We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical, fun place for dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Talbott Tavern

Old Talbott Tavern
Ranked #4 of 76 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic Restaurant, Bar and Inn continuously in operation since 1779. Located in the heart of Bourbon Country. Proudly serving locally inspired food and drink. Try the best top shelf bourbons with our bourbon sampler. Dine in unique surroundings where the famous and infamous visited during their historic setting ventures.
Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Historical, fun place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friend chose this place for dinner on our trip as it was within walking distance from our hotel. We had reservations which was good as there was a wait when we arrived. However, we were seated right away, not always the case when there is a wait but we were happy they honored our reservation for the six of us. I loved the list of bourbon choices and had trouble deciding on just one :) The corn muffins were amazing and my husband said the fried chicken was the best he has ever had - and, he has eaten a LOT, believe me! I had the country fried steak, mashed potatoes and green beans. The steak was dry and the green beans tasted like they were out of a can, not much seasoning. I would go back again for more bourbon but would choose something other than the county fried steak. My friend had the boursin chicken which he said was delicious and his wife had the pork chop which was fantastic. I just chose wrong.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    311
    184
    61
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

food is ok, but the old bar (there is a newer one to avoid) which still looks like it is 200 plus years old is pretty neat to drink in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown,NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look for another restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the worse meal of our 2 week road trip. The positive was the hostess and waitress were nice. Food was terrible, except for the bean soup and corn bread. Overheard the man at the next table complain about his fish, so we decided to order the fried chicken and green beans. Beans were either from a can or overcooked and chicken was overly breaded and salty. We had considered dessert until we heard another table complain that one of their dessert choices was terrible (poor waitress!). The menu is limited, the decor is not pretty and the silverware is cheap. There is no reason to stop here since the food is poor and it lacks charm. This is the worse review I have ever written. My daughter suggested calling Chef Gordon Ramsay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go for the experience, and the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a very enjoyable lunch here on our last day in Bardstown. The dining room really does make you feel like you could be sitting in the pub 100 years ago, it's worth going for that experience alone. The menu is the fairly common set of sandwiches, soups, and salads but all were delicious and the service was excellent (even though it was very busy).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RH641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
550 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Good Ol' Tavern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in the bar for a drink and to watch a baseball game. It was a Wednesday and very quiet in the bar. The lady bartender was friendly and very accommodating. It is an old bar with plenty of history. Not fancy just a good place for a drink. We didn't go in the restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Talbott Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Talbott Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing