We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food BUT!”
Review of BJ's Steakhouse

BJ's Steakhouse
Ranked #14 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: BJ's Steakhouse has been a family owned establishment since 1984. Bought in 2001 from the late Harry Samuels, the Brady's have incorporated the communities' interests to create a memorable dining experience for persons of all ages. The newly renovated ten thousand square foot facility seats 296 people. Here at BJ's Steakhouse, we provide two dining areas, both equipped with a full bar and an energetic staff ready to fulfill your dining needs. The large party room makes for a wonderful luncheon, rehearsal dinner, or other event spot for an enjoyable gathering of the host's desires.BJ's Steakhouse, formerly known as BJ's Bar & Grill, has been recognized for having the best steaks by the Kentucky Standard's Best Steak Award of Nelson County. Also, our famous chili has been a two-time winner of a local chili cook off hosted in exciting Louisville. The large menu offered will be sure to please everyone's variety of meal preferences.Whether you are looking for a bar type atmosphere, a family oriented setting, or a relaxing meal on the patio, BJ's Steakhouse has something to offer for everyone! We can't wait to welcome you and spoil your taste buds at this local family favorite restaurant.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food BUT!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was wonderful here and was not over priced, we went at an off time so we could have a nice quite dinner. What we have found out (and this restaurant does this) they seem to want to seat everyone in the same room. So the rest of the restaurant can be empty and you are in the same room with 10 children, when are restaurants going to stop this. So know the food is food here, but they do make it convenient for the waiters not the guests.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJsSteakhouse, Public Relations Manager at BJ's Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to seating arrangements. We like to know your opinions to improve a better dining experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK on Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited BJ's with a group of about 8 people late on a Sunday afternoon. (They close at 8 p.m.) This establishment came highly recommended but I was very disappointed in the slow service. It took an exceptionally long time to get served once we placed our drink and food orders. And somehow the waitress (who was sweet and friendly) misunderstood my order and served the appetizer I had ordered for the group as part of my meal. The fried pickles were good though and the group enjoyed them; however they would have been better as an appetizer. The other members of the group seemed satisfied with their food, although no one seemed to be raving about it. I found the menu and the quality typical of the kind of fare you find at a bar & grill. Definitely not for vegetarians!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It isn't the best in Bardstown by any means, but it's a pretty decent stop. Very nice building and really clean. There is a bar inside as well if you just want a drink and appetizer. The food is pretty good, pretty much what you expect from a steak house. The service is just so-so but it isn't terrible by any means. Worth a try if your out and about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KYJoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have had great lunch sandwiches here as well as super steaks for dinner. The atmosphere can be a bit hectic sometimes, but service has always been quite good. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Wrong address”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We tried to go here, but 1008 Commerce Blvd is their OLD address, so we didn't end up eating there. The current restaurant at that address is the Bourbon City Bistro, which is very good and I will write a separate review for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJsSteakhouse, Public Relations Manager at BJ's Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Sorry for long delay, address is now correct. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing