We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of General Nelson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Nelson Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My wife and I turned up without a reservation and the receptionist was very helpful in finding us a room at the rear away from the main road which passes the front of the motel. It really is an old-style motel where you can park right outside your room, which we found quite acceptable. I have twice had cause to write complaining about Best Western hotels in England, but there were no complaints about this one. While the room was not elaborate, it was clean and everything worked. Most important, it was quiet and we had a decent night's sleep. The continental breakfast met our needs and was just right for a European stomach unaccustomed to American breakfasts! Bardstown is a very attractive town, with plenty of places of interest in the town and surrounding area. We would certainly not hesitate to recommend the motel.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    159
    80
    25
    10
See reviews for
94
169
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WEST CHESTER, OHIO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay. Pleasantly surprised with the care and upkeep of this "seasoned" motel. My wife gets the "heebie-jeebies" at the very thought of staying in an older motel/hotel. Even if it is clean, she is creeped out by worn out and worn down facilities. The Best Western General Nelson was charming, immaculate, and obviously well loved by the owner/operators. The complimentary breakfast was well done and very satisfying. It's location puts it just a short walk from the center of the old town. This was a great place for a weekend getaway for couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookoutblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluegrass
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The young lady who checked me in was friendly and just a tad too talkative...I was really tired & just wanted to go to my room and rest. But, she gave me information about the area & gave me a map & showed me places of interest I might want to visit. I live in Ky., and am familiar with Bardstown, but even after I told her I was just traveling from the eastern part of the state to the western part & just needed to crash for the night...she continued to map out the nearby distilleries, which I told her I had no intention of visiting this trip. Oh well, she was nice & doing what I'm sure she had been told to do!
My husband and I were traveling with our little Maltese & it is always a challenge to find a "good" hotel that will accept pets. I thought this motel (motor lodge type where you park outside the door) was a little on the pricey side for its' type, but it is in a tourist region, so I suppose that is why it is a little more expensive than comparable Best Westerns I've stayed in.
The room with 2 queen beds was small, but clean. For me, it always comes down to cleanliness...I can overlook alot as long as it is clean. The bed was fairly comfortable...the bathroom was small, but outside the bathroom is a small area with a shelf (coffee pot) and an additional mirror, so that helped. In this area was also the place to store suitcases & hang clothes...quite roomy.
The continental breakfast was very plentiful, with pastries, cereals, fruit, sausage, eggs, biscuits & gravy. There was also a toast & bagel area...don't remember if they had a waffle maker. Several juices to choose from. The breakfast was really quite good & for a family, it would be very economical.
This property was nicely landscaped around back with benches and gliders to sit in. Unfortunately, as I walked my dog in the general area of the outside seating, I saw a used condom on the ground. Hopefully, it was found and disposed of!
Would I stay again? I absolutely would. It fit our purposes for the one night stay & if one were planning to stay a couple of nights to take in "My Old Kentucky Home" or visit the distilleries, it would be adequate if you plan to be out and about during the day & just be at the motel to sleep. Due to the small size of the rooms, you may feel a little cramped if you were to spend too much time in it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvaina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed one night at this motel in October 2010. The room and motel had several positive qualities
The motel was easy to find and had plenty of parking. Check-in and check-out were both perfect. The room was clean and without odors. The continental breakfast was outstanding as far as continental breakfasts go. Very large room and plenty of tables to accommodate all the guests. The usual fare, hot & cold beverages as well as cereals, with fresh fruits and fresh Belgium waffles, hard boiled eggs, but the biscuits and gravy were the best i have had in a long time. The staff did a great job in keeping the trays of food restocked and the area was kept very clean. The grounds were in perfect condition.
The rooms are somewhat dated, which is really standard in these older motels, but they were clean and well-maintained. and you could see the owners are working hard to keep it up. Besides, why would you want to tear up the carpeting and install new headboards so you could get better reviews, unless it is worn out and just not worth keeping up any longer? I especially liked parking right out side your door, which is something that you don't find much with these big new hotels. I dislike dragging suitcases thru a lobby into an elevator and down a long hallway. The pool area looked very nice although it was covered for the season. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. I booked this hotel for its convenient location to the Bourbon Trail.
We found Bardstown to be a great little place with plenty to do and see. Great restaurants and nice little shops. We would have stayed longer except that they were sold out for the next few days. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. This is an excellent motel for the price and staff was extremely helpful, If I can find something to complain about, the town circle on the main road is under construction and is a little slow. If that's all there is wrong, this is the place to stay in Bardstown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadams444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This motel is well situated for those wanting to explore Bardstown's attractive historical district. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms may show their age, but are clean and well-maintained, as are the surrounding grounds, and the modest rates include a nice breakfast. Just one complaint: our rear-facing room was free of traffic noise, but overlooked the pool; and so was subject to the noise of piped popular music and boisterous children until nearly 11:00 pm. (Fortunately, the loud ac just about managed to muffle it.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The rooms haven't been updated for awhile, but the room was clean and the rate was very reasonable. Nice little pool out in the back. Didn't swim but many people were. Very nice continental breakfast spread in the morning. Good mix of hot and cold foods. Staff was friendly. The grounds are very well kept.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I love older motels where you can park right outside your room/door. This fit the bill. Right in downtown Bardstown. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Every morning there were at least two people outside cleaning, sweeping, watering plants, dusting statues...etc. Free continental breakfast was typical. Rooms show their age, but that was OK (dim lighting, old TV, etc). Bed was very comfortable. One in our party had a room with stale smoke smell that was unpleasant, but he didn't feel like changing rooms. Definitely prefer a place like this more than a modern hotel near the freeway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsadingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
257 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
#2 of 9 in Shepherdsville
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Nelson Inn

Property: General Nelson Inn
Address: 411 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1496 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Nelson Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Commonwealth, Bardstown is the site of My Old Kentucky Home - the state shrine and subject of composer Stephen Foster's legendary song. Stephen Foster-The Musical, one of the longest running outdoor musicals in the United States, plays each summer.These are only two of the dozens of attractions and festivals that make the Bardstown area a first-class tourist destination..When visiting Bardstown you'll want to call the Best Western General Nelson Inn home. Conveniently nestled between the knobs of central Kentucky, Bardstown is located 35 miles south of Louisville, about 16 miles off Highway I-65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your General Nelson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardstown
Bardstown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing