We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews....”
Review of Downtown SuperInn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtown SuperInn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My family spent the night here on the way to a vacation in Texas. We found our room clean and the beds most comfortable. The landscaping was outstanding. The biggest problem with the room was the air conditioner. It was one that turns on and off to save power. Luckily, we brought a fan or we would have had trouble sleeping. The continental breakfast in the morning was somewhat sparse. We found the receptionists to be very helpful, both when we checked in at 9:30 P.M. and when we checked out the next morning. I also found the high-speed internet to be outstanding.

One problem....the motel is somewhat more off the Blue Grass Parkway that advertised, and the town of Bardstown is TERRIBLE for directions. Directions to the Blue Grass Parkway in the form of signs are not available until we got out of town. We did not lost, and two locals we asked directions for said getting lost was a frequent problem for out-of-towners.

Should we ever return, we have no problem returning. I did not check the reviews until the next night and was somewhat surprised at the negative reviews. Maybe the central office of Days Inn has read the local franchise the riot act, and things have been corrected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

A lot of bad reviews. It's not that bad but there is truth in how unclean this place is. Furniture and room amnenites are newer but completely unkept. Stains, scratches, and general wear & tear everywhere. Most places fix or at least cover up but not here. I would show sympathy for the owner due to the economy but it seems to be run by an Indian family and they all drive very new and nice bmw's. Easy to see they just don't put any money back into the place. For the price I can look past most but the reason I'll never stay again is that the towels are covered in stains, gross!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rplang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The Wi-Fi didn't work, some of the power outlets didn't work, the heater fan was noiy and blew the curtains open when it was on, the refrigerator was extremely noisy, two light bulbs were out. waffles from the waffle iron came out with uncooked liquid in the center, and there were lumps in the apple juice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Paine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel was anything but nice. The fitted sheets on the beds came undone in minutes. The plumbing made a mysterious squeal that I'm sure the other hotel guests enjoyed at 5:30 am. The towels were slightly less coarse than sandpaper. When we left the room to go play golf in 90 + degrees we came back only to discover the clueless cleaning staff had SHUT OFF OUR AIR CONDITIONING!!!!! The room was at least 100 degrees. I was scared to really investigate the cleanliness because of what I might find. The continental breakfast started at 7:30 a.m. Pretty much useless for those who have plans to leave town early or say play golf in the morning. Avoid this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl51000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

To classify this place as a dump does a disservice to dumps everywhere. From the run down exterior, to the filthy pool, to the crap everywhere around the building this place just screams "tear me down". We opened the door to our room, and after about a minute, walked out, closed the door, and checked out. Day's Inn needs to pull their flag of of this box like yesterday. There is a difference between "moderately priced" and "oh my god, tear this thing down". There is no price at which this place could be feasible. Do the world a favor, tear it down. Yikes!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This place was awful. When we first checked in the hotel completely reeked of smoke. The air conditioner was unplugged so the room was probably 100 degrees. There were cigarette burns in the bedding and leftover food left in the refrigerator. You could not pay me to stay another night in this place it was that disgusting. Definitely a waste of money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The room smelled musty and dirty. Black mold was growing on the bathroom walls. I had to step out of the room to get fresh (hot and humid) fresh air. Requested a different room - on the other side of the hotel. If you like mold and mildew - this is your place to stay... Eeeeewwwwwwww!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Best Western Shepherdsville
Best Western Shepherdsville
#2 of 8 in Shepherdsville
397 reviews
21.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Elizabethtown
Comfort Suites Elizabethtown
#2 of 18 in Elizabethtown
275 reviews
21.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 18 in Elizabethtown
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown SuperInn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown SuperInn

Address: 523 N 3rd St, Bardstown, KY 40004-1631 (Formerly Days Inn Bardstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range: $60 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown SuperInn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Downtown SuperInn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing