked reservations at the camp ground the last min and they sqeezed us in, very nice and helpfull. The site they gave us at first would not work with our large deisel motor home so we got the site right next to it with no hassle. We were in awe that the awning pretty much went out to the water so we could fish right out of our lawn chairs pretty much, and pulled the boat right up to the site.

When we got there we could not launch the boat with the large motor home so the owner lady came right down in her suv and launched the boat for us at there marina, Very nice lady and pleasent conversation. She drove around and showed the place to us. They were a phone call away and were there to help at the drop of a stick whenever we called. Upon checkout they were there with a tractor to pull the boat out and up to the motor home.

Ya the staff there could probably smile a little more but they were still helpfull and did what they could when we needed them, but the owner lady was smiles all the time.

And they do let pets in now and was nice to find out since we brought ours and did'nt now they did not allow them before. Our OL large chow had the time of her life laying out by the water all week relaxing, She had been sick for some time and passed two days after we got home so we remember that now as Heidi's trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
7.9 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
382 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
10.5 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
9.4 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#2 of 2 in Aurora
30 reviews
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Calvert City
Days Inn Calvert City
#2 of 2 in Calvert City
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Resort

Address: 30 Big Bear Resort Rd, Benton, KY 42025-5814
Location: United States > Kentucky > Benton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Benton
Price Range: $65 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a BIG time at Big Bear Resort on beautiful Kentucky Lake! Welcome to historic Big Bear Resort in wonderful western Kentucky. Join fishermen and families from the past 65 years that have found their way to one of the biggest man-made lakes in the world. We'll put you in the middle of all the wonderful ways you can make your vacation, fishing trip, or family reunion a memory you'll look back on for a lifetime. Many have discovered the wonder of Big Bear Resort on Kentucky Lake since 1948 when Big Bear became one of the first resorts on this majestic man-made lake. Rick Meier and Janet Caldemeyer, the third generation of gracious hosts at Big Bear, carry on the family tradition of welcoming friends and fishermen to this very special spot for fun and relaxation. We're glad you're here! We hope you stay awhile! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Benton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing