We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative”

Old Bardstown Village Civil War Museum
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a very informative civil war museum provides a comprehensive overview of the American Civil War and the impact on Kentucky of this tragic nation defining event. The museum guides are enthusiastic, knowledgeable and informative, helping us locate a relative in the list of enrolled soldiers. This museum provides a great window into the past and well worth a few hours of your time. Excellent relics and descriptions, no wonder it's in the top 5 civil war history museums in the U.S.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sohappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    19
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

They have a surprisingly large collection of artifacts. I appreciate how displays are organized in a timeline by events and battles. You walk through the entirety of the civil war. With the village and two other museums included plan to spend a few hours. Admission is good for two days and if you really want to digest everything completely you could need it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank creed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“More than you would expect”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Actually 5 museums at this site. Really enjoyed the civil was museum. They had an enormous inventory of civil war artifacts. The "village" was scenic, but not anything special. Wildlife exhibit was somewhat tacky, but had a very large and interesting collection of fossils. I was a little disappointed with the women's museum. I had expected more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeypuzzle0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodgenville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went to this museum only to find out that you must pay to tour the museum;however,the entrance fee included the village and 3 museums.So all in all this was well worth it. My favorite part of the whole area was the women's museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinniThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Thorough coverage of the civil war”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have toured a variety of civil war museums but this one is a very interesting collection of civil war memorabilia that includes some information I had not seen before. One section is devoted to women involved in various ways that I found fascinating. There was also a section on the "bad guys" that took advantage of their positions as "soldiers" to pillage and burn towns and kill inhabitants. The displays were very well done and gave a lot of detail. We spent several hours touring the two locations of this museum and felt we had covered it pretty well. We had come from the Perryville, Ky. battlefield on the same day so was a very good follow-up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bardstown Village Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Bardstown Village Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing