We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My sisters and I stayed at the Jailer's Inn for a few days in July. Four of us shared a room and it was plenty big enough for all of us. We weren't visited by any ghosts but had fun watching for them and trying to scare each other. Lisa, the Innkeeper, was a delight and shared her "visitation" stories with us as well as giving us a tour of the old jail. She made us wonderfully delicious breakfasts each morning which we enjoyed in the courtyard. Lisa also helped us with tourist advice and always made sure we knew where we were going.
The old place could use some updating and new paint but the ambiance and Lisa's southern hospitality far out weighed any of that. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
90
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Paul and his wife are owners of the Inn. Can't say enough about their hospitality. Very kind and welcoming. We drove our motorcylce from Ohio and they let us park it in their courtyard. It was safe from the tavern next door.
The Inn itself has a bunch of antiques. Really sets it off. We stayed in the Library room. Very clean. The bedding smells so good. You can tell they use bleach in the towels. That means the linens are cleaned the right way. The bed was comfy. Small bathroom, but okay for two. The walls are so thick, hence its a jail, we heard nothing from the outside tavern area.
Breakfast was good. Continental. Coffee is upstairs every morning. The tour of the property in the morning was great. Very interesting.
We needed a relaxing weekend and The Inn made it happen.

Thank you to Paul for a great stay.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Old 1800's jailhouse that has been converted to a Bed & Breakfast. The "Library Room", #3, was good size, clean and very comfortable. King size bed, sofa, lovely antique furniture. No view from window. No ceiling fan so I was happy I brought my own little fan for the nightstand. Innkeeper's Paul and Lisa were outstanding! Very friendly, very helpful and informative about the local area. Breakfast out in the courtyard was delicious and bountiful. Personalized tour of the jail/inn was very informative. Tavern next door was convenient and food was OK. You have to try the draft bourbon beer at the tavern!!!! Location of B&B is right in the center of town making it very convenient to other shops and restaurants. (edit)

  • Liked — personal service
  • Disliked — we had to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We spent a recent weekend at the Jailers Inn. The Inn itself was fine and the Proprietor Paul was very nice and most attentive. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for Lisa, his partner. On our first night, we were awakened around midnight by someone pounding on our door, yelling "delivery!". We ignored it, only to have someone come back several minutes later, yelling "Pizza delivery". We had not ordered a pizza. The next night, a group of ghost chasers met at the Inn (again the magic midnight) right outside our door. They looked for ghosts for what seemed like hours, before trooping upstairs. Apparently, the Inn knew this was on the agenda, but we were never told when we made the reservation. It may have changed our minds. The final straw was Lisa, who really didn't acknowledge us, even as we were trying to check out. We finally left as we had a long trip ahead of us. All in all, it was too bad, as the town is charming and the Inn has lots of character.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — midnight awakenings
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kmsWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

My friend and I stayed two nights here because I wanted to experience the thrill of staying in a real jail. It is a unique bed and breakfast, but the building and furnishings need some repair. Now I like old and antique but not dirty, soiled, and broken. I believe we had the Garden Room. The room was quite nice, comfy beds, etc, but the bathroom had broken things hanging off the wall. The chairs at the dining room table, which incidentally is upstairs, were very dirty looking. Breakfast was just barely okay. Our hostess was very nice, very knowledgeable about the property, and very entertaining. I don't know that I would stay here again, but it was an interesting bed and breakfast.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Me, my sister and my friend went to stay for a weekend a couple of years, maybe my 16th birthday. we had saw it in a t.v show (top ten most haunted places in usa) ofcourse i'm in to all that stuff so we thought we'd try it out for a weekend. we stayed in the old jail cell, in the back by the dark stairs. we had a weji board to. but the only thing that happen was when we got home and developed our pitcures there were faces of people in the windows from the outside of the jail. But GET THIS,we were the only people there that weekend. i would defently stay again, and yeah the food could have been better.` but thats o.k!

Stayed November 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank hoback2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

The concept was intriguing, but the stay fell short of my expectations. The hostess was entertaining (she had some great stories) and pleasant and the breakfast was nice. The bed was great, with crisp, clean linens. The room was clean; however, the bathroom could have used some more attention to detail, the rug especially. Same with the dining room. The chair seats were gross! It also felt like the seat portion was broken or sagging.

It was a fun experience, but, again, more attention to detail was needed.

  • Liked — The hostess
  • Disliked — The dining chairs and some disrepair of the B&B
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
150 reviews
21.0 mi away
Wingfield Inn & Suites
Wingfield Inn & Suites
#3 of 17 in Elizabethtown
317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 111 West Stephen Foster Avenue, Bardstown, KY 40004
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron bars on windows, 30 inch thick limestone walls, and a heavy steel door slamming behind you may not sound like the typical tourist accommodation. However, Jailer's Inn is anything but typical. The historic Jailer's Inn, circa 1819, in the center of Bardstown, Kentucky offers a unique and luxurious way to "do time." Jailer's Inn is a place of wonderful, thought provoking contrasts. Each of our seven guest rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and heirlooms, and offer private bathrooms, some with a double Jacuzzi. All located in the renovated front jail, built in 1819. The back jail, built in 1874, is basically unchanged; you get a chilling, sobering look at former conditions in the old Nelson County jail used in full operation up until 1987. Catch a glimpse of life seldom seen in these two historic jails listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. On spring and summer mornings, as you sip hot coffee and chat with other guests over a full breakfast in the courtyard, it's difficult to imagine all of the previous uses of the courtyard, a place to visit forlorn relatives or even the centralized location of the Nelson County gallows. Come "do time" in jail and unlock an adventure in history. Whether you sleep in the elegant Victorian Room, rest and read in the Library Room or enjoy the peaceful setting of the Garden Room, it will be a "captivating experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailer`s Hotel Bardstown
Jailer`s Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing