We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chapeze House

Chapeze House
Ranked #11 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were very excited about the Bourbon Dinner at the Chapeze House. The description of the dinner was just what we were looking for to wrap up our time on the Bourbon Trail. We were instructed to arrive at 6:30 for dinner. What we found was a cocktail hour and a half. Drinks were offered at $13 for cocktails and flights of bourbon at a range of $20 upwards. Nibbles were served that amounted to pretzels with a bourbon cheese dip. We had been led to believe that The Colonel would be guiding us through the intricacies of the Bourbon world and this did not happen. Fortunately we were sitting at a table where another guest who was well versed in Bourbon and he was able to fill in the gaps. Dinner was served and while there were elements of the dinner that were quite good the pork chop was over cooked and at best it fell far short of what we would have cooked at home. Bottom line we felt that it was overpriced and not what we expected.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    11
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Okay, so we came to Chapeze House during Bourbon Festival weekend, so I should have known it would not be one of their normal nights, since there were probably more people there than usual. But it just wasn't the fantastic, over-the-top, life-changing dining experience I had read about on tripadvisor. The service was fantastic - LOVED Rosemary, she is so nice! But the drinks were VERY expensive - I was expecting $13 for a regular drink, but I thought $8.00 for a glass of Woodbridge Pinot Grigio was a bit much. The food WAS very good as far as the entrees and salad - I was, however, sort of disappointed that it wasn't what the website menu had shown. I don't like sweet potatoes (we had sweet potato casserole), nor do I like fried apples (and we were served fried apples). Shame on me, I guess, for not asking what the exact menu would be for the night. The food was buffet-style, which I wasn't expecting, but again, it was really crowded. I just got a really weird vibe from the place, and it wasn't the down-home Southern-style dinner I was hoping to enjoy. The colonel did introduce himself, but other than that, we didn't really have much interaction with him, other than when he came in to introduce Margaret Sue's cookbook (I did glance through the cookbook - it was a nice book, and I probably would have purchased one, but our bill without tip had already come to about $112.00). He was actually very quiet. Never did see Margaret-Sue. I feel terrible saying this because they SEEMED like they were very nice, and I had been really looking forward to the evening, but I would probably not return to Chapeze House.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaRave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

4th time dining with the Colonel and Margaret Sue. Food excellent as usual. Very crowded tonight since it is the Bourbon Festival weekend and this is the Best Restaurant in town for Food, Service and Kentucky Hospitality. The Homemade BBQ sauce, Cornbread and Bourbon Chocolate sauce are worth a drive to Bardstown alone. I had two Chapezetini. Old Fitzgerald, Sprite, Orange Juice and Cherry juice(instead of Gernadine). YUM! The only thing I missed was the last time we dined on a weeknight my husband and I were the only customers and we sat out front and talked the night away with the Colonel and his lovely wife (the Chef).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HurricaneGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is by far the best in Bardstown. It is really more like being a guest in someone's home (someone who happens to be a gourmet cook). Five stars is really not enough. It is not just a place to eat on your travels but a legitimate travel destination.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smckay1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went to this restaurant with my mom on a girls' weekend trip. The atmosphere is so laid back and inviting and we had so much fun chatting and laughing with The Colonel and the other guests. The meal was absolutely divine and we did not leave hungry. We had a truly wonderful experience and can't wait to tell all of our friends about it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chapeze House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing