We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Country Cooking”

Stephen Foster Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Country Cooking”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate here before going to the outdoor drama "The Stephen Foster Story." I was especially impressed with how clean everything was, right down to the corners by the doors. The buffet was filled with every southern speciality imaginable, including meats, vegetables, and heavenly deserts. The banana pudding was to die for. Even my picky 12 year old granddaughter decided she should have worn something with an elastic waist band. Everything was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BABE1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    28
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ever Breakfast/Brunch Buffet”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A small unimposing restaurant.We entered at 9:30 AM for Breakfast/Brunch, turning the corner and seeing the buffet I was immediately overwhelmed by the "meats" section. There were the usual breakfast meats- sausage (3 kinds) and bacon, but also excellent pork chops, real country ham, lightly battered fish fillets. Quality of all was great. There were also the usual breakfast items- eggs, pancakes, etc. But also vegetables- stewed tomatoes, green bean and more. In the "dessert" section there was pecan pie and Blackberry not blueberry cobbler! Oh and the morning moved on out came salads, chicken and other lunch type items! Service was friendly but unobtrusive as I like at a buffet. Even though it is hours away from my Ohio home, I will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabolous!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I loved it I would like to work there!! Cant wait to go back for the buffet it was better than most!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angie_silveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service,seating a little cramped. Not impressed by selection on the buffet. The food they did have was good but i found it lacking in choices. Many of the trays were low on food as well. Makes you feel bad taking any as the person behind you will be left going without, or waiting. It was busy when we were there so you'd think they'd have kept a better eye on the buffet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for a buffet”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I normally don't care for buffets, but this was better than most. It was a good selection and included everything for a reasonable price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank antiquetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stephen Foster Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stephen Foster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing