We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the PIT!”
Review of Downtown SuperInn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Downtown SuperInn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
bedford indiana
1 review
“It was the PIT!”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Dried food and black, brown, white debris beween mattress and headboad. No mattress pad. Bad odor in room and rotten customer service. Did not stay.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flags52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    4
    11
    51
See reviews for
17
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
missouri
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

1. Dirty....Found old shoe under bed.
2. Dirty... Could see old hair comb, hair and filth around base board.
3. Odor... Our no-smoking room had horrible smoke odor.
4. Odor... Musty smell with mold on walls.
5. Noisy... Our sleep disturb by manager or staff.
6. Our bathroom door didn't lock.
7. Our entrance door had a quarter inch crack around three sides. We used a chair against door knob for added security.
This motel is ready for reconstruction.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missouri48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bardstown hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

yep, that sums it up. dreadful. our nonsmoking room reeked of... tobacco smoke. they locked us out of the room. bugs. NOISY ac.

good location, though... but they should tear this place down and build something new.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFinicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

The only positive was the mattress was comfortable and it was a quiet property which allowed the bugs on the bathroom floor to rest awhile. The pool did clear up the cloudiness which let us see the dirt settled on the bottom. The hot tub was half full of water and leaves. Mold on the walls caused headaches and even though the pillows were new, it took two days to get pillowcases on them. Great location for visiting the town but poorly run and smelled like urine.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty and poor management
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dawnski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

This was by far, the worst hotel experience I/we have ever had! We checked in at 4:00p and upon entering our room there were two maintenance issues immediately noted. I called the front desk to let them know, not that we wanted them fixed but to be sure we weren't charged for the damages. The young lady offered to move us but I told her that wasn't necessary.

I called back to ask to speak to the manager, to let him also know. He wasn't in and I was told to call back at 8:30p. I did, but he wasn't in yet so she said he would call when he arrived. He called about 15 minutes later in a very antagonistic mood.

He said that he would have to either move us or that we would have to come to the office to sign a paper that we were happy with the room. I told him we were in jammies and in bed and would not be moving, no need for that. He said it was the corporate policy and that we'd have to move or sign a statement. I told him no and hung up. He called back and my husband answered, telling him NO we weren't moving and no we weren't going to sign anything. The manager then told him that we'd have to leave the hotel and move to another hotel. Hubby told him we were ready for bed and weren't going anywhere . . . and hung up.

Next thing we knew, the manager was knocking on our door. Hubby told him "GO AWAY" and did not answer the door. Never have we ever had such an experience and never would we suggest this cheap, lousy motel!

The other comments about a strange smell and poor maintenance of the rooms were spot on. The room was clean and beds comfortable, but that's where the accolades must end. While I had read the reviews before booking here, I had hopes that maybe the bad experiences were isolated. Obviously not, this place is not only run down but the management is clueless about how to handle customer feedback.

p.s. The two maintenance issues were a busted toilet roll holder, with the parts sitting on the back of the tank . . . and a curtain rod that had been pulled out the wall once and halfway pulled out again with the curtain not afixed to the "puller" to close them.

  • Liked — Bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — Rude management & poor maintenance/upkeep of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russellville ky.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

This is the worst hotel my wife and I have ever stayed at. The rooms were dirty, and they had a odor to it. the lighting was terrible. We went to the pool and it had a film of mold around the edge of the pool. and the hot tub was not in service. After about 2 hours of being there we checked out of our room and stayed at a another hotel in Bardstown. for about the same price and much cleaner. I will not ever stay or will I ever recommend anyone to stay there. They refused to give a refund for my one night stay. Maybe they can take my money and put towards fixing the place up. Because the only thing nice about this hotel is the new Days Inn sign at the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al2001_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, KY
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2008

No one at front desk as they were outside cleaning the pool. The lobby which serves breakfast had a Raid can and a rug thrown to the corner of the room. The rooms were musty smelling and had bad lighting. The price was cheap and for this stay, I got what I paid for. Do not recommend. There are much nicer, cleaner hotels in Bardstown for that price.

  • Liked — Cheap price
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, Bug sprays displayed, few staff and those were extremely rude
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa3marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.8 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown SuperInn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown SuperInn

Property: Downtown SuperInn
Address: 523 N 3rd St, Bardstown, KY 40004-1631 (Formerly Days Inn Bardstown)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown SuperInn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Downtown SuperInn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing