We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Experience a "life well-lived" by taking a few...”
other travelers have booked this property
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch
Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Dappled morning light
View from the loft.
Cozy fire
Pet Friendly- No Charge
twin beds with egyptian cotton bedding- get ready for a good nights sleep
Enjoy a good book  or read about the General and his wife
Even cooking becomes a pleasure overlooking woodland views
dreamy days
stocked pond with woodland views
Sun dappled kitchen in the afternoon
picnic by the pond
watch a good movie and tuck in by our second fireplace
Lovely kitchen
Take a peek into the cabin
tree lined drive to the cabin nestled in the woods
Sunny dappled window
Main Bathroom with tiled shower/tub as well as washer/dryer.
Handmade cabinets with double granite sinks in master bathroom
A good read in the master bathroom?
Wall of windows from the outside looking in.
Bathroom with step in shower off second bathroom with twin beds
Relax in comfort on our sectional sofa around a cozy fire.
A peek into the second bedroom with 2 built in twin beds
Sun dappled trees in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beattyville, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
millersco...
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience a "life well-lived" by taking a few steps in General Little's shoes.”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you've ever wondered what it would be like to live in relative seclusion, without traffic lights, noise...people, for that matter, you owe it to yourself to book the General's Cabin. It's an inspired structure on a beautiful piece of land. While you're there you'll immediately appreciate that a country boy came home to live out his days with his beautiful bride; he built a home, not a vacation cottage. History buffs will, and should, read the short biography stationed at the desk in the main room. As one of my buddies said about half way through, "Wow, this guy was the real deal." You might book The General's Cabin with the idea that you'll have a great place to stay while you're exploring the nearby Red River Gorge; on the other hand, you might conclude that you can hike any time and you'd rather stay at the cabin to fully absorb its charm. I enthusiastically recommend it as a perennial destination.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurhowla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We fell in love with The Generals Cabin the moment we opened the handmade walnut doors and walked inside. It's everything you dream of when you think about a rustic, cozy cabin but with all the comforts of home. Soft sheets, fully stocked kitchen, toiletries, endless amounts of literature and a fireplace.

We stayed for a extra long weekend over Christmas, spending our days in the Daniel Boone National Forest exploring and our evenings hanging around the fireplace enjoying each other's company. The big kitchen table was perfect for great meals with our family and the view in the kitchen area reminds you how lovely it is to be surrounded by nature!

We explored down by the pond and around the land on the paths, our Yellow Lab was in heaven as well! He was a fan of taking long naps under the table and by the fireplace after long walks!

The Generals Cabin was everything we expected and more! To find such a lovely spot to spend our holiday that also allowed dogs (with no additional fee) is hard to find these days.

As a bonus, Joy and Michael were so easy to work with as we made the booking and so flexible through our whole experience.

One of our favorite parts of The Generals Cabin is the history and the life of General Little. Such a great story; it reminds us all how important our roots, family and stories are. We enjoyed learning more about the history of the Red River Gorge and surrounding areas throughout our stay as well.

The Generals Cabin is a slice of heaven that we were ever so humbled to be able to enjoy!

We will be back!

Thank you for sharing such a special place!

Lauren, Duke and our four legged son!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return. Thanks for taking your time to review our Little " slice of heaven."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebelKat1...
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovers of the timber❤️”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Heaven on earth!! Everything you could possibly want here! Rustic and elegant all at the same time. So many things included down to shampoo, charcoal and coffee! We just came back from a night stroll after a rain shower!
If you have ever wanted to rent a cabin and get away from it all.... This is the place!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdeopere
Bardstown, Kentucky
1 review
“Fantastic Get away from it ALL!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We absolutely love the generals Cabin, as it's now become an annual summer trip for our family. Our 8,6 and 5 year olds look forward to it every year. Both years we've been, we've stocked up on food and never left the cabin. From fishing on the private pond, to enjoying the amenities that the rustic but modern cabin provides, it's the perfect combination of nature vs. modern convenience. The only critique I could offer, would be a larger grill... I love to grill steaks and it's a little small for that...but that's being nitpicky...overall we absolutely love our stay and will be back.
-The Deoperes -

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backpacke...
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Absolutely perfect spot”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

You will NOT be disappointed with this cabin! The privacy, seclusion, and proximity to Daniel Boone National Forest make it the ideal spot for a quiet and nature filled getaway. The beautiful decor and warm hospitality of our hosts made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. The cabin is fully stocked with anything you could need or want and the surrounding pond, hiking trails, and night sky views are unmatched for this area. Would recommend the General's Cabin to anyone!

Date of stay: February 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: seclusion, privacy, cozy decor
Liked least: A jetted tub or jaccuzzi would have put this place over the top, but we hardly missed it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A truly magical place”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Simply put, I'm in love. My husband and I visited The General's Cabin for our wedding anniversary and we just loved it. It was beautiful, well-appointed, comfy, and inviting. The owners went out of their way to leave flowers and champagne to celebrate our anniversary (and my birthday, which is the same week!). They also called on our first night to make sure that all was okay and to walk me through the fireplace ignition switch (and answer any questions we might have). We walked the trails on the property, which were terrific, (our dog LOVED it there), visited the pond, and gazed upon the stars at night, which were easy to see in the country. I would love to title my review, "Terrible, don't stay here!" so I can keep this place as our own personal secret getaway, but that wouldn't be nice! When I posted photos of our trip on Facebook we had an overwhelming response of positive responses about how gorgeous the cabin was, etc. We are already planning on returning next year for our anniversary and hope to make it an annual trip.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin itself was so unique and so beautiful and so clean
Liked least: The winding country roads leading to the cabin were a bit dicey at times for this nervous passenger
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmmet...
New Albany, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Everything was as agreed. Cabin is wonderful. Property is wonderful. Owners are a pleasure to work with. Recommended for a quiet get away.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing