We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bourbon Country.”
Review of Beautiful Dreamer

Beautiful Dreamer
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bardstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beautiful Dreamer
Ranked #7 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Situated near the site where Stephen Foster is thought to have written what would become Kentucky’s state song, Beautiful Dreamer is a real gem. A modern home built to exacting historical standards on the site originally owned by Foster’s relatives, it certainly fills the bill as a home. Perfectly outfitted in every way, with modern conveniences such as HD wide screen TV and wireless Internet, it provided us a comfortable respite before and after our trip into Louisville for the Derby. Near the attractions of Bourbon Country, blue grass, and the great horse farms of Kentucky, it was a great base of operations. Lynell and Dan must have thought we were undernourished, as they piled on a huge breakfast each morning, with different dishes all three mornings. They have an interesting story about getting into the B&B business, and take a personal interest in each guest. This is a first class place to stay, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Beautiful Dreamer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2010

My husband Joe and I first stayed at the Beautiful Dreamer in August of 2001 for our honeymoon. We loved it so much we have come back every year since then to spend our anniversary at the Beautiful Dreamer. We love the clean, spacious rooms; we love the breakfasts that Dan and Lynell fix; and we love Dan and Lynell for the wonderful hosts that they are. It is nothing for Lynell to have a freshly baked "treat" in your room when you check in. It is these personal touches that make this a 5 star bed and breakfast. We will continue to come each year for our anniversary, and we will continue to look forward to spending a little "heaven time" with Dan and Lynell!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Wonderful experience in this beautiful, well-maintained B&B. Had a nice size room with canopy bed and a flat screen TV. There was even a step-stool to help short people like my wife to get onto the high bed. The hosts were very friendly; the breakfast was plentiful and delicious, complete with homemade sausage patties. The restaurant down the block, Kurtz's, has great regional food. The "Old Kentucky Home" across the street is well worth touring.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garden4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

If you want an elegant atmosphere with great service coupled with a convenient location, do NOT miss the Beautiful Dreamer Bed and Breakfast in Bardstown, Kentucky. The owners, Lynelle and Dan are truly gracious hosts and do everything they can to see that your stay there is a memorable one.

Rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and immaculately clean, each having their own bathroom. We stayed in the Stephen Foster room on the first floor, but also were able to view the other three rooms that are part of this gorgeous B & B. Our room included two comfortable sitting chairs that faced a flatscreen TV and included a double-sink bathroom that had a two-person jacuzzi/shower.

Snacks were always available on th second floor and included various fruits, pretzels, chips, crackers, candy, pop, and bottled water. Homemade oatmeal cookies and candy awaited us in our room when we arrived.

The breakfast was all homemade by Lynelle and Dan and was served on beautiful china with candles on the table. The meal included homemade waffles, (with warm, homemade blueberry/blackberry syrup as well as maple and stawberry syrup) fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, homemade sausage, orange juice, and coffee. Our second day had a different menu, different table setting, and was also just as fabulous.

For those of you who might be pianists, their baby grand piano is there for guests to use and Lynelle has all kinds of music to chose from, so you don't even need to bring your own.

It was a wonderful experience and I would not hesitate to encourage anyone to choose the Beautiful Dreamer for their choice of lodging in Bardstown. it was well worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

After reading the reviews on the Beautiful Dreamer B & B, we booked a two night stay for our visit to Bardstown- We were not disappointed- The house was nicely arranged and decorated, fine parking, comfortable beds, kept immaculate, and large bathrooms (w/ plenty of hot water)- Hosts Dan and Lynell were very pleasant and accomodating- The breakfasts were the best I've had at any B & B (the only drawback, for us, was a strict 9 AM serving time- take this into consideration if you are early starters- we took walks or read on the beautiful porches)- No kids, pets, smoking was a definite plus- Very quiet/relaxing (only 4 units)- We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Stayed here for two nights off season. Was treated like royalty. The rooms are large, well appointed, the beds very comfortable, the jacuzzi in my room a gift from heaven. The ambience is upperclass Stephen Foster, and I liked it very much. Lynell, the proprietor, is an excellent cook. I was treated to the American equivalent of the full English breakfast, easily held me until midafternoon. The cost was proportionate to the quality—not cheap, but if you're in this price range, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank editorbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Of all the B&B's we have stayed at, this one is by far and away, the best. The owners are a retired couple who are the loveliest people you will ever meet. They go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable in their home. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable and extremely clean. Large deck that is nice to sit on in the evening and relax by watching cars go by and listening to the bells. Fridge upstairs full of pops and water and always freshly baked cookies out for enjoyment. Baby Grand piano in the parlor downstairs that is available for you to play. Parlor is also a nice place to just relax and read a book or magazine as there are plenty availble to choose from. Breakfast is absolutely outstanding! I promise you will not leave hungry; it is worth the price alone. Breakfast served family style around a large table where some very interesting conversations always end up taking place. This was our 4th stay here and are already talking about a 5th maybe this winter. Two words sum up this B&B... STAY HERE!!!!. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEDRGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 18 in Elizabethtown
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beautiful Dreamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beautiful Dreamer

Address: 440 E Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-2202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range: $99 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing