We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for a Saturday afternoon”

Heaven Hill Bourbon Heritage Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Bourbon Trail Tour to Jim Beam, Heaven Hill and Barton
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heaven Hill Distillery Bourbon Heritage Center is a 4-time Visitor Attraction of the Year winner. Enjoy the art of making whiskey on one of our tours, as our Bourbon hosts guide you through the history of Bourbon, introduce you to the Heaven Hill family, and lead you through an educational tasting of American Whiskey mashbills.
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun for a Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Awesome history lesson in the making of bourbon. This is a can't miss on the bourbon road tour. The tour was very educational and professionally run. Military are free which is nice and I am very appreciative of the respect and honor they show our veterans and Soldiers. Thanks team.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kellandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    193
    77
    26
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Glacier, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice tour but others are better”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Heaven Hill is Evan Williams, so if you've seen the Evan Williams Experience, then this tour and tasting is more of the same. The bourbon is very delicious - my husband and I bought a few bottles - but the tour is a bit lackluster and not as complete or interesting as some other distilleries in the region. Anyway, if you're around Bardstown for the Bourbon Trail, you might as well see Heaven Hill, too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MariaFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice Facility”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were completing the 8 distilleries on the Kentucky Bourbon Trail and needed to visit Heaven Hill (makers of Evan Williams) to get our passports stamped but decided to skip the tour because we knew we had to also visit the Evan Williams Experience in Louisville. This is a really nice facility with a great gift shop and informative history of bourbon making without taking the tour. Staff were really nice and had suggestions for getting something to eat in Bardstown as well. Heaven Hill was also on our way from Jim Beam to Louisville so it is on the way. We will probably come back to take the tour another time when we decide to make a weekend out of Bardstown.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of bourbon to begin with but this tour was fascinating. You start with a trolly ride of Bardstown for some local information then back to the center. There a friendly guide educates you all about the history and production of bourbon with a sampling at the end. Bardstown is a small town with not much to do but it was a great daytrip, we ended up eating dinner in Louisville and probably should have just spent the night there. Great time overall!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trialex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst Bourbon Tour We Have Taken.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

They do no make the bourbon here, but rather just store it and age it here. If it is under 32F, then you can not go into where they age it any way. They do have a fake distillery where they show you the process in the gift shop.

There was an interesting video of the history of the distillery, which was cool! But they don;t give you enough time to look at the museum there on the tour, you can go back, but by that time you have been there for almost 2 hours.

The trolly tour was very interesting to see downtown Bardstown. It made us want to go back and visit the town some more!

They also don't let you pick what you want to sample, but rather only give you the two tasting of some of their most popular bourbon. They did explain the differences and give it a bit more educational background on the tastings, which was nice. But I would have rather been able to pick what I wanted to drink than have them assume I wanted these two. They did give you really yummy bourbon ball chocolates at the end, which was delicious!

Over all, you get a lot of history, but nothing about the actual making of the bourbon and the lack of ability to choose what you taste make this the worst bourbon tour (still good, just not great).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicchic325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven Hill Bourbon Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Heaven Hill Bourbon Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing