We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing place-we can't wait to return”
other travelers have booked this property
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch
Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Dappled morning light
View from the loft.
Cozy fire
Pet Friendly- No Charge
twin beds with egyptian cotton bedding- get ready for a good nights sleep
Enjoy a good book  or read about the General and his wife
Even cooking becomes a pleasure overlooking woodland views
dreamy days
stocked pond with woodland views
Sun dappled kitchen in the afternoon
picnic by the pond
watch a good movie and tuck in by our second fireplace
Lovely kitchen
Take a peek into the cabin
tree lined drive to the cabin nestled in the woods
Sunny dappled window
Main Bathroom with tiled shower/tub as well as washer/dryer.
Handmade cabinets with double granite sinks in master bathroom
A good read in the master bathroom?
Wall of windows from the outside looking in.
Bathroom with step in shower off second bathroom with twin beds
Relax in comfort on our sectional sofa around a cozy fire.
A peek into the second bedroom with 2 built in twin beds
Sun dappled trees in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beattyville, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ekcgm
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
“An amazing place-we can't wait to return”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We loved every part of our stay in the General's Cabin. The cabin itself is beautifully crafted, and the private woods surrounding it are so peaceful. The Masseys thought of everything that made our stay comfortable and memorable. The beds and linens are luxurious; the kitchen was well-stocked; the stone fireplace was warm and inviting and all we had to do was light a match to enjoy it. We loved reading the family's history and browsing through the library. One afternoon we simply sat by the pond in Adirondack chairs and read for hours. We came for the hiking in the Gorge, but we found it hard to leave this amazing cabin to even go hiking. We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amymusic
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to relax and enjoy the outdoors in peace and quiet!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabin for four days. We had planned to go hiking at the Gorge and do some sightseeing there most of the trip. But after one night at the cabin we ended up spending 3 of the four days staying there fishing, hiking on the property, cooking and just relaxing! It is truly a perfect setting if you like nature and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. There is no wifi, so I was forced to actually relax and leave work at home. The fishing pond was stoked with bass, bluegill, and crappie etc. We caught some of the biggest bluegill I have ever seen and made a wonderful dinner of them! The cabin is so so so so charming. The furniture and decorations are so eclectic and perfect. I am a design freak, and this place felt "rustic" while being super luxurious at the same time. Very artsy and unique. There were books EVERYWHERE in the cabin as well as loads of dvds (we never turned the tv on though) and wonderful new magazines. Everything you could need in the way of dishes/pots and pans etc as well as condiments and flour / sugar. Great beds and linens etc. Super clean. There was a Bach cd playing when we arrived to welcome us and set the mood for relaxation. We also hired two massage therapists to come to the cabin and give us a couples' massage which was amazing! Joy (cabin owner) can give you their info.... So worth it!

All in all we had a lovely time and plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion of the setting and charm of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville VA
Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TN
Reviewed March 26, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
louisville
Reviewed January 22, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lexington KY
Reviewed January 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KY
Reviewed April 24, 2011 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing