We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled Crab, Awful Service, and Cold Food”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Spoiled Crab, Awful Service, and Cold Food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Wow. A trifecta of a bad experience. What has happened to quality-driven, customer-oriented, service-focused restaurants? Well, Joe's Crab Shack hit the bottom of the scale...

So, our table was dirty. A glass was chipped. The wait for the main course food was close to 45 minutes. The 'hot pot' contained crab legs that smelled and tasted of pure ammonia. Then the server really did not know how to handle the situation - duh.... take it away, apologize, and get the manager. Ultimately that did happen.

Of course, the manager asked if we wanted to have another try at the same dish?? Well, that took a nano-second to decide - NO! Then they were going to 'comp' the replacement meal - duh - you think??

OK. So, I had to ask them to adjust the bill. Candidly, what a terrible experience. They should have simply comp'ed us our whole check - which included an order of mussels. It really would not have busted their daily receipts.

Instead, the did everything they should not have done - tried to charge the customer for the supposedly comp'ed meal, and made us suffer through twice the incredibly long wait for the food to be prepared.

What a classic nightmare. No, we did NOT enjoy our dining experience. No, we did NOT enjoy our food. No, we did NOT enjoy the service. No, we definitely do recommend this place to anyone. What a waste of all those hours and the money. I am still amazed that I had to pay any part of that bill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    40
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen,Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good seafood, good view”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped in here for lunch. We were staying at the Comfort inn and it's right behind the hotel. They have boil buckets to chose from and we shared one, There is plenty for 2 and sitting outside gave us a wonderful view of the Ohio river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank goshencooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Go There!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The food was average...(overall) at best! The crablegs might have been OK but do not get the garluc sauce. It was disgusting and could not gwt waitresses attention to replace with drawn butter. Then she carried it around while talking to people instead of bringing it to the table. By that time the crablegs were cold. The mashed potatoes had been sitting in oven way too long and were like rubber (it was only 1:00 pm.) crab balls were si fishy they could not be eaten. They dud remive from bill, but
was still $93 & was disgusting!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBerry_Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
1 review
“This place has gone down hill fast !”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We use to love this place. But the last 2 times we went the service is bad and food not prepared right. We went on a Sunday around 2. after being seated it took 15 min. for a waiter to even acknowledge us. Got east coast platter, the crab stuffed shrimp. the crab was wasn't even on the shrimp it was floating in butter and the shrimp was rubber, The fish was maybe a half of a fillet. the only thing cooked right was the fries. Come on Joes get your S=:+T together !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My daughter had just graduated college this past Saturday, 5/17. Her wish was to go to Joe's Crab Shack on the Ohio River. We parked several blocks away, arriving at 5:00 (there was to be a Red's baseball game to start at 7:10) and were told it would be a 45 mintute wait before we could be seated. We sat at the bar (party of 4) and ordered drinks, waiting atleast 20 minutes for first service. No prices on the drink menu - we were shocked when the first drink bill was for $8 to $9 a drink! We were told we could keep the glass - what a stupid idea! As we ordered the same drinks, I had a Hawaiian Marguarita, the seond drink was not made like the first(yes, I had two of them). The second drink was light on the liquor and now had garnishes as the first one did not - no uniformity in any of our drinks. In the midst of our second drink, we were notified our table was ready. Our server greeted us and saw that we had just ordered drinks and requested we be allowed some time to determine what we wanted to eat. My daughter and I got up to use the restroom. While we were gone, the men in our party decided to use the restroom as well, telling our server that we were all away. Upon arriving back at our table, the busser already cleared off our BRAND NEW EXPENSIVE DRINKS! After 10 minutes of looking we found our server to explain our situation. Approximately 30 mintues went by and new drinks were served. Unfortunately, they were not OUR drinks. We waited another 20 minutes to get the new drinks, ordering our food while we waited. When the food arrived, it was cold, we had no papertowel roll on our table, we fetched our own silverware. We asked for condiments repeatedly. I understood the establishment was busy, but the ball game had started and the place had cleared out. I looked for the manager, Sam, but she was not where to be found. After my daughter got sick in the bathroom on the way out, we decided we would never return. If that wasn't the kick in the pants, someone dinged my brand new car in the parking garage.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing