We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Old Talbott Tavern

Old Talbott Tavern
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Bardstown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Historic Restaurant, Bar and Inn continuously in operation since 1779. Located in the heart of Bourbon Country. Proudly serving locally inspired food and drink. Try the best top shelf bourbons with our bourbon sampler. Dine in unique surroundings where the famous and infamous visited during their historic setting ventures.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A friend and I stopped in at the Bourbon Bar on a Wednesday night during happy hour in the middle of April. It was our first stop in historic Bardstown. We just had beverages at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and knowledgeable of area history (not just Tavern's history) and bourbon distilleries. There were only 5 people in the bar but everyone was very friendly and sharing stories.

We liked the atmosphere and would've come back later in night but they closed at 9 pm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    349
    204
    65
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We tried eating there several times through our short stay in Bardstown, but we finally were able to eat for lunch right before departing. The place looked very nice. But we didn't know where to go upon entering. After a few minutes of walking around and standing we saw the hostess. They only had three waitresses and both dining rooms were full. The hostess told us we could wait or eat at the bar. The three people behind us she say at the bench and told them it would be a few minutes. We went to the bar. The waitress was not welcoming. It took over fifteen minutes to get a basket of bread...which turned out to be cold dry biscuits one of which was under cooked. The water had a bad taste so we switched to Sierra mist which tasted like seltzer. She finally gave us silver wear right before the meal came out. We both had burgers and fries. The buns were barely toasted, the burgers were good but the fries were cold. My husband didn't receive all of his condiments on his plate. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Lmb927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

First of all, the outside of this building is so cool. I love the look! When you walk in, you are greeted by the many bourbon-trail inspired shirts, magnets, and more. You can look around their gift shop some more and they do have nice things, although some things are overpriced. The inside is amazing, though. The first thing we did was eat lunch. I got the grilled chicken Caesar wrap (it was so amazing I keep trying to make it at home..and I keep failing) my mom ordered the Kentucky Hot Brown. She thought it was one of the best things she had ever had! Everyone that was with us loved their food and there was no complaints. Everything was delicious. After we ate, we walked upstairs to where they had the rooms where you could stay in. They also had a showcase of when paranormal investigators had visited and pictures of what they found. All in all, this is a great place to go in and look around even if you don't eat! (But I highly recommend that you do!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I can only rate part of the Old Talbott Tavern as we did not eat in the dining portion. We went into the bar early evening, had a beer with potato skins and chicken fingers. Huge portions, beer was cold, etc. The waitress was great. Never stopped working for a second. Made sure we always had what we needed and even shared a couple of ghost experiences.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont Let the Ghost stories keep you away”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is an experience that if you have time for either lunch or dinner, one must try. One of the oldest building in town, (supposedly one of the top haunted places in the US) but no ghostly stories to share. Menu had a great variety, well presented and service was good. One of the few places open on Sunday evening. It was interestig to look around the building. Prices are within family range and offers some Kentucky food favorites.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Talbott Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Talbott Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing