We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bardstown Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of General Nelson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
General Nelson Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Brandenburg, United States
1 review
“Bardstown Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel was adequate as expected. Breakfast was wonderful bathroom was a little small. They gave us a discount because we blocked of ten rooms for a wedding. Overall I would grade them an A- if I would ever need to stay in the area again I would definately stay at the Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    156
    79
    25
    10
See reviews for
93
168
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The breakfast was very good. The eggs were fresh, the ham was flavorful and the biscuits were great. The room was as expected, clean with comfortable beds. The outside of the hotel was well decorated and the location was an easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Shocked this motel is a Best Western. Very run down, dirty, outside entrance door hard to open, pealing wallpaper, paperb thin filthy carpet, different blocks of white on ceiling. Staff very nice. Needs a total remodel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rthrbcruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Il, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here for a painting workshop-the first being about 4 years ago. The rooms look like they have been updated and all had frigs and microwaves. Very very comfortable and the bed was perfect. Everyone was great and made sure that everything was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney OH
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 1 night to check out the sights of Bardstown and go on the Bourbon Trail. Haven't stayed at a Best Western in awhile. The value was pretty good since you received a hot breakfast in the morning with a decent variety of items. Room seemed a bit dated but was clean. It seems to be in a safe part of town and we had a quiet room.

Our room had an odor to it as did the main lobby. Not sure what it was, just that we could definitely smell it upon arrival. Bed was decent and we could walk to downtown from the hotel.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoodwinked1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location is close to the restaurant area. It was quite comfortable. Breakfast was a cut above the rest as they had real eggs (hard boiled), good strong coffee, good bagels, fruit salad (canned peaches with grapes and strawberries) and the usual stuff. For a motel style place, it was good....clean, comforable, and helpful service people. We would stay there again if in town again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turquoiseConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The General Nelson Best Western motel has friendly staff with clean, comfortable rooms. It is located close to downtown and has nice outdoor space to relax. We have stayed there many times and have recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
#2 of 9 in Shepherdsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Nelson Inn

Property: General Nelson Inn
Address: 411 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1496 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Nelson Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Commonwealth, Bardstown is the site of My Old Kentucky Home - the state shrine and subject of composer Stephen Foster's legendary song. Stephen Foster-The Musical, one of the longest running outdoor musicals in the United States, plays each summer.These are only two of the dozens of attractions and festivals that make the Bardstown area a first-class tourist destination..When visiting Bardstown you'll want to call the Best Western General Nelson Inn home. Conveniently nestled between the knobs of central Kentucky, Bardstown is located 35 miles south of Louisville, about 16 miles off Highway I-65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your General Nelson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardstown
Bardstown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing