We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellevue
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was nice. We reserved a queen suite room for 3 adults and 1 child. The room was non-smoking but for some reason the hallway was so smelly with cigarette smoke for the whole stay. Everytime our room door was open, it brought in the very strong smell of cigarettes. Also, the elevator and main floor had a strong PineSol smell. Very strong. Weird experience.

Overall the hotel was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. I didn't eat the breakfast but it had waffles (make your own) and a hot food bar (limited).

They also have an indoor heated pool where they provide the towels. It was empty and nice.

The hotel is down the street from the Newport on the Levee and right next to the bridge to go to Cincinnati. Very nice location to go to the Newport Aquarium - not walking distance (unless you like to walk several blocks).

Room Tip: 3rd floor hallway was filled with cigarette smell. The largest room they offer is the Double Queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaR428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
81
43
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We specifically chose this hotel since it was near the All American Ballpark and we were going to an afternoon Red's game. Since the game was a 12:30 pm game, the hotel let us park in their free parking lot while we went to the game. Very nice. There is a shuttle that picks up right across the street and goes to the ballpark and other places around Cincinnati. We had plenty of time, so we walked to the Levee and then across the Purple Peoples Bridge. It was a nice walk. The hotel was clean, the breakfast good, and the pool was Freezing. We did have a problem with the WIFI. My Kindle Fire would only log in down in the lobby and my husband's IPAD never did log in...they had a 10 step direction sheet for the IPAD to log in...ridiculous. They also could have left open the breakfast room for people to sit in as the lobby was small. We would return as the location was great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I booked this room thru CincinnatiUSA.com with the promise of half off Reds baseball tickets and since I was planning that getaway, it sounded like a great deal. You have to book the room first through Cincy.USA website and they give you a code to put in for the baseball tickets so once you book the room there is no going back. When you go on the Reds website and look for tickets, it looks like plenty of good seats are available until you put the code in and over half of them disappear leaving nosebleed and bleacher seats. Holiday Inn is not at fault for this but just be warned if this is your intent. Our first impression was good as we entered the lobby and one poor clerk was checking in a long line of people all arriving at the same time. She remained calm and was fast, efficient and friendly. When I booked this room through a 3rd party I was not given the option of a non-smoking room but I've stayed in smoking rooms before with no problem. When we exited the elevator on the 3rd floor, we noticed an unidentifiable overpowering "sour" odor. When we entered our room on the 3rd floor, we were hit with another powerful odor of years and years of stale smoke. Once your nose gets used to the smell, it seems to subside but everytime we entered the 3rd floor hallway or our room, we were met with these horrible odors. As far as the room itself, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I left a note for the maid when our hair dryer did not work and I had a new one that day so they were very accommodating. The breakfast was okay as far as hotel breakfast goes -- my husband is the sausage gravy judge and he said it was very good. The shuttle service was just across the street and took us to the ballpark for the game and back and forth to Newport where we enjoyed all the entertainment at Newport on the Levee and Goetta Fest. I don't know what the odor was like on the second floor but if you book here, request not to be placed on the 3rd floor - our clothing reeked when we got home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotels location is great. We were there for a Reds game and caught a shuttle bus from the hotel straight to the ballpark for $1 -- that's a pretty nice perk if you're coming in for the game.

Things I wished for: the lobby is way too small; made it seem stuffy and crowded on arrival, with nowhere to go to spillover. It also was very hot and muggy in the lobby. It was clean enough, I guess, but certainly not sparkling, and that includes in the rooms.

The biggest issue (we all agreed) was the lukewarm shower water. None of the 3 of us could get it hot, which made for a less-than-pleasant shower.

The cleaning staff hung out outside our room complaining about having to be at work so early since "ain't none of these people leaving til they have to."

Finally, the front desk couldn't recommend any good breakfast place! She suggested Frisch's, and when I said we were looking for something a little nicer suggested Bob Evans. When I said "anything that's not a chain?" she said she could not think of anything. I know that's not a big deal but I expect to be able to get some assistance regarding local places.

I will say the elevator moves quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefromkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was shocked to find out that our room costs 242.00 with a AAA discount. I have stayed at just as nice hotels for the a third of that price. It was a horrible feeling to not have anywhere to go with my mother and young son that was cheaper. The room was clean and nice but nothing worth 242. I recommend looking around and trying to find something more affordable. No matter what your profession is I think that this is a ridiculous price.

Besides the price. There were women out front of the building from 6 pm to 1 in the morning. They were pretty girls but it seemed odd to me.

There is a lot of nightlife down at the levee so people were slamming door coming in all hours of the night. Kind of hard to sleep

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Vi S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and I regret you were not fully satisfied with the rate you paid. Although your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booneville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

By son and I stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Bellevue on Friday July 20, 21, and 22 for the Reds Games. Everything was fine except on the second night we had been out of our hotel from 10:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. that night. Within five minutes of returning to our room we received a phone call on the hotel phone. A gentlemen by the name of "James" stated that he was with the hotel and their computer system was down and he needed to get some information from me over the phone. I told him that I would just come down to the front desk. He assured me that I didn't have to go to that trouble--but I was not about to give any information out over the phone. I went to the front desk and the lady said that their computer system was working fine and she did not know of any James that worked there. She did say that someone had called and asked for my room number and she put them through. This concerned me since I was a female traveling alone with my young son--that someone might have been watching us. The front desk did not seemed concerned over this matter. I even checked the next day to see if anyone else in the hotel hd complained about any calls--and they sid no and that they had given the manager a note about my experience. The manager never bothered to talk to me about this and when I checked out it was not mentioned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Verly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Verly123,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Bellevue and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I would like to thank you for letting us know of the issue you had experienced. The information you shared with us will help us determine the necessary measure to prevent this from happening to other guest in our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesfield, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here one night in a suite room. Room was clean and very big. Breakfast was good. The staff was super nice and helpful. Only complaint was that the pool was too cold :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snlengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Newport
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati
Address: 110 Landmark Dr, Bellevue, KY 41073-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bellevue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellevue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Hotel is the newest addition to Newport on the Levee. If you're looking for a place to stay outside of Cincinnati, come to the Holiday Inn Express Bellevue - Newport on the Levee. Our Bellevue, Kentucky hotel offers such amenities as an indoor pool, a complimentary hot breakfast bar and a 24-hour business center for your convenience, along with a well-equipped fitness center. Free high-speed Internet access is also available throughout the hotel. Located just three blocks from Newport on the Levee, this Holiday Inn Express Hotel near Cincinnati offers you convenient access to the Newport Aquarium and the Levee itself. You can go shopping, see a movie or check out one of the many restaurants on the Levee. Also nearby is BB Riverboats, which offers a variety of different cruises on the Ohio River. From these riverboats, you can see the Cincinnati skyline while enjoying good food and music. For sports fans, you can enjoy a nearby Cincinnati Reds baseball game or a Cincinnati Bengals football game. The Holiday Inn Express Bellevue is right across the river from downtown Cincinnati, and our hotel is minutes from businesses such as Ashland Oil, Arthur Andersen and Cincinnati Bell. The Northern Kentucky Convention Center is also just three miles away from our hotel in Bellevue. Come stay with us and see what our special hotel in northern Kentucky has to offer you. Book your reservations today for our great Bellevue hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cincinnati Se Newport
Bellevue Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing