We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time”

Barton 1792 Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Bourbon Trail Tour to Jim Beam, Heaven Hill and Barton
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Central, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spent a couple of hours at the tour at Barton. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided some information that was left out at Makers Mark. The tour was a freebie, which we liked. I would imagine that a rainy day would spoil this tour. We arrived right at the in time a tour was set to begin, but it also included a bus load of people. The tour guide made this fun and provided some detailed knowledge. I was surprised to find out that other liquors were produced at this plant. Picked up a bottle of 1792 (a new favorite) and a tee shirt. The tasting room was very crowded.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevin353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    88
    29
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“awesome free tour”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Barton 1792 Distillery tour was very good! The tour was free and included a lot of information. This distillery is a little more industrial than some of the others. We got 2 tastings each and a free souvenir barrel cork. Definitely recommend a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bourbon Trip”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We took the tour and the guide his name was Rick. He was alot of fun. He knew the process of making the bourbon very well. He could answer all the question that he was asked. Would recommend this tour to everyone. Taste testing was the best!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank paclark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I had never been to a distillery before and did not know what to expect. I mainly went because my husband was interested. I am so glad I went!

The tour is free to go on, and was very enjoyable. I learned quite a bit, and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. We were able to tour most of the facility.

After the tour you are able to sample 2 of their bourbons as well as their bourbon chocolate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great free tour”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Jamie was our tour guide and gave our rather large group a great overview of the Bourbon-making process. It's a beautiful grounds, but obviously a working facility as trucks were rolling past the entire time.

Be sure the park up by the visitor center. The signs were confusing and I ended up in the employee lot.

This was a longer-than-usual tour of a little more than an hour and then we went to the gift shop for a sample. Our tour group was much too large to fit along the small bar inside. Many people were stuck standing holding their glasses. Everyone was given a free bung and two free samples of three styles of Bourbon, and then a Bourbon ball.

Best of all, the entire tour was free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRZelazny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barton 1792 Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing