We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in the basement”

The Rickhouse Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An elegant and unique restaurant located in the heart of historic Bardstown, Ky. We pride ourselves on our classic dishes with unique twists. We have an ever growing and expansive Bourbon collection, sold individually as well as in flights. We also have an extensive wine list, with something for everyone. For a memorable, and delectable meal and experience, please join us.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food in the basement”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We each had a different meal and all said they were very enjoyable. You can get wine or a mixed drink. Be prepared for a wait depending on the time you visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kyem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    128
    49
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hidden gem that you shouldn't miss!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have no idea how the Rickhouse is ranked number 5 in Bardstown, except that it is rather difficult to find. We were touring the whiskey museum when the woman there told us that it was literally underneath us. If you use a GPS to get to Xavier Dr., then you should be fine. You actually enter the restaurant from below the building through the courtyard.

We had a reservation, and they placed us at a private corner booth. The seating made of barrel staves was adorable and surprisingly comfortable. I wanted to start with a glass of wine, but my husband definitely wanted bourbon. The restaurant's bourbon list is quite impressive. Of course they were out of particular bourbons like the Van Winkle's, but who isn't? My husband knows a lot about bourbon availability, so he anticipated what they might have and what they might be out of. He was pleasantly surprised that they had some bourbons that he didn't expect them to have. Our server was pretty sure that they had all of the bourbons he ordered for his first flight, but they were actually out of one. She went so far as to take that flight back and get him another one! I have never seen a server go out of her way like this -- most just make you drink what they bring. Additionally, the prices on the flights are astounding -- lower than anywhere in Bardstown or probably anywhere in Kentucky.

For dinner, we shared a salad and enjoyed nice, hot bread. I ordered chicken and my husband ordered steak, but we both had the brussel sprouts and au gratin potatoes. Wow! Those were two of the best side dishes we have ever had. Both were creative recipes that made for a memorable meal. For dessert, we shared the bourbon bread pudding.

Throughout the whole meal, our server checked on us regularly and the owner even came out to say hello when he discovered that my husband writes a bourbon blog. (He's still planning to write a very positive review on his blog, but I wanted to review the restaurant on Trip Advisor.) If there's any way that we can make it to Bardstown for the Bourbon Festival in September, you can bet we'll book reservations at the Rickhouse!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Untrained waitress/Wont be back”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Sorely disappointed with this restaurant last night. We ate there about a year ago and it was fantastic then, but just the reverse this time. No wine menu on table, had to ask. Saw another couple offered a Bourbon Menu, not us. Table wasnt set properly (missing salt, pepper, candle and sugar bowl but other tables had), so i had to ask for those. No butter for table bread, had to ask. Ordered rib eye, but swear it looked and tasted like Sirloin. Boyfriend ordered Tbone but he thinks another cut was substituted (we KNOW our steaks!). Green beans heavy on oil and a spice akin to sage/bad. A one hundred dollar meal worth ten.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grasshopper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent food. I had a strip steak, salad and baked potatoe. My wife a filet, salad and potatoe. All was fantastic. Hard to find this place so watch for the small sign out front

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank knbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A hidden gem. Great way to finish a long day on the "Bourbon Trail".
Nice list of bourbon samplers from the bar. Had the blueberry-bourbon salmon---wonderful!. My wife had a steak- done perfectly. Nice wine list with some very affordable choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rickhouse Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rickhouse Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing